Step Back In Time

The topic of this week’s Music Monday came about in a really interesting, organic way. You see, my Mom came to visit over the weekend from out of town and it fell right in the midst of preparations for my sister-in-law to go away for the week on a business trip. My sister-in-law asked me to gather up a bunch of music to load up on her iPod for her travels. We were sitting around trying to come up with music and the topic of music of the 70s came up and we spent several hours compiling lists of music she enjoyed at the time. She and my Mom spent forever reminiscing about the music they listened to when they were teenagers and different memories from their teen years and such. It was a lot of fun and they also discussed a lot of really interesting music from the 70s that I wasn’t aware of before, as well as a lot of music that I have known and loved for a long time. Clearly, I don’t know any of this music from when it was new or anything, (having been born in the 80s,) but I have always had an interest in music from different eras. This conversation, and gathering up all this music, introduced me to a lot of music that I didn’t know before and reminded me of some songs that I absolutely love. With all of this in mind, I decided that this week’s Music Monday should be all about the music of the 70s. Gathering up all of this music, I decided it would be fun to list my top 10 favorite songs from this playlist, in no particular order, and share them with you all.

Let me preface this post by saying that this does not include anything from the disco era, as in gathering music of the 70s we all kind of agreed that, while the disco era was an important part of the 70s, we were going for more of a classic rock, “alternative of the era,” type sound. I don’t know exactly how to explain it but we were not going for the pop or disco sound too much. There were only two genuine disco songs included in the whole process, “I Feel Love” by Donna Summer and “Heart Of Glass” by Blondie. I just, personally, feel like Disco and the rest of the 70s are two completely different eras. Eventually, I’ll wind up doing a full-blown disco themed post for Music Monday, as well, but today is not that day.

Todd Rundgren - Can We Still Be Friends?
Elton John - Rocket Man
Boston - More Than A Feeling
Joan Armatrading - Drop The Pilot

 

 

England Dan & John Ford Coley - I'd Really Love To See You Tonight

 

 

Stealer's Wheel - Stuck In The Middle With You

 

 

Jeannie C. Riley - Harper Valley P.T.A.

 

Pilot - Magic

 

 

Vicki Lawrence - The Night The Lights Went Out In Georgia

 

 

The Partridge Family - I Think I Love You

 


This playlist that I threw together featured about 80 songs, so it would have been kind of impossible to include them all, but these 10 are my favorites for various reasons. A few, like “Can We Still Be Friends?” by Todd Rundgren, “Drop The Pilot” by Joan Armatrading, “Magic” by Pilot and “I’d Really Love To See You Tonight” by England Dan & John Ford Coley, are songs that I became familiar with through cover versions by some of my favorite artists, (Mandy Moore did both “Drop The Pilot” and “Can We Still Be Friends?,” Both Selena Gomez and Darren Hayes have done covers of “Magic,” and Barry Manilow did a wonderful cover of “I’d Really Love To See You Tonight.”) A couple of the songs stick out in my mind from my childhood years, like “The Night The Lights Went Out In Georgia” by Vicki Lawrence and “Harper Valley PTA” by Jeannie C Riley. A few are songs that I had heard before but never really paid any attention, like “Rocket Man” by Elton John, “Stuck In The Middle With You” by Stealers Wheel and “I Think I Love You” by The Partridge Family. Lastly, one song is one I can’t recall having actually heard more than in the form of a clip in a commercial or something, (“More Than A Feeling” by Boston.) Either way, these are all songs from the 1970s that I am absolutely in love with right now and that I definitely recommend checking out if you are not familiar. These songs really capture the essence I have imagined of an era in which I never lived. They fill my head with imagined memories and thoughts of what the time must have been for people like my Mom and my sister-in-law to be teenagers during such a different time. I hope you all can pick something from this list that you like.

Also, keep the 70s spirit alive, folks! The Friday Feature this week is centered around the 70s, as well! Lots of fun to be had with that! In the meantime, I wish you all a beautiful week and a beautiful life!

Jason

One thought on “Step Back In Time

Leave a Reply

