Remembering Whitney

Over a week has passed since the announcement of Whitney Houston’s death and, as shocking as that news was, what has really been shocking to me are the reactions I have heard out of people. On television, as well as in my own life, I have heard many discussions and people questioning why the media is focusing on her life (and death) so much. I’ve heard people asking why the media, and the world in general, are celebrating the life of somebody with the issues that Whitney had in her life. I’ve heard people calling her a crackhead, a junkie, an addict, etc., much of which is quite possibly, (perhaps even likely,) true. Does that make her death less tragic? Does that make her life somehow have less meaning than that of another who didn’t struggle with addiction? Does that make her any less of an icon?

I think not.

As I mentioned above, I have heard so many people asking why it is that we would take the time to celebrate her life.

This is why.

“You Give Good Love”

“How Will I Know”

“Greatest Love Of All”

“I Wanna Dance With Somebody”

“Didn’t We Almost Have It All”

“I Will Always Love You”

“Run To You”

“Exhale (Shoop Shoop)”

“I Believe In You & Me”

“It’s Not Right But It’s Okay”

“If I Told You That”

“Fine”

“Try It On My Own”

“I Didn’t Know My Own Strength”

“I Look To You”

Regardless of any addiction issues Whitney may have had, or financial issues, marital issues, etc., the reason we should be taking the time to celebrate her life, or at least her career, is because of the gift that she gave us for so many years; the gift of music. These are my personal favorite songs of Whitney’s career, and songs that have touched my life in one way or another. These songs, along with a massive back catalog of hits, have touched the lives of so many people around the world. These are the legacy that Whitney leaves to us all.

May she rest in peace.

Jason

Leave a Reply

