New Single & Leak Reviews!

In the past week or so there have been some really exciting new singles that have been released, as well as a few random songs that have leaked to the internet from some pretty major artists, so I thought it would be a great time to showcase some of that stuff. Also, for the first time on this blog, I have decided to include download links to each of these songs. I am just kind of testing the waters with these to see how you guys feel about including music downloads, if you find it helpful, etc. Any feedback you guys may have on this post, or really any of my posts, please feel free to share. As I mentioned previously, I am planning some major changes to this blog and I would really like to know anything that will make this blog a better experience for all of you. In the meantime, let’s get on with the new music!


Nicki Minaj – Roman In Moscow  ****

DOWNLOAD
“Roman In Moscow” is not exactly a first single from Nicki Minaj’s upcoming re-release of her debut album, “Pink Friday,” called “Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded,” but is more of a “teaser” for the record. The Roman referenced in the title of this song, as well as in my very favorite Nicki Minaj song “Roman’s Revenge,” is one of many alter-egos Nicki uses in her music. His name is Roman Zolanski, and he is a gay boy; a very angry gay boy. She has said that Roman was born out of rage and comes out in her angrier style of rapping. “Roman In Moscow” is kind of a return to that character, and you can really hear Roman coming out in this track.  I am not, in general, a huge fan of rap music but I definitely make an exception for Nicki Minaj – she has such a clever turn-of-phrase and such a strong, powerful voice as an artist. This track is a definite step forward for her artistically. I give this track 4 out of 5 stars.

Paris Hilton – Platinum Blonde  ***
DOWNLOAD
“Platinum Blonde” is a track that was recorded for the never-released follow-up to Paris Hilton’s debut album, “Paris.” I will say, right off the bat, that I was a huge fan and was massively excited with the random clips and two full-length tracks that leaked in the time since her debut. “Platinum Blonde” was a track that leaked only as a 1:30 clip; a 1:30 clip that I fell in love with. So, last week when the full-length version of the track was posted on one of my favorite download blogs, http://myheartbeatsformusic.com/, I was thrilled. The full-length version of the song does not disappoint. This song is so catchy and clever, full of tongue-in-cheek lyrics all about the perks of being a blonde. My favorite line is “Iconic blondes like me and Debbie Harry won’t settle for dirty or strawberry…” This song is so much fun and showed so much promise for Paris Hilton’s music career, (along with another track from the time, “Paris For President.”) I still say it is such a shame that this second record was never released. I give this track 3 out of 5 stars, only because I do absolutely love it but I don’t think this is a song I will be listening to regularly for years to come or anything but a surprise and a lot of fun to listen and get down to for the moment.


Alexz Johnson – Skipping Stone ****
DOWNLOAD
“Skipping Stone” is the first single from the sophomore solo album by Alexz Johnson. Alexz Johnson is not a name that is likely to be familiar to most people, unless you are familiar with the Canadian teen television series “Instant Star” that she starred in and featured much of her music, but she has one of my very favorite voices in music and is one of my favorite songwriters, as well. After “Instant Star” ended, Alexz had a lot of trouble getting her own solo record released but once she did, she released her debut album “Voodoo,” a remixed version called “Reloaded,” and a brilliant collection of demos from all those years she was trying to get a record released, called “The Basement Recordings.” Now, she is getting ready to release her second solo record with “Skipping Stone” as the lead single and I instantly thought, “This is so much better than anything on the first record!” Don’t get me wrong, the first record really grew on me, but “Skipping Stone” has a very instant impact and is such a powerful, emotion-filled track. It is heartbreaking and empowering all at the same time, with the lyrics, “My heart’s beating better alone, and if it’s broke why let you know? This heart’s not your skipping stone.” I adore this song. I definitely give it 4 out of 5 stars and HIGHLY recommend you all download at least this one, as well as checking out some of Alexz’ previous work. It will be well worth your while!


Britney Spears – Love 2 Love U  **
DOWNLOAD
“Love 2 Love U” is a newly leaked track from an undetermined time by Britney Spears. Random Britney Spears leaks have led to some of Britney’s greatest tracks in the past, including one of Britney’s greatest ballads, “State of Grace,” and, more recently, her amped-up cover of Madonna’s “Burning Up,” so I always get excited when I find that random new Britney tracks have leaked. “Love 2 Love U,” unfortunately, was a disappointment and I can definitely see why it never got used. The track borrows musical elements, as well as pretty much the entire melody, from Madonna’s “La Isla Bonita.” This track kind of has the feel of being a sad comparison of Madonna’s brilliant 1985 single. I give this track 2 out of 5 stars, because it just isn’t very good, however I do love the fact that it does show off the more silly, spunky side of Britney’s personality, which is frequently missing from her music.


Pink – Bridge Of Light  ****
DOWNLOAD
“Bridge Of Light” is a track that Pink recorded for the animated film, (which she also has a voice role in,) “Happy Feet 2.” The song is the main theme for the film and is kind of an unusual track for Pink, considering it is a very mainstream, uplifting, adult contemporary style ballad. Don’t get me wrong, Pink is brilliant when it comes to ballads but this is a different type of ballad than the ones that she normally releases. Still, this is a gorgeous, inspirational song about finding your way through difficult times. I don’t know where this song fits in the context of a film about dancing penguins exactly but I know that it is a song that I can definitely relate to. I absolutely love this track. I give this song 4 out of 5 stars.

Madonna – Masterpiece (Demo)  ****
DOWNLOAD

Last, but definitely not least, (in fact, probably most,) is a new demo track from, none other than Madonna. This song is rumored to have been recorded as the theme for Madonna’s upcoming film, (directing, not acting,) “W.E.” about the intertwining lives of a young New Yorker living in London and the American divorcee Wallis Simpson, who  King Edward VIII abdicated the throne for, so that he could marry her in spite of protestation from the Royal Family. The film sounds absolutely brilliant and, if this song is any indication, is bound to be a beautiful, heart-wrenching story of love and the joys and woes that can come with it. That is how I would describe this song. It is possibly the single most exciting, interesting thing that I have heard from Madonna in years. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the “Hard Candy” album and the new tracks for her “Celebration” greatest hits compilation but this is the first time since “Confessions On A Dancefloor” in 2005 that I have heard a new Madonna track that has gotten me so excited for the direction she is heading in. I give this 4 out of 5 stars but expect that when the full quality studio version is released there is likely to be a star added to that.

Each of these songs has provided me a good deal of excitement over the past week or so. I do go searching for new music, through various websites and blogs and such, every single day. Like I have said before in this blog, music is probably the biggest passion in my life, even more than beauty, and is something that I devote a LOT of my time to. I definitely want to figure out some other interesting ways to showcase music that I love here on the blog. I have been doing a lot of brainstorming on ideas for this blog over the past few weeks and am very excited to unveil some of the new concepts I have in mind for the blog. Before that, though, I have to say that I am very excited for the posts I have planned for both Work It Wednesday and Feature Friday this week! I think you guys are going to love it! In the meantime, I wish you all a beautiful week and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

