Singer/Actress/Actress/Singer

For this week’s Friday Feature I decided to stick with the theme of the week, Television. Now, while my two biggest passions are music and beauty, I am also a really massive fan of the television. This post is all about those magic times when the three all come together. I decided that it would be fun to showcase a few of my very favorite singer/actresses, or actress/singers, from some of my favorite TV shows. At this point in time, there are a LOT of actresses on television who are also singers; it’s a very common trend nowadays. I’ve chosen a few favorites of mine and, while there are many others out there that I love, I wanted to focus on more mature artists, or at least more mature looks. I am tentatively planning another similar post to this in the next few weeks featuring some of the younger singer/actresses out there, like Selena Gomez, Victoria Justice, Miley Cyrus, Demi Lovato, etc. Like I said, though, I wanted to do more mature looks from artists who make somewhat more adult music and are featured on more adult series.



The first artist I wanted to feature is Screen Actor’s Guild & Tony Award winning actress, and current cast member on “Grey’s Anatomy,” Sara Ramirez. Sara Ramirez is a graduate of the Juilliard School in New York City and an acclaimed Broadway star, including originating the role of The Lady In The Lake in Monty Python’s “Spamalot.” She was also featured in fairly small roles in film and on television before getting her big break on “Grey’s Anatomy,” and has gone on to become one of the series’ main characters. In a “Grey’s Anatomy” themed episode of The Oprah Winfrey Show, Ramirez stated that executives at ABC saw her work on Broadway in “Spamalot” and told her that she could have a role on any ABC series she wanted. She chose “Grey’s,” which wound up a very lucrative choice for her. Series creator Shonda Rhimes even wound up writing an entire musical episode of the series around her character, giving her the opportunity to sing several of the songs that were featured on the series throughout it’s run. She also released her debut EP in March 2011, a brilliant 4-track EP featuring three original songs, as well as her amazing cover of Brandi Carlisle’s signature track, “The Story,” (see a live performance of this track in the video below.)



In researching different pictures of her, I have found that Sara has a tendency to wear the same, or very similar, makeup in most images you find of her. It is a beautiful look with a gorgeous, bronzed glow and a lot of neutral colors with some shimmer and shine. To get this look, I started with a light application of Revlon Colorstay Foundation in Natural Beige, followed by Clinique Quick Correct Concealer in Light Medium and set with Coty Airspun Loose Powder in Translucent. I contoured the cheekbones, temples and neckline with the deep contour shade from, you guessed it, the Sedona Lace Contour & Blush palette, as well as highlighting from the apples of the cheeks up to the temple, the forehead, the bridge of the nose and the chin with the more golden-colored highlight shade from the palette. On the apples of the cheeks and on all the high planes of the face, I applied Tarte Mineral Bronzer in Park Avenue Princess, for that gorgeous bronze glow. On the lips, I applied Clinique Long Last Lipstick in Bamboo Pink, a pearlized, dusty beige-pink. I filled the brows with Buck from Urban Decay’s Naked Palette. On the eyes, I began with the shade Toasted from the Naked Palette, a very shimmery copper/taupe shade. I pressed this shade all over the lid itself but did not blend into the crease at all, or anywhere outside of the basic lid area. I then took the shade Buck from the Naked Palette, a warm, medium brown, and simply applied it right into the crease area, taking care not to blend upward or outward but just using this shade to deepen the appearance of my natural crease. I also applied Buck very close to the lower lash line all the way across the eye. You’ll notice in the pics above that this looks considerably darker on my left eye, but that is only due to a mascara issue that was resolved after the pics were taken but not noticed until then. The last step to this look is one that seems very common in most images of Sara, which is the black liquid liner. I used Revlon Colorstay Liquid Liner and created a very small wing extending upward from 3-4 lashes into my upper lash line, instead of coming out to the end. I created a medium thickness line with this liner ending right where the main portion of the lashes end – this line is really only serving as a means to make the lashes appear fuller. Also, at the outer corners of the eyes, where the tiny wing of this liner is, I blended a bit of the shade Stake, a deep matte gray, from the Tarte for True Blood palette to soften the appearance of the liner. After this, I just used the shade Virgin, a sheer white highlighter from the Naked Palette, on the inner corner of the eyes and the brow bone, and applied a good amount of Tarte Lights, Cameras, Lashes! Mascara on both the upper and lower lashes.


The next artist I wanted to feature is the lead singer of the band I named my favorite new artist of 2010, The Pretty Reckless, as well as a cast member of one of my favorite shows on television, Gossip Girl, 18-year-old Taylor Momsen. Taylor began her acting career at the age of 3, although her breakout role came when she was 5 years old, when she was cast in the role of Cindy Lou Who in the live action film version of “How The Grinch Stole Christmas.” She had parts here and there after that but didn’t come into prominence as a teen or adult until she was cast in the role of Jenny Humphrey on “Gossip Girl.” Taylor has often stated that “music is where I can be me.” After recording a couple of songs as a child for soundtracks and compilations, it wasn’t until 2009 that she actually signed a record deal with Interscope Records with her band, The Pretty Reckless, and they released their debut record, “Light Me Up” in August 2010. This was one of my very favorite records of 2010 and remains one of my favorite records, in general. The album has spawned 3 hit singles so far, “Make Me Wanna Die,” “Miss Nothing” and “Just Tonight,” although perhaps the song that gained the most attention was their performance on BBC’s Radio 1 Live Lounge, which was a brilliant cover/mash-up of The xx single “Islands” and the Eminem & Rihanna collaboration, “Love The Way You Lie,” (see video of this performance below.)



