I Can Hear The (Wedding) Bells

Since I have kind of been doing my Valentine’s Day themed posts this week, like my Valentine’s Day makeup tutorial and my love-themed Beausic Original Playlist, I decided that I should stick with the theme for this week’s Friday Feature. I was trying to think of what would be the right Valentine/Love themed Friday Feature post to do when it dawned on me – what is a greater symbol of love than the act of getting married? Of course, getting married is kind of a sore subject for millions and millions of people across the world and an especially volatile situation in recent years across this country. I am one of these people. You see, the issue of same-sex marriage has been a really difficult one in America over recent years. As I mentioned before, what greater symbol is there of love than marriage? With that in mind, it seems absolutely ludicrous that some people’s love is not allowed to be expressed in one of the strongest ways there is in our society. Still, this is not a political blog and probably not the best forum for me to express my views on this topic. Still, I bring it up because it definitely affects my views on the whole topic of weddings and marriage. Still, I wanted to do a feature about weddings, featuring some of my favorite music about the topic, as well as showcasing and recreating a couple of my favorite recent bridal looks from some of the most famous weddings of recent times. Let’s begin by featuring some great songs about weddings and marriage and about the general topic of moving into that new level of commitment and love.


Paula Abdul – “Will You Marry Me?” – Before Madonna or any of my other favorite artists of my lifetime, the very first artist that I sought out on my own and my very first favorite artist as a child was Paula Abdul, and “Will You Marry Me?” was one of my very favorite songs as a child. This song was also released as a single just at the same time that Paula became engaged and quickly married to actor Emilio Estevez.


Bruno Mars – “Marry You” – I absolutely love this song! It isn’t exactly the ideal concept of romance but I love the imagery in the lyrics – the concept of the fun and spontaneity of a night out ending up in marriage. It’s like a wild, crazy moment with someone you love and making the sudden decision to take your love to the next level.


5th Dimension – “Wedding Bell Blues” – I absolutely LOVE this song. I remember this song being featured in the movie “My Girl” when I was a kid and have loved it ever since. It is such a fun song about waiting around for the man you love to finally pop the question. It is really upbeat and catchy but also has a bit of a downbeat tone to it in many ways.


Barbra Streisand – “Sadie, Sadie (from ‘Funny Girl’)” – This song is featured in my favorite film and musical of all-time, “Funny Girl.” The character of Fanny Brice in the film had a small obsession with the idea of her neighbors daughter, Sadie, who had gotten married and her dreams of the transformation this girl’s life had gone through since getting married. It’s an adorable little fantasy of a song that I absolutely adore.


Dixie Chicks – “White Trash Wedding” – This is just a really fun, catchy country song about a shotgun, white trash wedding! It is funny and catchy and just generally a fun song!


Carly Simon – “That’s The Way I’ve Always Heard It Should Be” – This is a less than positive song about marriage but still a beautiful one that I couldn’t help but include in any selection of songs about weddings/marriage. It is, essentially, a song about cold feet and the fear of losing one’s self and falling into the same old boring housewife cliches of married people that you have seen throughout the course of your life.


Taylor Swift – “Mine” – This song doesn’t ever specifically mention marriage or anything of that nature but it is a song about taking a relationship to the next level of moving in and starting a whole new life together, which often goes hand-in-hand with getting married. I just love the fact that this song is all about taking a look back at your relationship as you’re stepping into the next level of commitment and realizing why you have gotten to this point and why you want to move forward.


Jessica Simpson – “Be” – This song is featured on this month’s Beausic Original Playlist, posted on Monday, and is the song that I have always said would be the song I would want to walk down the aisle to if I ever were to/ever were able to get married.



For my bridal makeup looks, I decided to go with two of my favorite famous wedding looks of the past year. The first one was featured heavily in the media, tabloids, as well as in it’s own practically feature-length television special. Of course, I am talking about the circus that was Kim Kardashian’s wedding. Let me preface this all by saying that I am no fan of Kim Kardashian, really. I do not watch “Keeping Up With The Kardashians” and feel no particular fondness for Kim or any of her family. They don’t really hold any interest to me. Still, the one thing you can always say for Kim Kardashian is that she is gorgeous and she is a major trendsetter in the world of beauty and, for that reason, it was inevitable that I would feature some look of hers. Still, I didn’t necessarily expect it to be from her wedding because, quite frankly, her wedding was a joke. Kris Humphries, the groom, has all but said so. He has also all but said it was a publicity stunt and completely staged. It was definitely a great photo op, though, and there were some gorgeous photos that did come out of the whole thing – like the ones featured above. I absolutely loved the soft, warm brown smokey eye look that Kim wore for her wedding and felt that if I were recreating recent wedding looks it absolutely had to be included.




PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
MAC Pro Longwear Foundation in NW20
MAC Pro Longwear Concealer in NW20
Sedona Lace Contour & Blush Palette (contour and pink blush)
Smashbox Loose Shimmer Powder in Burlesque (highlight)

EYES:
Urban Decay Eye Shadow in Buck (brows and crease)
Maybellie Eye Studio Color Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze (all over lid)
Urban Decay Eye Shadow in Smog (outer portion of lid)
Stila Matte Eye Shadow in Ebony (smudged along upper and lower lash line)
L’oreal Lineur Intense Liquid Liner in Carbon Black (upper lash line)
L’oreal Eye Highlighter Pencil in Peach (waterline)
Clinique High Impact Mascara in Black

LIPS:
L’oreal Color Riche Lipstick in Fairest Nude




The other famous wedding look I wanted to recreate for this post doesn’t necessarily fall into the category of “celebrity” weddings because it is actually from the wedding of two fictional characters, Edward Cullen and Bella Swan from “The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn, Part 1.” I know that they are kind of frowned upon by the cool kids of the world but I am actually a pretty big fan of the “Twilight” book series, as well as the films. More than that, though, I am actually a long-time fan of Kristen Stewart, who plays Bella in the films. In spite of what you hear from people who have only ever seen her in the “Twilight” films, if that, I actually think she is a great actress from films like “Speak,” “In The Land Of Women,” “Panic Room,” “The Messengers” and “Into The Wild.” I just think she is really talented. This is not, however, a “defending Kristen Stewart” post. When I saw “Breaking Dawn, Part 1,” I fell in love with the look she wore for the wedding. It is very simple and neutral, as most classic bridal looks are, but had a really classic style with a slightly more modern, smokey twist.




PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Treatment Makeup in Pure Beige
Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles Treatment Concealer in Fair
Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Protector Finishing Powder in Natural Beige
Sedona Lace Contour & Blush Palette (contour)
Ulta Powder Blush in Girlie

EYES:
Urban Decay Eye Shadow in Naked (Center of lid)
Urban Decay Eye Shadow in Buck (inner and outer corners of lid, crease)
Stila Matte Eye Shadow in Nanda Devi (smudged at upper and lower lash lines)
MAC Eye Shadow in Brule (brow bone and inner corner highlight)
Clinique Quick Liner for Eyes in Black Brown
Tarte Lights, Cameras, Lashes! Mascara in Black

LIPS:
Revlon Lip Butter in Sweet Tart




I decided not to do a third recent bridal look, however you can’t really talk about gorgeous bridal makeup of recent times without mentioning Kate Middleton. Of course, it was the biggest, most epic wedding in recent history and one that took Kate from being just some other girl to being a household name and an ACTUAL princess. The thing I love most about this look, though, is the fact that in the midst of this whole insane media blitz and hype surrounding the wedding, Kate did her own makeup for the event. From what I understand, she went through a couple of sessions with a makeup artist to learn how to create the look but actually applied it herself on her wedding day. I thought it was an absolutely gorgeous, classy look for a wedding and loved the fact that she went with a cooler toned shimmery shadow, as well as the fact that she went with a coral shade for the blush and lips, which I think looks gorgeous and is the less obvious choice when it comes to wedding makeup.

While I did not decide to recreate Kate Middleton’s wedding makeup, I did use her makeup as an inspiration for one last look. I decided it would be fun to do the look that I would want to wear for my own wedding, if I were to have one. Bear in mind that this isn’t exactly what I would do if I were getting married tomorrow or anything, but it is a rough representation of the concept I would want to go with if I were. It is just considerably more “thrown together” than I would want because it was, in fact, thrown together. Like I said, Kate Middleton’s wedding makeup was really the inspiration, although I wanted it to be a tad more dramatic and have a bit more of a flair to it than hers did because, let’s face it, if I were to go out and get married tomorrow, it would definitely be more “out there” an event than your usual wedding. It only seemed appropriate that the look should reflect that a bit. I decided to go with a more cool-toned brown smokey eye, incorporating some silver, as well.




PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Treatment Makeup in  Pure Beige
MAC Pro Longwear Concealer in NW20
Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Protector Finishing Powder in Natural Beige
Sedona Lace Contour & Blush Palette (contour, highlight and coral blush)

EYES:
Glamour Doll Eyes Circus Collection Eye Shadow in Electric Chair (brow bone and inner corner highlight)
Glamour Doll Eyes Circus Collection Eye Shadow in Sword Swallower (crease and inner portion of lid)
Glamour Doll Eyes Circus Collection Eye Shadow in Bearded Lady (all over lid and under lower lashes)
Clinique Quick Liner for Eyes in Black Brown (smudged along outer half of upper and lower lashline)
Clinique High Impact Mascara in Black

LIPS:
Revlon Lip Butter in Creamsicle
Revlon Lip Butter in Cupcake

So, since I have featured a song I would want to play at my wedding and a look I would want to wear for my wedding, and since I am currently unattached and have room for fantasy/”The Secret” style wishing, I figured I may as well feature a guy who is the type I would like to marry, singing a song inspired by the topic of marriage; gay marriage, in particular.


Jay Brannan – “Housewife”

While marriage may not be in the cards for me, or gay people in general in this country, any time in the immediate future, I still have faith that it will be sometime in the not-too-distant future. I also still have faith in marriage as an institution and, even more, as one of the strongest expressions of love there could possibly be. I do hope to someday experience it for myself. In the meantime, though, before I veer off into the political realm again, I will simply wish you all a beautiful weekend and a beautiful life!

Jason

3 thoughts on “I Can Hear The (Wedding) Bells

  1. Since you won’t get on the soapbox about marriage rights, I won’t get on the soapbox about your first choice of model (eye roll). I will say this: you have my support, Lovely! Hang on in there as far as a good man goes. Like they say, good things come to those who wait.

  2. Thanks Letitia! Yeah, I felt kind of weird even including a Kardashian in this whole thing, or the blog in general, but I feel like she is significant enough in the beauty world that it wouldn’t have made sense to NOT include her eventually and hers was one of the most talked about weddings of the past little while… but, yeah, I am rolling my eyes right along with you!

    Also, yeah… hope is always alive! I don’t mind a wait if it means that things work out better than they have in my past relationships!

Leave a Reply

