Chart-Topping Hits, Show-Stopping Looks

For as long as I have been writing this blog I have done a lot of different Friday Features showcasing looks from a wide variety of amazing artists and beauty icons from all over the world and while I love doing that I have slowly come to realize that I haven’t really featured a ton of original looks, or looks I have come up with myself. With this in mind, I decided that for this week’s Friday Feature I wanted to do something a little more dramatic, a little more creative and, most of all, a little more original. Still, the point of the Friday Feature is a post that incorporates both beauty and music when it struck me: While so many of my posts are normally, “I love this song, here’s a look from the artist,” I decided to do something more along the lines of “I love this song, so here’s a look inspired by the song’s lyrics.” I also realized how many current chart-topping songs or songs from some of today’s hottest artists feature lyrics with imagery that really lends itself to makeup looks, referencing colors or items of specific colors, etc., so I thought it would be really fun to come up with some looks based on some songs currently topping the Billboard Charts. Let’s get on to the looks!

ADELE – SET FIRE TO THE RAIN 

CHART POSITIONS:
#2 Billboard Hot Adult Contemporary Tracks
#2 Billboard Mainstream Top 40
#1 Billboard Hot 100 Airplay
#3 Billboard Hot 100
#2 Billboard 200 Albums
#11 iTunes Top Songs
#1 iTunes Top Albums

For this look, I did a pretty literal interpretation on the songs title and chorus, with shades to represent both the fire and the rain. Based on the lyrics of the chorus, “I set fire to the rain, watch it burn as I touch your face, It burned while I cried cause I heard it screaming out your name.” I definitely wanted to do the blue shades, to represent the rain, underneath the eye to also represent the tears referenced in the “it burned while I cried” line, as well as the general sorrow expressed in the song. I also used the shade Lover’s Lane from Glamour Doll Eyes in the crease and surrounding the lid because it blended beautifully with the glitter shade on the lid but also because that shade has this amazing way of reflecting darker in the contours of your eyes, almost giving the illusion of smoke at the edges. This is also why I chose to use silver as a highlight, as this also represents smoke in a way, as well.




PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Covergirl CG Aqua Smoothers in Light Medium
Clinique Quick Correct Concealer in Light Medium
Guerlain Meteorites Perles Illuminating Finishing Powder in 03

EYES:
L’oreal HiP Color Truth Cream Liner in Black
Glamour Doll Eyes Eye Lights in Fire Eater (from The Circus Collection)
Glamour Doll Eyes Eye Shadows in Lover’s Lane & Sword Swallower (from the Circus Collection)
Sugarpill Cosmetics Eye Shadow in After Party
Stila Eye Shadow in Pacific (from the Backstage Beauty Palette)
Smashbox Limitless Long Wear Eye Pencil in Onyx
Urban Decay Supercurl Curling Mascara

LIPS:
Revlon Lip Butter in Tutti Fruiti
Bonnebelle LipLites in Crystal

fun. – WE ARE YOUNG

CHART POSITIONS:
#2 Billboard  Hot Modern Rock Tracks
#5 Billboard Rock Tracks
#1 Billboard Hot Digital Songs
#1 Billboard Hot 100
#13 Billboard 200 Albums
#1 iTunes Top Songs
#4 iTunes Top Albums

For this look, I wanted to capture the sort of erratic, youthful style and concept of the song’s lyrics. I also absolutely adore this song and I love the imagery of the lyrics – a night out gone wrong and trying to make it right. The inspiration for this look, though, all comes from the chorus. The lyrics in the chorus say, “Tonight we are young, So let’s set the world on fire, We can burn brighter than the sun.” The first step I took was actually the last line of the chorus, placing a bright matte yellow shadow, from Sugarpill Cosmetics, and layering a bright yellow gold shade, referencing the “burn brighter than the sun” line. For the upper lid, though, I wanted to represent the night sky, so I used a deep blue shadow all over the lid, then layered a black with gold glitter in the crease to create that sort of gradient visual you often see in the sky as it is getting darker at night. I also wanted to use the black with gold glitter in it to kind of represent the stars. The last step was to set that night that I created with those shades on fire as the lyrics state. So, I laid down a bright orange eye shadow, used cream liner to give it a bit of a sticky base and layered lots of fire colored glitter on top to create a bit of a glitter liner effect. It was a happy mistake that the glitter kind of transferred up into the “night sky” shades to add to that whole star concept I mentioned earlier.




PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
MAC Pro Longwear Foundation in NW20
MAC Pro Longwear Concealer in NW20
Revlon Beyond Natural Blush/Bronzer in Peach

EYES:
Sugarpill Cosmetics Eye Shadows in Butter Cupcake & Flamepoint
Glamour Doll Eyes Eye Shadow in Big Top
Stila  Eye Shadow in Pacific (from the Backstage Beauty palette)
Christian Siriano for VS Makeup Eye Shadow in Gilded Fierce
Glamour Doll Eyes Eye Lights in Fire Eater
Urban Decay Eye Shadow in Foxy (from the Naked2 Palette)
L’oreal HiP Color Truth Cream Liner in Black
Urban Decay Supercurl Curling Mascara

LIPS:
Revlon Super Lustrous Lip Gloss in Coral Reef

NICKI MINAJ – STARSHIPS

CHART POSITIONS:
#4 Billboard Hot Digital Songs
#9 Billboard Hot 100
#7 iTunes Top Songs

For this look, there was much less of an actual description of colors or imagery in the lyrics to pull from but I really wanted to do a look inspired by this song because the general sound of the song inspired all types of imagery in my head. The main bit of color inspiration I took from the song, though, was using a green shade on the lower lash line because the lyrics of the song make MANY references to money and I felt like this particular green really looked like the color of money. The basic concept for the upper portion of the eye was to create a sort of image of the sky with the sort of pink rays, and the gold trails off of them, to represent the “starships” of the songs title. I was a little disappointed with how these rays came out so that is a technique I will definitely have to practice a little further.




PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
MAC Pro Longwear Foundation in NW20
MAC Pro Longwear Concealer in NW20
Sugarpill Cosmetics Eye Shadow in Dollipop

EYES:
Urban Decay Eye Shadows in Hijack, Blue Bus, Gravity & Midnight Cowgirl (from the Book Of Shadows Vol. 4 palette)
Glamour Doll Eyes Eye Shadow in Cotton Candy
Sugarpill Cosmetics Eye Shadow in Dollipop
Revlon Luxurious Matte Kohl Eye Liner Pencil in Purple
Urban Decay Supercurl Curling Mascara

LIPS:
MAC Lipstick in Viva Glam Nicki

FOSTER THE PEOPLE – DON’T STOP (COLOR ON THE WALLS)

CHART POSITIONS:
#5 Billboard Hot Modern Rock Tracks
#116 iTunes Top Songs
#31 iTunes Top Albums

For this look I really took inspiration for the look from one line that makes reference to “crayons on the wall,” and really imagined the whole concept of little kids taking crayons and making a big mess all over the walls. I also wanted to really capture the fun, rebellious nature of this song, and much of Foster The People’s music, and I felt like this look got that done. I tried really hard to make it a little less glam and a little more messy but I definitely included some glam elements, as well, (like the purple eyebrows, which I am kind of in love with!) This look did not have a lot of pre-planning to it and was just a really fun experimentation with colors. I actually filmed the process to create a new makeup tutorial! Check it out below!




PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Covergirl NatureLuxe Foundation in Aspen
Clinique Quick Corrector Concealer in Light Medium
Urban Decay Glide On Cheek Tint in Quickie
Maybelline Shine Free Oil Control Loose Powder in Light

EYES:
Sugarpill Cosmetics Eye Shadows in Butter Cupcake, Flamepoint, Dollipop, Love+, Midori, Afterparty & Poison Plum
Urban Decay Eye Shadow in Blackout (from the Naked2 palette)
Smashbox Limitless Long Wear Eye Liner Pencil in Onyx
Smashbox Limitless Long Wear Liquid Liner Pen in Black
L’oreal Carbon Black Lineur Intense Liquid Liner
Urban Decay Supercurl Curling Mascara

LIPS:
MAC Viva Glam Gaga Lipstick

LANA DEL REY – OFF TO THE RACES

CHART POSITIONS:
#43 Billboard 200 Albums
#19 iTunes Top Albums

This look is definitely the one with the most direct inspiration taken from the lyrics of the song. As you all have to know by now, I am completely obsessed with Lana Del Rey. “Off To The Races” is not one of her singles, at least not yet, but is one of my very favorite songs of hers. I am so inspired by so many of her lyrics and was really excited to express some of that inspiration in this way. As far as the actual inspiration for the look, I pulled every single shade I used in this look from a lyric in the song. First of all, the blues on the lid, with the glitter and shimmer throughout, are taken from the lines, “swimming pool glimmering,” and “bright blue ripples.” The gold shade in the inner corners of the eyes is taken from the lines where she says, “gimme them gold coins,” before each chorus. The black at the outer corners of the eyes comes from the lines referencing, “every inch of my tar black soul.” The purple shades in the crease come from a random line about “lilac fumes.” The white shade for the highlight comes from the line, “He loves me with every beat of his cocaine heart,” as well as a few references to a white bikini. Last, but definitely not least, is the red shade under the eyes, which I felt had to be included due to several references in the song to the color red – “red nail polish,” “slipping on my red dress,” “he’s got a soul as sweet as blood red jam” and even in the chorus when she says, “I’m your little scarlet.” Like I said, this is one of my very favorite songs by one of my very favorite artists of the moment and I definitely recommend everybody check it out!




PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
MAC Pro Longwear Foundation in NW20
MAC Pro Longwear Concealer in NW20
Tarte Mineral Bronzer in Park Avenue Princess

EYES:
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Shadow Pencil in Clash
Urban Decay Eye Shadow in Minx
Stila Eye Shadow in Pacific (from the Backstage Beauty palette)
Urban Decay Eye Shadow in Blackout (from the Naked2 palette)
Urban Decay Eye Shadows in Gravity and Midnight Cowgirl (from the Book Of Shadows Vol. 4 palette)
Pop Beauty Lid Silver Eye Shadow in Shade 4
Glamour Doll Eyes Eye Shadow in Lover’s Lane & Electric Chair
Smashbox Limitless Long Wear Eye Liner Pencil in Onyx

LIPS:
MAC Viva Glam Gaga Lipstick
MAC Viva Glam Gaga Lipglass

Like I said above, I felt like it had been a really long time since I had showcased any original looks on the blog and I am really excited to share these looks with you! They have definitely got my creative juices flowing again and I absolutely loved doing it! I hope you all enjoyed this post, as well as the tutorial and I hope you may have learned a little something or taken a little inspiration from the whole thing! In the meantime, I wish you all a beautiful weekend and a beautiful life!

Jason

3 thoughts on “Chart-Topping Hits, Show-Stopping Looks

Leave a Reply

