Island Life: A Beausic Original Playlist

It’s the first Music Monday of August and I am sure that, by now, you all know what that means – it is time for the Beausic Original Playlist for the month of August! I knew all along that I wanted August to be a really fun, summer-themed playlist because the other two summer months have other elements going on, (like National Gay Pride month or the 4th of July,) which seemed like a better theme to center those month’s playlists around. Plus, August is the last month of Summer and, in my mind, the time when you really want to amp up that summertime feeling before fall settles in. Unfortunately, this year August is kind of the polar opposite of that whole idea. As I have mentioned in several different posts here lately this is turning out to be an incredibly stressful time for me and there is just so much going on, including a move in less than two weeks, that that fun, carefree summertime feeling is pretty much nonexistent.  Still, sometimes when everything starts wearing on me a bit too much and I just need to clear my mind, I will drift off in my mind to a far away place; an island. I have never found the concept of island or tropical travel all that appealing before but for some reason it has become a little bit of an obsession for me lately. I think it may stem from another recent obsession of mine, the absolutely brilliant British reality series, “The Only Way Is Essex,” which is kind of like a combination of the American series “The Hills” and “Jersey Shore,” if that makes any sense. On “The Only Way Is Essex” they frequently talk about vacationing in “Marbs,” their nickname for the Italian municipality of Marbella, which is a very popular vacation destination for the wealthy of northern Europe, as well as Saudi Arabia, The United Arab Emirates and even America. While Marbella isn’t an actual island, it definitely has that tropical environment going on. The island that I find most appealing is one not all that far from Marbella, the isle of Ibiza. I have heard about Ibiza and the electronic music and nightlife that it has become infamous for over the past several years, however more and more lately I just love the idea of it. So, it was with this whole island travel concept in mind that I came up with this month’s playlist. So, with all of that having been said, I present to you all – Island Life: A Beausic Original Playlist.


ISLAND LIFE: A BEAUSIC ORIGINAL PLAYLIST
DOWNLOAD


  1. Janet Jackson – Island Life
  2. Aaliyah – Rock The Boat
  3. Justin Timberlake – Summer Love
  4. New Kids On The Block – Summertime
  5. All Saints – Pure Shores
  6. The Wanted – Chasing The Sun
  7. Kylie Minogue – Rendezvous At Sunset
  8. Melanie C x Jodie Harsh – Sunrise
  9. Cheryl Cole – Under The Sun
  10. Girls Aloud – Long Hot Summer
  11. Selena Gomez & The Scene – Summer’s Not Hot
  12. Stephen Jerzak – Hot Over Summer
  13. Lady Gaga – Summerboy
  14. Ace of Base – Adventures In Paradise
  15. Aqua – Good Morning Sunshine
  16. Toni Braxton – The Heat
  17. Ashlee Simpson – Fall In Love With Me
  18. Matthew Morrison – Summer Rain
  19. Nelly Furtado – Say It Right (Reggae Main Mix)
  20. Shakira – Islands

For this playlist, I kind of took inspiration from several different famous islands around the world, including Ibiza, on tracks like “Chasing The Sun” by the Wanted, “Rendezvous At Sunset” by Kylie Minogue and the brilliant collaboration between Melanie C and DJ Jodie Harsh, “Sunrise.” I also took a lot of inspiration from Jamaica, with several reggae-infused tracks appearing on the playlist, most notably to me the Reggae Main Mix of one of my favorite tracks from Nelly Furtado, “Say It Right,” which I have long felt is actually kind of better than the original version of the song. In general, though, for the overall sound of the playlist, I wanted to showcase the sounds of the islands and their influence on a lot of pop music.

Based on the nature of this playlist and the fact that so much of my time is being devoted to packing and preparing to move at this point, I decided not to do an actual track-by-track commentary for this playlist because, at the end of the day, it’s really all about a bit of fun and escapism from the stresses of every day life. I will mention, though, that my personal favorite tracks on the playlist are the Aaliyah classic, “Rock The Boat,” All Saints’ “Pure Shores,” the Selena Gomez pop gem “Summer’s Not Hot” and the set’s closer, Shakira’s absolutely brilliant cover of The xx’s “Islands.” Still, I absolutely love every song on this playlist and it has really been providing me with the perfect soundtrack for my moments of drifting away to another place. So, I hope you guys can take a little time to escape your stresses and drift off to an island getaway for yourself to this music. I also just wanted to mention that I am CRAZY excited for this week’s Friday Feature. In fact, I kind of hinted at what it will be in this post. Can you guess? While you mull that over, I wish you all a beautiful rest of the week and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