Jenny Humphrey, the character on “Gossip Girl,” and Taylor Momsen, the actress who plays her, have pretty different styles, when it comes to makeup. Taylor, being the rock star that she is, has a tendency to wear very dark makeup, often with just solid black all around her eyes and very deep crimson, plum or black lips. The character of Jenny also has a tendency to go dark with her looks but not quite as dark. She tends to have a very signature eye look, which is a deep brown smokey eye, along with lip colors on the bold side but incorporating more pink and peaches than Taylor does in her own work on stage. I decided to recreate a look from Jenny on the show, because while I was searching pictures of Taylor/Jenny, I felt that Jenny’s signature eye look would actually be really flattering on me and, in my opinion, I was right!  This look also began with Revlon Colorstay Foundation in Natural Beige, applied very lightly with a Real Techniques Buffing Brush, Clinique Quick Correct Concealer and Coty Airspun Loose Powder in Translucent. On the cheeks all I did was a bit of contour and highlight with the Sedona Lace Contour & Blush palette, as well as a touch of Tarte Mineral Bronzer in Park Avenue Princess blended lightly on the apples of the cheeks. For the lips, to get the look of the first picture of her included above, I used Clinique Different Lipstick in Glazed Berry and Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss in Grapefruit for that intense glossy shine. On the eyes, I began with Buck, a medium brown, from the Urban Decay Naked Palette. I blended this shade all over the lid, as well as into and above the crease, and blended it pretty deep on the lower lash line. To add some warmth to the look, I blended Stila Matte eye shadow in Illimani, a warm-toned medium reddish-brown, in the crease and above it, as well as blending this color very lightly along the edge of the Buck shade I had applied on the lower lash line. To deepen and define the look, I smudged Clinique Quick Liner for Eyes in Black Brown along the upper lash line and right at the lower lash line, as well as applying this to the upper and lower waterlines. To keep the look matte, I highlighter the inner corner of the eyes and the brow bone with MAC eye shadow in Brule, a satin finish, light flesh-toned shade. The final step to complete this look was adding tons of L’oreal Voluminous False Fiber Lashes Mascara in Black Brown on the top and bottom lashes. I absolutely loved this look!



Zooey Deschanel is one of my favorite actresses and one half of one of my favorite indie music bands of recent years, She & Him. She made her big-screen debut in the 1999 film “Mumford,” and has gone on to appear in several films that I personally loved, including “Almost Famous,” “Failure To Launch,” “Bridge To Terabithia,” the mini-series “Tin Man” and, one of my very favorite films, “(500) Days Of Summer.” She is also currently the star of one of the best and highest-rated new series of the 2011-2012 television season, “The New Girl.” Aside from all of this acting, Zooey is also one half of the brilliant indie-folk band She & Him, as mentioned above, along with singer-songwriter M. Ward. They have released two gorgeous records, “Volume One” and “Volume Two,” as well as one of this year’s hottest holiday albums, “A Very She & Him Christmas.” Their music just has this gorgeous, classic, from-another-time air about it. My favorite track of theirs is probably the lead single from “Volume Two,” called “In The Sun,” (the official music video for this song can be seen below.)



Above I described Zooey’s music with She & Him as gorgeous, classic and from-another-time, which is fascinating because these are all descriptions that could also be used in reference to her look. She has a tendency to wear a very similar look any time you see her; a neutral shadow on the lid, a very soft, natural definition in the crease, very dark shadows framing the outer portion of the eyes and enhancing the lash lines, along with blush high on the cheekbones and a somewhat natural color on the lip with a light glossy shine to it. It is very pretty, natural look and is definitely reminiscent of makeup looks that were popular in the 1950s and 60s. For this look I began with one of my very favorite foundations for when I don’t necessarily need my makeup to stay on all day, Covergirl NatureLuxe Foundation in Aspen, along with Clinique Quick Correct Concealer in Light Medium and, once again, Coty Airspun Loose Powder in Translucent to set. On the cheeks I used Urban Decay Glide On Cheek Tint in Quickie, a bright cool-toned pink, high on the cheekbones and on the apples of the cheeks. On the lips, I applied Clinique Different Lipstick in Raspberry Glace, a deep berry pink. Then, to soften up the color a bit and add some additional shine, I went over the top of it with Tarte Vitamin Infused Lip Gloss in Serenity, a soft bubblegum pink. I dabbed some of this gloss off with my finger so the shine wouldn’t be overwhelming and give a bit more of a natural look. For the eyes, I began by applying Urban Decay eye shadow in Naked, a very light matte brown from the Naked palette, into the crease for some definition, and blended it out really well. Then I applied the shade Sin, a shimmery champagne, all over the lid. I also added the shade Toasted, a shimmery copper-taupe, to the outer corner of the eye for some added depth. Then I applied a matte black eye shadow, which one in particular escapes me at the moment, to the outer third of the upper and lower lash lines. I also applied Revlon Colorstay Liquid Liner in Black in a very thin line on the upper lash line, only on the area where the lashes grow, as seems to be the case in most of Zooey’s looks. I filled my brows with the shade Buck and highlighted the brow bone and inner corner of the eyes with Brule shadow by MAC.

Like I said, there seem to be a LOT of singer/actress/actress/singer types out there right now, including pretty much anybody featured on the Disney Channel or Nickelodeon at this point. I actually really love the fact that these types of stars are the main focus of entertainment for children and tweens, as I feel that music is something very important for kids to have around from a young age. This is definitely something that I am planning on showcasing on the blog here sometime in the near future. Still, I hope some of you were able to pick up something fun or informative from these slightly more mature looks. I already have a plan for next week’s Friday Feature, too, that I am very excited about. In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful weekend and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

