Makeup From TV: Britt Robertson from “The Secret Circle”

Sticking with this week’s theme of Television here on Beausic, I decided that Work It Wednesday this week would be a good time to discuss and showcase one of my newest television obsessions, the new hit CW series “The Secret Circle.” “The Secret Circle” was created by one of my very favorite screenwriters, Kevin Williamson, creator of television series “The Vampire Diaries” and “Dawson’s Creek,” as well as writer of horror films including “I Know What You Did Last Summer,” “The Faculty,” “Teaching Mrs. Tingle,” and my favorite horror series of all-time, the “Scream” films. The series is based on a book series of the same name by L.J. Smith, also author of “The Vampire Diaries” book series,and centers on Cassie Blake, a teenage girl who moves to a new town, New Salem, to live with her grandmother and is immediately befriended by a group of kids with a long family history that ties into her own family. She soon discovers that these kids are a coven of witches and she was brought to town by forces outside herself to access her powers and complete their circle. Cassie Blake is played by up-and-coming actress Britt Robertson, best known for her roles in “Dan In Real Life,” “Life Unexpected,” “Avalon High,” “Triple Dog,” and “Scream 4.” I think that she is gorgeous and perfectly cast for this role.

Britt Robertson as Cassie Blake on "The Secret Circle"
Britt Robertson as Cassie Blake on "The Secret Circle"

In one of the most recent episodes of “The Secret Circle” there was some sort of fundraising event for the town of New Salem that Cassie, and the rest of the circle, had to get all dressed up for and I immediately fell in love with Cassie’s makeup look and thought it would be something fun to recreate. I loved this look because, like many of Britt’s looks on the show, it is a very natural, effervescent, glowing look. It is very youthful but still classic looking. I have to say, though, that the pictures I took of my recreation of it came out awful. It looks considerably more shiny than it came off in real life and the lighting looks kind of awful. I was very disappointed with the way that these pics came out. Still, the show must go on…



For this look, I started off with moisturizer, Garnier Skin Renew Anti-Sun Damage Moisturizer SPF 28, as well as a new product for me, Garnier Skin Renew Anti-Dark Circle Roller. On top of this, I used my usual foundation, Revlon Colorstay in Natural Beige, but applied it much lighter than I normally would, using a Real Techniques Buffing Brush to buff a light amount of the product into the skin. I followed that up with Clinique Quick Correct concealer in Light/Medium and set it all with Coty Airspun Loose Powder in Translucent. I did a very light contour using the deep contour shade in the Sedona Lace Contour & Blush palette. I did a VERY light dusting of Smashbox Soft Lights in Tease, a bright, shimmery pink, on the apples of the cheeks and went over it with Tarte Bronzer in Park Avenue Princess, which I also dusted onto the high points of the face, focusing mainly on the tops of the cheekbones and around the eyes, to add some natural color and glow on the face. On the eyes, this look is quite simple. I began with Urban Decay Primer Potion in Original. To begin this look, I applied Stila eye shadow in Golightly, a deep bronze color, in a slight cat-eye shape and blended inward on the outer corner of the eyelid. I also blended this color slightly outward from the outer corner of the eye and slightly into the outer portion of the crease. I then applied Stila eye shadow in Wheat, a pale gold shade, with a dampened brush from the inner corner of the lid and blended into the bronze shade. I also applied Stila’s Golightly under the outer half of the lower lash line. I also applied, very lightly, Tarte eye shadow in Shimmering Buff on the inner corner of the eye and below the brow to highlight. I then applied Clinique Quickliner For Eyes in Black Brown on the waterline and blended down slightly below the lower lashes, (which was not included in the look from the show but I added for no other reason than I forgot that she didn’t have a dark liner on,) and also blended this liner very lightly on just the outer 1/4 of the upper lash line and applied a generous coat of Tarte Lights, Cameras, Lashes! Mascara in Black. Lastly, I lined the lips using Ulta Contour Lip Liner in Rose, a somewhat deep, rose pink shade, and applied Revlon Colorburst Lipstick in Petal, a soft, satin-like finish pink, over the top.

Like I said, for some reason I couldn’t seem to get a decent picture of this look, so I do apologize for the funky looking pics. I also apologize for not doing more of a step-by-step photo tutorial with this look, which was what I had actually wanted to do, but there were those camera issues that I mentioned before. Let’s just say, it wasn’t a great morning. Anyway, I know I said before that I wasn’t going to keep doing running themes with the weekly blog posts but I just randomly fell into it this week. All three of the posts this week are posts I had wanted to do at some point but hadn’t yet and they all wound up being really convenient to do this week, so I just decided to do it again.

Another note, I know that these photo-only posts and kind of YouTube music playlists must be getting a little stagnant for all of you to read, as they are getting a little stagnant for me to write, but I just wanted to tell you all that there ARE more different types of posts coming up, including video tutorials and hauls, music downloads and things of that nature. I am also considering adding a new weekly post, as well. I am waiting until after the holidays to make these changes, though, because money is going towards a lot of other things at this point and I am actually planning on picking up a new HD camera once the holidays are over, which will definitely improve the images I’m posting on here, as well as making videos. Like I said, I am planning a huge overhaul of the blog for the new year. I do feel like the blog is off to a really good start but I am really excited for this change and the chance to take it to a whole new level. I am really looking forward to all of this and all I ask is for you guys to bear with me while I prepare to put these changes into place. In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful rest of the week and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

