Yesterday’s Icons, Today’s Trends

For this week’s Friday Feature, I decided to stick with the Music Monday theme of the 1970s. I just found myself fascinated by this decade because, unlike the 1950s, 60s or 80s, there was really no distinct style for the era. There are certain individual pieces that stick out in your mind, like bell-bottom jeans and platform shoes, but fashion and cosmetics were kind of all over the map during this period. From leftover hippie and bohemian styles from the later 60s to the glitz and glam of the disco era of the last part of the 70s, (which led into the over-the-top, excessive styles of the 80s,) ¬†it was really kind of a free-for-all in the 1970s. I began researching different styles from the 1970s and really considering some of my favorite female icons of the era and found myself really astonished to see three of the biggest makeup trends of Fall/Winter 2011, (Spider Lashes, Mixed Metals and Berry Lips,)¬†as kind of signature looks for three of my favorite artists and icons of the 1970s. So, I decided that for this week’s Friday Feature, I would re-create these looks and show how these looks of the 70s fit into today’s beauty standards and trends.

A standard of beauty for millions of teenage girls in the 1970s, and a personal icon of mine growing up, was Marcia Brady. Growing up in the 80s and 90s, when most children were obsessed with cartoon shows, I had a much different passion for the television. My two favorite channels to watch on TV were VH1 and Nickelodeon; not regular Nickelodeon, though, but the magical landscape that Nickelodeon turned into after 8pm – Nick at Nite. As a child, I was obsessed with classic television. From “The Mary Tyler Moore Show” to “Gilligan’s Island,” from “Welcome Back, Kotter” to “Three’s Company,” I loved the sitcoms of yesteryear. Still, of all of these television shows, there were none that I loved as much as “The Brady Bunch.” I have seen every single episode of “The Brady Bunch,” as well as all of the spin-off films. The Brady Family has always held a really special place in my heart and, of course, Marcia was always my favorite. There was always just something special about Maureen McCormick’s portrayal of Marcia, the self-centered yet always kind and caring eldest daughter of the Brady Family that I just adored. She always had such a natural, effervescent glow to her. I just always thought that she was the most beautiful girl. Looking back at picture of her now, I was actually quite surprised to notice how similar she looks to one of my very favorite modern beauty icons, who I think is one of the most beautiful girls nowadays, Lauren Conrad. She also has that very natural, gorgeous glow to her.

¬†As I mentioned previously, Marcia always had a really natural look. She’d most frequently be seen with only a hint of a very soft pink or peach on her cheeks and lips, and very neutral, barely-there eye shadow. The main thing that stood out about her look, the majority, were her lashes. She had a tendency to have the mascara piled on, giving the spider lash effect that was so popular at the 2011 Autumn/Winter Fashion Week runway shows. To recreate the Marcia Brady look, I began with Revlon ColorStay Foundation in Natural Beige and Clinique Quick Correct Concealer in Light/Medium, set with Clinique Superbalanced Powder Makeup in Natural 4 for a bit of added coverage and even more of a matte finish than Revlon ColorStay already provides. I was definitely going for a very perfected yet natural finish to the skin for this look. I also did some very light contour and highlight on the cheekbones, temples and jawline using the Sedona Lace Contour & Blush palette, focusing the highlight on the area directly below the eyes and at the tops of the cheekbones, as well as dusting the light pink blush from the palette just on the apples of the cheeks. I began the lips with a light coat of MAC Lip Erase, then lined the lips with Ulta Contour Lip Pencil in Rose and, lastly, applied Revlon Colorburst Lipstick in Petal. I filled in the eyebrows, and did my best to round out the shape of them like Maureen McCormick’s brows, with Stila Matte eye shadow in Champara, (a neutral brown shade.) ¬†The eyes were very simple for this look. I simply pressed Naked from the Urban Decay Naked Palette all over the lid, and blended Buck from the Naked Palette just in the crease, not blending upwards at all, and MAC Brule on the brow bone and inner corners of the eyes for a highlight. I did not use any liner at all for this look. The last step of this look was definitely the most fun: The mascara! I started out by doing one fairly thick coat of Clinique High Lengths mascara on the top lashes, letting that dry a bit, then doing a pretty thick coat of Clinique High Impact mascara on both the top and bottom lashes, followed by another coat of High Lengths mascara for that thick, lengthened, spiky lash look that Marcia Brady tended to have.


