Dub On The Track

If you have followed my blog for a while and paid any attention to my monthly music review posts, you must be aware of the fact that one of my very favorite new trends in pop music these days is the onset of a strong dubstep influence in pop. I have been wanting to do a post on this topic for a while now but just wasn’t able to fit it in until now. For those who aren’t familiar with dubstep, it is a brilliant new-ish genre of electronic dance music that has made a very massive impact on the UK music scene and has only recently made it’s way into US music, as well. The dubstep sound originated in South London and is characterized as most often featuring a very dark sound, with heavy, wobbly bass, tightly coiled productions, very strong bass lines, crazy reverberating drum patterns, etc. Dubstep includes elements of drum and bass and UK Garage and 2-Step sounds combined in a way to create a sound all it’s own. The genre traces back to the late 1990s in the UK but has only built up real steam over the past 5 years or so and has become a massive trend in music. As with any new musical genre, it was only a matter of time before it made it’s way into mainstream pop. Some of my favorite pop tracks of recent times have heavily featured elements of dubstep, so I wanted to gather up some of these tracks for you all here on the blog!

Justin Bieber – As Long As You Love Me

Cheryl Cole – Love Killer

Adam Lambert – Cuckoo

Madonna – Gang Bang

Gossip – Involved

Cher Lloyd – Dub On The Track

Alex Clare – Too Close

Britney Spears – Freakshow

Flo Rida – Good Feeling

Britney Spears – Hold It Against Me

Rihanna – G4L

Katy B – Katy On A Mission

Ke$ha – Fuck Him, He’s A DJ

Maroon 5 & Christina Aguilera – Moves Like Jagger

Calvin Harris – Feel So Close


On some of these tracks the dub influence is much more subtle, like on “Moves Like Jagger,” and on some it is the basis for the entire song, like Cher Lloyd’s brilliant “Dub On The Track,” (which is where I took this post’s title from,) but they all feature very key elements of the dubstep sound and I absolutely love every one of these songs. Another thing that I have always found really brilliant about dubstep is the fact that it is something that can be, and has many times been, done by anyone on their own home computer systems, with the right software and skills. This has made for some really amazing dubstep remixes to be put up all over YouTube created by all kinds of regular people from all walks of life. You can find a dubstep remix of pretty much anything on YouTube nowadays, so I wanted to also feature some of these fanmade dubstep remixes of some of my favorite recent songs here, as well!

One Direction – What Makes You Beautiful (Zack’s Dubstep Remix)

Carly Rae Jepsen – Call Me Maybe (Chippy Dubstep Remix)

Emeli Sande – Next To Me (Dirty Dubstep Remix)

Katy Perry – ET (Dubstep Remix)

Scissor Sisters – Shady Love (Gold Top Dubstep Remix)

Lana Del Rey – Video Games (Liam Wald’s Dubstep Remix)

Florence + The Machine – You’ve Got The Love (Revolvr Dubstep Remix)

Adele – Rolling In The Deep (Dubstep Best Remix)

Rihanna – We Found Love (Dubstep Remix)

Kelly Clarkson – What Doesn’t Kill You (Stronger) (Dubstep Remix)

Lady Gaga – Scheiße (DxM Dubstep Remix)

As I mentioned above, the dubstep influence is by far my very favorite trend in pop music at the moment and one that I look forward to hearing more and more in the coming time. I really hope you guys may have picked up something you enjoyed here, as well, because I do feel like dubstep really is a brilliant and innovative new twist to revitalize the sound of pop music today! On a different note, I’m pretty excited about this week at Beausic and can’t wait to share this week’s Friday Feature with you guys! I think it is going to be a really fun one! I know that I say that pretty much every week here lately but this is only because I am actually coming up with ideas that do get me genuinely excited! So, keep an eye out for this week’s Friday Feature! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful week and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

