It’s Not Even My Birthday…

So, it is officially my birthday week! Yes, my birthday is this Thursday, July 19, I am on vacation from work and I have some really exciting things planned for the blog this week! To start it all off, though, I wanted to showcase some music about birthdays! There have been a lot of really great songs written about birthdays over the years, so I wanted to feature some from as far back as the 1950s to as recent as last year! Some of these are among my favorite songs of all-time, as well as some of my favorite songs of the moment all centered around one theme – birthdays! Sure, a couple of these songs aren’t ACTUALLY about birthdays but they had birthday in the title or birthday themes, and they are songs that I just adore so I just had to include them! Check out my selection of birthday songs below!

Lesley Gore – It’s My Party

Loretta Lynn – Happy Birthday

Dolly Parton & Willie Nelson – Happy Happy Birthday, Baby

The Beatles – Birthday

Stevie Wonder – Happy Birthday

The Smiths – Unhappy Birthday

U2 – Happy Birthday 2U

The Roots featuring Patrick Stump – Birthday Girl

Good Charlotte – Like It’s Her Birthday

Destiny’s Child – Birthday

Leighton Meester – Birthday

The Click Five – Happy Birthday

Brooke Hogan featuring Fabolous – Birthday Sex (Remix)

Jeremih – Birthday Sex

Justin Bieber & Usher – Happy Birthday Song

Rihanna – Birthday Cake

So, there you have it! Like I said, some of these songs are long-time favorites of mine, like Lesley Gore’s “It’s My Party,” the quintessential sad but perky birthday song, as well as the quintessential just plain sad birthday song, “Unhappy Birthday” by The Smiths, and one of my very favorite songs of recent years, Leighton Meester’s “Birthday,” and one of my very favorite songs of the moment, Rihanna’s “Birthday Cake.” So, from perky and upbeat innocence of “It’s My Party” to the pure filth of “Birthday Cake,” I feel like I have featured a really varied group of songs here centered on this one theme. So, like I said, I’ve got some really great things planned for the blog this week, (including extra posts!) So, keep an eye out for all of that! In the meantime, I wish you all a beautiful week and a beautiful life!

Jason

3 thoughts on “It’s Not Even My Birthday…

  1. It is close enough to your birthday to count! 🙂 I spend the entire month of July celebrating my birthday, as many times as I can. It is more fun that way…

    1. That is very true! 😛 July is turning out to be a little insane for me this year and I am feeling very “Sixteen Candles” about my birthday here lately, but I’m sure I’ll be over it by the time my birthday comes!

Leave a Reply