O
n the topic of female icons of the 1970s, I could not possibly skip out on an opportunity to talk about Debbie Harry, lead singer of one of my all-time favorite bands, Blondie. Blondie have had an amazing career, serving as the figureheads for the New Wave music phenomenon of the late 70s-early 80s. Blondie always had an incredible sound, bringing together elements of punk, rock, pop, disco, reggae and even rap. Yes, Blondie have the honor of releasing the first commercially successful rap song in history with their 1980 hit single, “Rapture.” What’s even more fascinating about Blondie is that they released their debut album in 1976, followed by five more successful records before breaking up in 1982, only to reform 17 years later and release one of my favorite albums of all-time, “No Exit,” in 1999 and have stuck together and released 3 more albums since. It isn’t often that you see a band reunite so far in the future and actually stick together. Debbie Harry has also released six studio albums as a solo artist and acted in a surprisingly large amount of feature films. I first discovered Blondie when I was 12 or 13 years old and living in Arkansas, (kind of a dreadful time in my life, as you might imagine, me being me and it being Arkansas.) There was this radio station there, Mix 101.9, that did this thing every weekend called “Mixtalgia Weekends,” where from 4pm Friday afternoon to Midnight on Sunday, they would play nothing but music from the 80s. My Mom and I used to love these weekends, and it was pretty much all that our radio was tuned to every weekend. This was my means of discovering a lot of music from the 80s that I hadn’t been aware of growing up, but Blondie was probably the biggest thing I picked up from that station and those weekends.

For my Debbie Harry look, I decided to recreate the look from the video for their 1978 hit, (and arguably most famous,) single, “Heart Of Glass.” In this video, Debbie had a really gorgeous silver and gunmetal gray look on the eyes. It also had a really cool monochromatic look with white highlighting, which was a common look for her in the earlier parts of their career. I started this look with Revlon ColorStay Foundation in Natural Beige and Clinique Quick Correct Concealer again, although this time I replaced the Powder Foundation with a much lighter application of Maybelline Shine Free Oil Control Loose Powder in Light all over the face. I also lightly highlighted and contoured the face with the Sedona Lace Contour and Blush palette, this time focusing the highlight much more around the side of the eyes and only slightly on the tops of the cheekbones. The reason for this is that in the video she actually wears a bright, somewhat shimmery pink blush extremely high on the cheekbones, so much of the area where one would usually highlight, I instead used Smashbox Soft Lights in Tease, a sheer, bright pink shade with a slight shimmer to it. For the lips, I opted not to do a full-on red lip like she wears in the video but still wanted a bright, ultra-glossy lip, so I wore Clinique Moisturizing Superbalm Gloss in Grapfruit, for a gorgeous bright pink shine that I felt was a much better fit with the blush. On the brows I did a very soft application of Revlon Brow Fantasy in Brunette just to fill in the natural shape of my brows and used the gel end to set them into place. The most fun part of this look was definitely the eyes. I began by applying Sugarpill Cosmetics pressed shadow in Tako, (a pure white,) on the tear duct/inner corner of the eyes and below the brow as a highlight, then on the majority of the lid, I used the shade The True Death from the Tarte for True Blood palette, (a really bright, metallic silver,) then blended Urban Decay eye shadow in Gunmetal on the outer corners and blended slightly into the crease and outward. Lastly, I applied Urban Decay eye shadow in Creep, (a black with silver shimmer,) into the very outer corner to intensify the darkness a bit, as well as running this color under the lower lash line. All of this together created a gorgeous, mixed metallic look for the eyes that fits right in with the hot trends of Fall/Winter 2011. I then applied a very thin line of Smashbox Limitless Long Wear Liquid Liner in Jet Black along the upper lash line and lined the waterline with Rimmel Soft Kohl Kajal Liner in Pure White, then applied plenty of Clinique High Lengths Mascara on the top lashes and Clinique Bottom Lash Mascara on the lower lashes.


