¡Belleza Y Musica Latina!

For this week’s Friday Feature I wanted to do something different – something a little more personal, like that Lindsay Lohan song. In all seriousness, though, I had been giving some thought to different ideas for Friday Features and one of the first things that came to mind was a piece of my own heritage that people may not be so aware of. While it may not be so evident to look at me, I am actually 1/4 Mexican. I am also a small portion Japanese, Native American and varying types of European, aka, White. While most of this was never a part of my life growing up, my Hispanic heritage was definitely a part of my experience growing up. This is probably due, in large part, to growing up in Southern California in an area highly populated with Hispanic people and rich with Hispanic culture and many of my friends growing up, whose families I would spend much time with, were Spanish speakers. While I do not speak Spanish myself, I have always been fascinated with the language. I have also always had a deep love and attraction towards Latin Music. While my main focus in music growing up was always on lyrics, as I began writing lyrics as a kid, I have always felt drawn to the rhythm and beats of Latin music, and LOVED pop music with a Latin-influence. In the late 90s/early 2000s when the Latin Pop Explosion happened, when artists like Ricky Martin, Enrique Iglesias, Shakira, etc., emerged onto the pop scene, I really fell in love with this style of music. Prior to that, though, I really loved Gloria Estefan as a child, and was really excited to see her brand of pop making it big at that time. While Gloria kind of really started that Latin-influenced Dance/Pop style and it made it’s major impact in the late 90s, Latin-infused pop is still going strong today. All of those artists I mentioned before have managed to maintain really successful careers, and new artists have emerged and managed to hit it big in the mainstream, like RDB, Nelly Furtado, Juanes, Pitbull, etc. Like I said, Latin Pop has been a huge influence on me growing up and has been some of my favorite music over the years. So, I wanted to showcase some of my favorite Latin artists, whose music and beauty, Musica y Belleza, have inspired me over the years!

PAULINA RUBIO



Paulina Rubio was born in Mexico City, Mexico and began her career in entertainment at just 10 years old as a member of the popular children’s group called Timbiriche from 1982-1991. She went on to begin her career as a solo artist in 1992 with her debut record,  “La Chica Dorada,” and has gone on to sell over 30 million records worldwide, has released 10 solo albums, 35 singles, 14 of which went number one in Mexico, has modeled for Roberto Cavalli, Prada, Gucci, Dolce & Gabbana and Alexander McQueen, appeared in several telenovelas, films and serves as host for several shows on MTV Latin America. She also had her very own lipstick designed by MAC, named Rubia, which was an absolutely gorgeous nude pink shade and one that is very hard to find anymore. I first discovered Paulina’s music when she released her debut English record, “Border Girl” in 2002. I absolutely loved that record, although I understand this album has been kind of widely panned among her fans. Either way, I loved it! Paulina has also released a “Spanglish” record in 2011, called “Brava!” featuring a combination of Spanish and English songs, including my personal favorite, “Boys Will Be Boys.” Check out the video below!

For my Paulina look, I decided to recreate a look from one of my favorite videos of her career, “Me Gustas Tanto.” This video is gorgeous, I love the song and I kind of fell in love with this makeup look when she wore it! Check out the video for this song below, as well as my recreation of the look.





PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Calvin Klein Infinite Hydration Moisturizing Foundation in Toasted
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Guerlain Meteorites Perles Illuminating FInishing Powder in 03
Tarte Mineral Bronzer in Park Avenue Princess
Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Wonder
EYES:
Urban Decay Naked Palette Eye Shadows in Half Baked, Smog and Darkhorse
MAC Eye Shadow in Brule
Clinique Quickliner For Eyes in Black Brown
L’oreal Voluminous False Fiber Lashes Mascara in Black Brown

LIPS:
Revlon Colorburst Lipstick in Peach
Revlon Colorburst Lip Gloss in Rosegold

THALIA


Like Paulina Rubio, Thalia was also born in 1971 in Mexico City, Mexico. Also like Paulina, Thalia began her career in 1981 as a member of Timbiriche. She left Timbiriche in 1989 and released her debut self-titled solo record in 1990. Thalia has gone on to sell over 40 million records, released 10 solo albums, has recorded in Spanish, English, French, Portugese and Tagalog, is widely considered one of the most globally well-known Latin singers, has appeared in several telenovelas and films, and has written 3 books, including the beauty guide “¡Belleza!: Lessons in Lip Gloss and Happiness.” I first started listening to Thalia when she released her debut English-language record, which was also self-titled, featuring hit singles “I Want You” and, my favorite track from that record, “Baby I’m In Love.” Check out the video below.

