All About The 80s

As I have kind of hinted at in a few recent posts, July is my birthday month and I have planned a few different posts for the month that are a little more “me-focused.” I mean, don’t get me wrong, they are all pretty me focused in one way or another but a handful of posts this month are going to center around topics that relate a little more to myself and my life, not only as my own little celebration of my birthday to share with you all but also as a bit of a way for you guys to get to know me a little bit better. I figured the best way to start the month and this little theme is to go back to the start of me – the 1980s. I was born in 1983 in a small desert town called Banning, California. This area is widely referred to as “the pass” because it is between two large mountains and way back in the early days of America was used as a pass-through for stagecoach travel. I spent much of my childhood life living in this area and while I may have some memories of that town that I am not very fond of, as well as very little desire to go back to that town, it is where I developed my earliest love; the love of music. The music of the 80s was the first music that really reached out to me and, much like today, I was always first and foremost drawn to the sound of POP. Pop music of the 80s was, in many ways, a very different thing than the pop of today but, at it’s core, the primary tenets of pop music are that it is catchy, it is simplistic and it is most often FUN. These descriptions absolutely fit much of the music I listened to when I first started listening to music on my own. The very first artist I fell in love with and sought out on my own, much as I hate to admit to it not being Madonna, was Paula Abdul. I absolutely loved Paula growing up and, when I was as young as 5 years old, I used to wake up early before Kindergarten to watch a program on VH1 at the time called “A-Z Video,” where they would play videos from different artists in alphabetical order. Since Paula Abdul’s name started with an A, she was generally the first or second video they would play and I just had to make sure I was up to see it. It wasn’t long after this that I discovered who remains my favorite artist of all-time, Madonna. Still, as a child I would sit and watch MTV and VH1 as often as possible and really developed a love and passion for so much of the music of the time. So, I wanted to do a post showcasing some of the music that I fell in love with at the time, as well as some looks from some of the biggest beauty and fashion icons of the time.

PETE BURNS of DEAD OR ALIVE



Dead or Alive were formed in 1980 by lead vocalist Pete Burns, who became very well known for his unique, androgynous style. The band had experienced a fair amount of success in the UK with the release of their debut album, “Sophisticated Boom Boom,” but really catapulted to worldwide success with their sophomore album, “Youthquake,” which was one of the first records produced by massively successful UK production team Stock, Aitken & Waterman, the powerhouse team behind the initial success of some of the UK’s biggest artists, including last month’s Spotlight artist Kylie Minogue. Their most successful song to date is definitely their massive hit single, “You Spin Me Round (Like A Record,)” which charted in the Top 20 in 8 different countries, including #11 in the US. The song was also re-released 3 times in the UK, making it into the Top 5 after Pete’s appearance on “Celebrity Big Brother.” The band went on to chart another top 20 hit in the US with their single “Brand New Lover,” and also went on to release 11 studio albums between 1980 and 2000, and Pete Burns remains a staple in the British media and a presence on British television. Check out the video for “You Spin Me Round” below.

I remember seeing that video as a child and feeling really confused but intrigued by the whole thing. Years later, though, when I came to understand things a lot more, I took a lot of inspiration from Pete’s look, particularly in the 1980s before he had a massive amount of plastic surgery. For my Pete Burns look for this post, I decided to recreate the look from the cover of Dead or Alive’s 1985 single “In Too Deep,” which featured a really gorgeous golden lid with a black cut crease and a really strong gold highlight on the skin. Check out my recreation of the look below.




PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Calvin Klein Infinite Hydration Moisturizing Foundation in Toasted
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Guerlain Meteorites Perles Illuminating Finishing Powder in 03
Covergirl Cheekers Blush in Sierra Sands
NYX Tango With Bronzing Stick in Tango With Highlighting
Smashbox Loose Shimmer Powder in Burlesque

EYES:
Urban Decay Naked Palette Eye Shadows in Creep, Half Baked, Naked & Buck
Urban Decay Naked2 Eye Shadow in Blackout
Revlon Colorstay Liquid Eye Pen in Black
Milani Liquif’Eye Metallic Eye Pencil in Black
Revlon Grow Luscious by FabuLash Mascara in Blackest Black

LIPS:
Beautique Lip Liner Pencil in Natural
NYX Round Lipstick in Rea

TIFFANY



Tiffany began her career in 1987, at just 16 years old, with her massive hit single, “I Think We’re Alone Now.” Much of her success is attributed to a mall tour she did in 1987 at the very start of her career, which sparked interest in her as an artist and helped to catapult “I Think We’re Alone Now” and her self-titled debut album to number 1 on the Billboard Hot 100. Her next single, “Could’ve Been” also went to number 1 and the follow-up, “I Saw Him Standing There” also became a big hit for her. Tiffany released 8 more albums, including one as recently as 2011, but none have ever reached the success of her debut. Below I have included the video for “I Think We’re Alone Now,” as well as the video for one of my favorite songs of her career, “Feels Like Love,” from her 2007 album “Just Me.” Check them both out below.

