Summertime Sadness: A Dramatic Summer Makeup Tutorial

Ever since I decided that I wanted to do any “Summer” makeup tutorials, I knew that I wanted to do this look. Well, I didn’t know what this look would be, specifically, but I knew I wanted to do a different kind of Summer makeup tutorial and I knew I wanted to take inspiration from one of my favorite songs from what you all know is still my favorite album of 2012, Lana Del Rey’s “Summertime Sadness” from her album, “Born To Die.” I kept pushing off doing a tutorial for it, though, because I couldn’t quite figure out the specifics of what I wanted the look to be. I knew I wanted it to be something kind of dark and mysterious that really reflected sadness but also incorporated Summer makeup techniques, like using BB Cream or Tinted Moisturizer in place of foundation, going much lighter on brows and lips and making it a really easy to wear and maintain look. It wasn’t until last week, when I received the Meet Matt(e) and Nude ‘Tude palettes from TheBalm, that I actually figured it out. So, check out the tutorial, pics and a full list of products used below!




PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Garnier Skin Renew Miracle Skin Perfector BB Cream in Light/Medium
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Covergirl TruBlend Minerals Loose Powder in Translucent Light
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Ticket to Brazil
Ulta Cheek Color in Girlie

EYES:
TheBalm Meet Matt(e) Eye Shadows in Matt Schilling, Matt Mcdonald and Matt Gallagher
TheBalm Nude ‘Tude Eye Shadows in Sassy, Snobby and Serious
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in Perversion
Revlon Grow Luscious by Fabulash Mascara in Blackest Black

LIPS:
Tarte Vitamin-Infused Lip Gloss in Serenity

So, there you have the look that I have had on my schedule for the past 3 months and kept pushing back! I am really happy with the way that it turned out and really hope you guys enjoy it, as well! I also wanted to mention that this is the last video you guys are going to see with the background you have all surely become so familiar with! By the time the next Work It Wednesday rolls around, and my next video is filmed, I will be moved into a whole new apartment! I am really excited to get the whole moving thing over with, too! It is a TON of hassle and stress! It’s definitely going to be worth it, though! The place I am moving to is a MAJOR upgrade! I can’t wait to show it all off to you guys! What I am considerably less excited about, though, is not having a Friday Feature this week! I hate having to miss out on creating and sharing new content on the blog! It’s worth it in this case, though! Everything is absolutely insane this week and I just can’t imagine where I would fit in creating that new content for you and I don’t really want to half-ass it. So, I won’t be back until next week for Work It Wednesday. I’m excited about next week’s Work It Wednesday, too, because it is the third installment of a new series I started a while back – can you remember what that is? Well, while you try to figure that out, I wish you all a beautiful coming week and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