For my Thalia look, I decided to recreate a look from the promotional images for her most recent record, “Lunada.” When I stumbled upon these images, I absolutely fell in love with her fun, summery glowing look in the pictures. I had also recently picked up several products that would be perfect for this look, so I put together a little haul/tutorial video for this look, which was featured as the Work It Wednesday post this week! In case you missed it, I have included that video below, as well!


PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Covergirl TruBlend Mineral Foundation in Natural Beige
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Covergirl TruBlend Loose Mineral Powder in Translucent Light
Tarte Mineral Bronzer in Park Avenue Princess
Urban Decay Urbanglow Cream Highlight in Wicked
Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in Flushed

EYES:
Urban Decay Naked2 Eye Shadows in Foxy and Chopper
Tarte Mineral Bronzer in Park Avenue Princess
Clinique Quickliner for Eyes in Black Brown
Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes! Mascara

LIPS:
Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in Flushed
Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss Duo in Peep/Show

SHAKIRA



Shakira was born and raised in Barranquilla, Colombia and emerged onto the Latin Music scene in the mid-1990s. She has gone on to be one of the biggest names of Latin Pop in English-Language markets worldwide, has released 7 albums and 39 singles, has sold over 70 million records worldwide, recorded the official song of the 2010 FIFA World Cup and has built a massively successful career recording in English, including her massive hit albums, “Laundry Service,” “Oral Fixation, Volume 2,” and “She Wolf,” as well as bilingual records, including her most recent album, “Sale El Sol.” Shakira is currently working on her 8th studio album, and has been rumored to be in talks with some of the biggest producers in pop music, including Benny Blanco, Tiesto, RedOne, Max Martin and Dr. Luke, so you can expect very big things from this album, which is tentatively scheduled for release in 2012. One of my favorite songs of Shakira’s career is the track “Gypsy,” from her album, “She Wolf.” Check out the video below.

In looking for a Shakira look to recreate I kind of realized that Shakira has a strong tendency toward doing very natural, “no makeup” type makeup looks, and I selected a look from the promo images for her album “Sale El Sol,” which featured an extremely natural look with a very strong blush and matte nude lips. I also woke up late on the day that I decided to do this look and found that it was great to complete in a rush while still looking gorgeous!




PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
MAC Pro Longwear Foundation in NW20
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Covergirl TruBlend Loose Mineral Powder in Translucent Light
Revlon Beyond Natural Blush/Bronzer in Peach (Bronzer Only)
Urban Decay Afterglow Powder Blush in Score

EYES:
Revlon Beyond Natural Blush/Bronzer in Peach
Urban Decay Naked2 Eye Shadow in Foxy
Clinique Quickliner for Eyes in Black Brown
Urban Decay Supercurl Curling Mascara

LIPS:
Clinique Long Last Lipstick in Bamboo Pink

GLORIA ESTEFAN



Gloria Estefan is widely known  as the “Queen of Latin Pop.” She is the most successful Latin Crossover artist of all-time, with 14 studio albums and is ranked as one of the 100 Greatest-Selling artists of all-time with over 100 million records sold worldwide, with 31.5 million in the US alone. She began her career with the band Miami Sound Machine in 1977 and released some of her biggest hits with this band, including “Conga,” “Words Get In The Way,” “Bad Boys,” “Dr. Beat,” “1-2-3,” “Rhythm Is Gonna Get You,” and the list goes on and on. She has also starred in 2 films, “Music Of My Heart” and “For Love Or Country,” has written 2 children’s books and a cook book, alongside her husband Emilio and owns a series of successful Cuban restaurants called Bongos Cuban Cafe. Gloria is also set to become a recurring guest star on my favorite television series of all-time, “Glee,” as the mother to one of my favorite characters, Santana Lopez. One of my biggest musical memories from growing up is waking up every morning while getting ready for school when I was in Kindergarten and 1st grade, and watching VH1 to see all of the music videos of the moment. I don’t know why it was always VH1 instead of MTV but it was always the one that I preferred as a kid. In any sense, one of the videos I loved the most and always looked forward to seeing the most was my favorite song of Gloria Estefan’s career, “Live For Loving You.” Check out the hilariously early-90s video below!

For my Gloria Estefan look, the choice was extremely easy. I am absolutely obsessed with the song and video for her single “Wepa,” from her most recent studio album, 2011’s “Miss Little Havana,” and thought she looked absolutely radiant, fun and modern in the video! This look, in particular, is absolutely stunning and I knew that this was the look I wanted to recreate!





PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Covergirl TruBlend Foundation in Natural Beige
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Covergirl TruBlend Loose Mineral Powder in Translucent Light
Stila Convertible Color in Gladiola

EYES:
Stila Backstage Beauty Eye Shadows in Flamingo, Pacific and Coal
Sugarpill Cosmetics Pressed Eye Shadow in Butter Cupcake
Glamour Doll Eyes Eye Shadow in Electric Chair
L’oreal Infallible Never Fail Eye Liner in Black
Urban Decay Supercurl Curling Mascara

LIPS:
Stila Convertible Color in Gladiola

JENNIFER LOPEZ



Jennifer Lopez is a bona-fide mega-star of music, film, television and fashion. She has released 7 hugely successful studio albums, starred in 11 films, is a current judge on the highest-rate show in television, “American Idol,” is producer of 2 hit TV shows, “Q’viva” and “Miami Towing,” as well as designing the successful clothing line J. Lo by Jennifer Lopez and releasing several successful fragrances, including 2 of my past signature scents, Glow and Still. Jennifer has been one of my favorite actresses ever since her debut film, “Selena,” about the tragically short life of another Latin pop superstar, Selena. I have also loved each of Jennifer’s albums and am a huge fan of her as a singer, from her first single “If You Had My Love,” to her most recent release, which is quickly becoming one of my favorite songs of hers, “Dance Again.” Check out the video below.

I also fell in love with her makeup look in the “Dance Again” video and knew that I just had to recreate it! I was a little weird about doing this look on myself because I have always felt that these type of lavender and plum tone shades don’t work well on my skin but seeing them on Jennifer made me re-consider and I am so happy that I did! I also recorded a tutorial for this look! Check it out below!





PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Calvin Klein Infinite Hydration Moisturizing Foundation in Toasted
Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Concealer in Fair
Covergirl TruBlend Loose Mineral Powder in Translucent Light
Covergirl Cheekers Blush in Sierra Sands
Physician’s Formula Multi-Colored Blush in Blushing Berry
Urban Decay Urbanglow Cream Highlight in Moonshine

EYES:
Stila Eye Shadow Quad in Montmarte (all 4 shades)
Glamour Doll Eyes Eye Shadow in Electric Chair
L’oreal Infallible Never Fail Eye Liner Pencil in Black
Urban Decay Supercurl Curling Mascara
Maybelline Eye Studio Mastershape Brow Pencil in Soft Brown

LIPS:
Rimmel London 1,000 Kisses Stay All Day Lip Liner Pencil in Natural
Clinique Long Last Lipstick in Bamboo Pink
Clinique Long Last Glosswear SPF 15 in Air Kiss

SELENA 



Last but definitely not least, I knew I couldn’t write this post without at least taking a moment to speak about Selena. Selena Quintanilla-Perez was a Latin Pop singer-songwriter, named Top Latin Artist of the 90s and Best-Selling Latin Artist of the Decade by Billboard Magazine. She released 14 top 10 singles on the Billboard Latin Charts, including 7 number one hits. She has been referred to as Queen of Tejano Music and even The Mexican Madonna. She had built a pretty massive career for herself, particularly in Spanish Speaking countries, and was set to make a major crossover into English-Language music in the mid-1990s. Unfortunately, her life was cut short when she was murdered on March 31, 1995 when she was just 23 years old.  She had a bright future ahead of her that was cut short. Still, after her passing, she did go on to release a number one album in the US, “Dreaming Of You,” which was also one of the biggest-selling debuts in history at the time. It also spawned two massively successful singles, “Dreaming Of You” and “I Could Fall In Love.” Selena’s music and legacy were a huge influence on me in my young life and continues to be among some of my favorite music. Below, I have included the beautiful tribute video that was released in 1995 set to my favorite song of Selena’s career, “I Could Fall In Love.”

Like I said, this was a post that I was really excited to be able to make because it not only showcases some of my favorite artists but also shares a little bit of my own heritage. Like I said, while I am not always somebody who does a great job of expressing my heritage, I do think it is important to express and honor where we come from just as much as who are on our own. So, I hope you all enjoyed this post and I hope you all will use this as inspiration to think a little more about doing a little something to honor your own heritage. If not, I hope you at least got a fun, new song stuck in your head and have caught a little bit of a bug for the Latin beat! While you all enroll for Salsa classes, or just do a little Zumba, I wish you all a beautiful weekend and a beautiful life!

Jason

One thought on “¡Belleza Y Musica Latina!

Leave a Reply