For my Tiffany look, I decided to recreate the look from the cover of her single, “Could’ve Been,” which I selected because I felt that it was a really good representation of her signature look at the time – fresh-faced, youthful and very warm-toned. Everything appeared to have a very matte finish, from her skin to her eye shadows to her lips, so I tried to put an emphasis on that in my recreation of the look. Check out my version of this look below!




PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Neutrogena Healthy Skin Compact Makeup SPF 55 in Natural Beige
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Covergirl TruBlend Loose Mineral Powder in Translucent Light
Sedona Lace Contour & Blush Palette (deep contour & coral blush shades mixed)

EYES:
Stila Matte Eye Shadows in Chinois, Illimani, Champara & Ebony
L’oreal Eye Highlight Pencil in Peach Chrome
Revlon Grow Luscious by FabuLash Mascara in Blackest Black

LIPS:
Rimmel London 1,000 Kisses Stay All Day Lip Liner Pencil in Nude
Rimmel London Lasting Finish Lipstick in Dizzy
Revlon Colorburst Lipstick in Peach

BOY GEORGE



Boy George began his career as the lead singer of the massively successful band Culture Club. Their debut album, “Kissing To Be Clever,” was released in 1982 and spawned 3 massive international hit singles, “Do You Really Want To Hurt Me?,” “Time (Clock Of The Heart,” and “I’ll Tumble 4 Ya.” After this record, the hits just kept coming for the band until their 4th studio album, after which the band disbanded after a series of dramas within the band, including the death of one member, keyboardist Michael Rudetsky, George’s own heroin addiction and the breakdown of his long secret relationship with the band’s drummer Jon Moss. George continued on with a solo career, releasing 8 solo studio albums, as well as 7 albums as a DJ, another career he pursued post-Culture Club. He also went on to write music for several other artists, as well as writing a musical about his own life, called “Taboo,” which was very successful in London’s West End but failed to catch fire during it’s Broadway run. One of my very favorite tracks of George’s career was the title song for the 1992 film, “The Crying Game.” Check out the video below!

For my Boy George look, it was really hard to pin down exactly what I wanted to do because I was able to find so many different images of different looks he wore but had a lot of difficulty finding any that I could find multiple images of or any details on where they came from. Still, I really fell in love with the look in the first picture above and absolutely knew I wanted to recreate it. So, I don’t know where the look is from or anything, but I recreated it, which can be seen below. As a sidenote, though, one thing I did not do was the eyebrows from the look, which were kind of a signature of his looks. He often wore his brows extremely thick at the inner portion and down to just a line at the ends. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any of the necessary supplies to cover my natural brows, so I did thicken up the inner portion but left the outer portion in it’s natural shape.




PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Clinique Superbalanced Makeup in Cream
Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Concealer in Fair
Sedona Lace Contour & Blush Palette (white highlight shade as powder, coral blush & deep contour shade as blush)
Urban Decay Urbanglow Cream Highlight in Moonshine

EYES:
Sugarpill Cosmetics Eye Shadow in Tako
MAC Eye Shadow in Passionate
Tarte for True Blood Eye Shadow in Legend
Revlon Colorstay Liquid Eye Pen in Black
Milani Liquif’Eye Metallic Eye Liner Pencil in Black
Revlon Grow Luscious by FabuLash Mascara in Blackest Black

LIPS:
NYC Lip Liner Pencil in unknown shade (956A)
Rimmel London Lasting Finish Lipstick in Dizzy
L’oreal HiP Lipstick in Driven

CYNDI LAUPER



Cyndi Lauper began her career in a very big way in 1983, the year that I was born, with the release of her debut album, “She’s So Unusual,” which featured 4 Billboard Top 5 singles, (including “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun,” and “Time After Time,” two of her signature songs,) making her the first female artist to ever have 4 Top 5 singles from one album. This record also earned her a Grammy award for Best New Artist in 1985. Cyndi has released 11 studio albums and over 40 singles in her career and has sold over 50 million albums, making her one of the best selling artists of all-time. She has a massive and brilliant catalog of music in a career spanning 4 decades. I also got the opportunity to see Cyndi live in concert a few years ago and, by luck of the draw, wound up buying tickets about a week before the show and managed to get seats in the second row. She actually came out and sang a whole song standing up on the seat in front of mine, which was pretty insane and amazing. I wanted to feature here two of my favorite songs of her career, from opposite ends of her career, her 1986 hit “Change Of Heart” and her 2008 dance hit “Into The Nightlife.” Check out both videos below!

For my Cyndi Lauper look I decided to recreate the look that she wore on the cover of her single for the song “Time After Time.” I remember seeing this single in somebody’s record collection when I was a kid and thinking it was really interesting, so when I was going through pics of Cyndi for this post and stumbled upon that image I knew it was the one I had to do. I also loved this look because I feel like, looking at it now, it really perfectly captures the primary style of makeup from the 1980s, with it’s insanely bright and big colors on the eyes, over-the-top bright blush and a metallic gold lip. People just don’t do stuff like that today! Check out my recreation of the look below.




PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Neutrogena Healthy Skin Compact Makeup SPF 55 in Natural Beige
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Sedona Lace Contour & Blush Palette (golden-toned highlight as powder)
Sugarpill Cosmetics Eye Shadow in Dollipop

EYES:
Sugarpill Cosmetics Eye Shadows in Midori & Flamepoint
Urban Decay Eye Shadow in Blackout
Rimmel London Soft Kohl Kajal Liner Pencil in Pure White
Revlon Grow Luscious by FabuLash Mascara in Blackest Black

LIPS:
Lypsyl Lip Balm
Glamour Doll Eyes Circus Collection Loose Pigment in Big Top

MADONNA



What can I really say about Madonna that hasn’t already been said? What can I really say about Madonna that I didn’t already say in my Spotlight:Madonna post? As I’ve mentioned several times here on the blog in the past, Madonna is my absolute favorite artist of all-time. There is simply nobody else like her and nobody who has had a bigger influence on every single female artist in pop music since she released her first album in 1983. According to the Recording Industry Association of America, she is also the best selling female artist of the 21st century and the second best selling female artist in the US, as well as number 2 in Billboards All-Time Top Artists, making her the most successful solo artist in the history of the Billboard Charts. She has been inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame and has sold over 64 million albums worldwide. Madonna is an icon if there ever was one. I couldn’t do this 80s-themed post without including her, as she was named Artist of the Decade for the 1980s by Billboard, MTV and several other media outlets. Her style became the biggest fashion trademark of the decade. Her music and style combined made her, by far, the most iconic artist of the 80s and, like I said, I simply could not have made an 80s themed post without her. So, I wanted to feature a couple of brilliant tracks from Madonna’s career, one of her most iconic 80s songs, “Like A Virgin,” as well as her most recent single, “Girl Gone Wild.” Check out the videos for both songs below!

For my Madonna look for this post I decided to recreate the look from the cover of her second album, “Like A Virgin.” I also decided to record a tutorial for this look. The reason I chose to do a tutorial for this look was because, first, it was a look that I didn’t actually feature in my Spotlight: Madonna post, but also because I have come up with an idea. Since my first Madonna tutorial, for the Spotlight: Madonna, post was from a promotional image for her first album and this is from the cover of her second album, I have decided to create a new monthly feature for Work It Wednesdays – a YouTube tutorial series all about Madonna. So, each month I will post a tutorial for a look to represent one of Madonna’s albums, from her self-titled debut to her most recent record, “MDNA.” I am really excited about this whole concept because I think it is an awesome way to pay tribute to my favorite artist of all-time. So, check out my tutorial for this look below and look forward to a new Madonna tutorial every month for the next year!




PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation in Creamy Natural
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Coty Airspun Loose Powder in Translucent
Sedona Lace Contour & Blush Palette (Golden-toned & white highlight shades & deep contour shade)

EYES:
Stila Matte Eye Shadow in Chinois
Tarte for True Blood Eye Shadows in Stake, Legend, Werewolf & Dusk
Milani Liquif’Eye Metallic Eye Liner Pencil in Black
Revlon Grow Luscious by FabuLash Mascara in Blackest Black

LIPS:
Beautique Lip Liner Pencil in Natural
Rimmel London Moisture Renew Lipstick in Precious Brown
Smashbox Limitless Longwear Lip Gloss in Infinite

Like I mentioned above, the 1980s hold a special place in my heart because those are the years where I was first discovering and developing my love for music and the music of the era will always be really special to me because of that. What I find really interesting, though, is how much the music and the styles of the 80s meant to me at the time yet I really had no understanding of any of it at the time, yet when I see and hear it all now it still has a really immense meaning to me in a completely different and more profound way because I do actually understand and connect with it… or do I just sound like I’m talking crazy right now? In any sense, I wish you all a beautiful weekend and a beautiful life!

Jason

6 thoughts on “All About The 80s

    1. Thank you! You have a good one, too! Are you still-a-Cancer July or are you at the end of the month? I’m on the 19th, so I am Cancer with a TON of Leo qualities mixed in, lol

      1. My birthday is the 10th (Tuesday), so I am most definitely a Cancer! I don’t have the excitement of being on the cusp of Leo, and thus having traits of two signs like you!

  1. You’re amazing, i love Boy George make up as well and in my teens i used to wear clothes and outfits like him. I’m a July Baby too, i’m born on 3 july and i have Scorpio rising sign, no Leo traits..

    1. Haha that is awesome! It seems I hear so much more from women that they dressed like Boy George than from gay men, or straight men, lol. It’s kind of exactly what Boy George was all about! Thank you so much for the kind comments!

Leave a Reply

