Gwen Stefani No Doubt “Settle Down” Music Video Inspired Makeup Tutorial

Ohmigod you guys, it’s TUESDAY! Why would there be a new Beausic post on a TUESDAY?!!! Well, as I mentioned in the past couple of posts, this is my birthday week and I am on vacation from work and have no funds/no real plans for most of the week, so I decided that, in celebration of my birthday week, I would make posts every day this week! I mean the weekdays, of course, as I am going to Disney this weekend! In any sense, for this week only, we shall call this Tutorial Tuesday! For Tutorial Tuesday I had initially filmed a video for a really cool original look I came up with using the Urban Decay Book of Shadows Volume 4, (which is up on the YouTube Channel already if you just can’t wait,) but then something happened yesterday that changed my plans. What happened, you ask? Well, the World Premiere of the brand new music video from one of my favorite bands of all-time, No Doubt! It is the first No Doubt video and single since “It’s My Life” in 2003. When I watched the video for the first of what must have been about 100 times now, I absolutely fell in love with the song, the video and, perhaps most of all, Gwen Stefani’s look in the video! I love the fact that it kind of nods back to her look in the original No Doubt days but also showcases the high fashion and Harajuku influences she really played up in her solo career. It was the perfect fusion of No Doubt and solo Gwen. The whole video made me really emotional because it was just the perfect visual depiction of the band coming back together! I could gush all day! Instead, I’ll just include the video below, as well as a couple of screenshots that showcase the makeup, as the video moves kind of quickly and erratically.



Before I share the tutorial, I will just say that in my excitement I kind of missed the mark on one main feature of this look – the lips. After I finished the tutorial I looked at the images again and realized that her lips were much darker than mine came out and kind of have more of a red or deeper pink tone than I used. So, if you decide to recreate the look for yourself, keep that in mind! Anyway, let’s get on with the tutorial!




PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Foundation in Natural Beige
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Protector Finishing Powder in Natural Beige
Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in Flushed
Urban Decay Urbanglow Cream Highlight in Moonshine
Sedona Lace Contour & Blush Palette (deep contour shade)
EYES:
Urban Decay Naked Palette Eye Shadows in Sin, Virgin and Naked
Revlon Colorstay Liquid Eye Pen in Black
Hard Candy Concealer Pencil in Light/Pale
Revlon Grow Luscious by FabuLash Mascara in Blackest Black
LIPS:
Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in Flushed & Coral Reef
Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing  Gloss in Raspberry

So, there you have it! Like I said, I am absolutely in love with this song and video and cannot wait for No Doubt’s brand new album, “Push and Shove,” to come out in September! I also can’t wait to share with you guys the rest of the stuff I have planned for the blog for this week! As I kind of spoiled above, tomorrow I do have another tutorial to share with you guys for an elusive original look, because I feel like I just don’t get those out very often, which is kind of a shame. So, you’ll get to see a new one tomorrow! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful Tuesday and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

