Living Like The Movies

As discussed in my “March New Album Leak Reviews” post from the week before last, as well as in a couple of my recent YouTube videos, I am completely obsessed with “The Hunger Games” – the book series, the film and the film’s soundtrack have all been a heavy influence on me here recently. I absolutely loved the books and have seen the film in the theater twice already. I have also been playing the soundtrack like crazy here lately. It got me thinking about other film soundtracks that have impacted me over the years, so I thought it would be fun to do a post on some of my favorite songs from film soundtracks over the years. I decided it would be a good idea to focus on films from the 2000s, as this is the time that I remember the most films from and, in a lot of ways, the period in which I have had the most musical experience… well, kind of. To be frank, as I was sitting here thinking about music from different films that have impacted me, everything that I came up with, for the most part, was from that period. So, that having been said, let’s get right to it.

Also, bear in mind, these are not all going to be the most powerful songs in the world but just songs that I really loved that were featured in films. Also, some are not necessarily a signature song from a film or the film’s “theme song” or anything, but are songs that I really loved or have always stuck out in my mind from these films.

2000 “Coyote Ugly”


Leann Rimes – “Can’t Fight The Moonlight”

2001 “On The Line”


BBMak, Mandy Moore, Lance Bass & Joey Fatone – “On The Line”

2002 “A Walk To Remember”


Mandy Moore – “Cry”

2004 “A Cinderella Story”


Hilary Duff – “Now You Know”

2004 “Spider-Man 2”


Dashboard Confessional – “Vindicated”

2005 “Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants”


Chantal Kreviazuk – “These Days”

2008 “Slumdog Millionaire”


A.R. Rahman – “Jai Ho”

2008 “Sex & The City”


Fergie – “Labels Or Love”

2009 “Bandslam”


Vanessa Hudgens & I Can’t Go On, I’ll Go On – “Everything I Own”

2009 “Jennifer’s Body”


Panic! At The Disco – “New Perspective”

2010 “Valentine’s Day”


Taylor Swift – “Today Was A Fairytale”

2010 “Country Strong”


Garrett Hedlund & Leighton Meester – “Give In To Me”

2010 “Burlesque”


Cher – “You Haven’t Seen The Last of Me”

2011 “Scream 4”


The Sounds – “Something To Die For”

2012 “The Hunger Games”


Taylor Swift – “Safe & Sound”

So, there you have it! Some of my favorite music from films over the past 10 or 12 years. Each of these songs have made themselves a presence in my life at one point or another for a variety of different reasons. Probably the most prominent were “Something To Die For” from “Scream 4,” “You Haven’t Seen The Last of Me” from “Burlesque,” “Cry” from “A Walk To Remember,” “Give In To Me” from “Country Strong” and, silly as it may sound, “Now You Know” from “A Cinderella Story.” Most of all, though, would have to be “Vindicated” from “Spiderman 2.” I didn’t even really care for that film but the song is absolutely amazing. I absolutely love all of these songs, though, and hope you guys get a kick out of them, too! I would love to hear some of your thoughts on music from films that have made an impact on you, or that you just really enjoyed! In the meantime, I wish you all a beautiful week and a beautiful life!

Jason

One thought on “Living Like The Movies

  1. Oh my god! Coyote Ugly ❤ My guilty pleasure. One day I'll be dancing on a burning bar counter.

    A song that really impacted me was the end song of Narnia :p Just because I'm a sucker for adventure/fantasy films, and because the ending was so bitter sweet! And the song is great too! Oh my god!

Leave a Reply