S
tevie Nicks began her career in music when she met Lindsey Buckingham in her senior year of high school and together with a few other musicians formed a band called The Fritz. The Fritz were a fairly successful band, opening for Jimi Hendrix and Janis Joplin in the San Francisco Bay area where they lived, but never released any records before disbanding in 1972. Stevie and Lindsey were then signed to Polydor Records and released a record under the name of Buckingham Nicks, which did not become commercially successful and led to them being dropped from Polydor. A few years after this, Nicks and Buckingham joined up with Mick Fleetwood and Christine McVie in the already formed but yet to find success band Fleetwood Mac, and went on to become rock¬†legends, with Stevie writing massive hits for the band in the 1970s like “Landslide,” “Rhiannon,” and “Dreams.” It wasn’t until 1981 that Stevie released her debut solo album, “Bella Donna,” featuring some of her biggest hits, like “Edge Of Seventeen,” “Leather & Lace,” and “Stop Dragging My Heart Around.”


Stevie Nicks has always been known for her “mystical” image, even sparking long-running, even still existing rumors that she practices witchcraft. From the start of her career Stevie has always maintained a very Bohemian, “earth mother” type look, wearing a lot of black and dark colored clothes and very neutral makeup, quite often topped off with a Berry lip color, as in the picture above. She had, and still has, a tendency to wear a warm brown colored cut crease with a very light color on the lids, and a natural pink or peach blush shade blended up from low on the cheeks. For no particular reason related to the look, (and more because I felt a need for a little thicker coverage on my skin,) I began the look with a different foundation, Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation in Natural Beige, along with Clinique Quick Correct Concealer and a light dusting of Coty Airspun Loose Face Powder in Translucent. I very lightly contoured the cheeks, temples and jawline with the deep contour shade from the Sedona Lace Contour & Blush palette, as well as highlighting the tops of the cheekbones, the forehead, bridge of the nose and the chin with the golden-colored highlight shade. I then blended Urban Decay Afterglow Powder Blush in Hookup upward from the contour area and onto the apples of the cheeks. I left the brows natural, only setting them into place with a little bit of gel. On the eyes I mixed Brule from MAC with a little bit of Tako from Sugarpill Cosmetics and pressed this shade all over the lid. I then blended Illimani from Stila, (a very warm-toned, reddish brown,) from the outer corner of ¬†the upper lash line and up into the crease, blending it all the way to the bridge of the nose. For an accurate Stevie Nicks look, I took care not to blend this color upwards or outwards, just through and slightly above the crease. I then intensified the upper lash line and created the deeper, “cut” look to the crease using Espresso from MAC. I also very lightly blended this shade under the lower lash line just past the center of the eye. I then added a thin line, not winged at all, of Revlon ColorStay Liquid Liner in Black, along the upper lash line and applied Rimmel Soft Kohl Kajal Liner in Pure White on the waterline. The last step, one of the hottest trends of Fall/Winter 2011, was the berry lip shade. For this, I used Tarte LipSurgence Natural Lip Tint in Moody, as well as a thin layer of Clinique Long Last Glosswear in Juicy Apple to add a sheer shine and slightly more red tint to the lips, reminiscent of what Stevie has on in the image above.

Like I said at the start, I was very surprised to see how each of these looks from 30something years ago fit in so well with the hottest makeup trends of today. It just goes to show you, I suppose, that there is nothing new under the sun… but there is always a new twist on an old classic! ¬†I hope you all enjoyed this week’s belated Friday Feature and were able to pick up a little something from it. In the meantime, I wish you all a beautiful weekend and a beautiful life!

Jason

 

 

One thought on “Yesterday’s Icons, Today’s Trends

Leave a Reply

