Halloween/Costume Makeup Tutorial: Dr. Frank Furter from “Rocky Horror Picture Show”

So, I got a “request” on YouTube, in the comments of my Sharon Needles makeup tutorial, from a YouTube user named BrianaBBarry, stating that Sharon Needles was getting ready to play Frank N. Furter in an upcoming production of “Rocky Horror Picture Show” and she stated that she would like to see my take on the makeup made famous by Tim Curry in the film. I cannot even begin to imagine why I hadn’t thought of doing this myself yet, as “Rocky Horror” is one of my favorite films of all-time and has been a massive influence since I first saw it when I was 8 years old, which I understand is horribly inappropriate for someone at that age. In any sense, check out inspiration images below, along with the tutorial, pics of my take on the look and a full list of products used!






PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Mehron Fantasy FX Performance Makeup in White
Sedona Lace Contour & Blush Palette (white highlight and deep contour)
Tarte for True Blood Eye Shadow in Stake

EYES:
L’oreal HiP Color Truth Cream Eye Liner in Black
Urban Decay Eye Shadow in Blackout
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in Perversion

LIPS:
LA Colors Auto Eye Liner in Black
L’oreal HiP Lipstick in Driven

So, there you have my take on the makeup of Dr. Frank N. Furter from “Rocky Horror Picture Show.” This is also the first in a few different planned Halloween makeup tutorials leading up to Halloween! Halloween is, after all, my very favorite holiday and I am really excited to finally have a YouTube channel so that I can share all kinds of fun Halloween-inspired makeup looks! So, look forward to some of those in the coming weeks! Also, think this look is a bit extreme?! Last night I did something even crazier as a part of this week’s Friday Feature! I can’t wait for you guys to see this look! I can’t wait for you guys to see all of the looks planned for this Friday Feature but there is one in particular that I am really excited about! Keep an eye out for that on Friday! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful rest of the week and a beautiful life!

Jason

5 thoughts on “Halloween/Costume Makeup Tutorial: Dr. Frank Furter from “Rocky Horror Picture Show”

    1. First of all – OMG RUSH OUT AND SEE “ROCKY HORROR PICTURE SHOW!!!” It is AMAZING! It honestly opened up a lot of the world for me in a lot of ways or made me look at things much differently! Also, thanks for the comments on my take on the look – it was a little rough but I’m glad to hear it came out well!

      Also, thank you so much for the “One Lovely Blog” Award! I really really appreciate it and am so glad to know that you are enjoying the blog!

  1. Not bad at all.But there is a hint of grey blue eyeshadow,and the blush is more of a dark purple under the black.I wore it over 20+ year period when I played Frank,it was sometimes hard to tell what colour it was until they digitized the movie.I thought that the lipstick at the beginning was deep purple turns out it is red!LOL Thanks for helping all those that are keeping the show alive.

    1. Thank you so much for this comment! I really appreciate the pointers – you are absolutely right, I realize after the fact, there was definitely somewhat of a plummy undertone to the contouring and some sort of bluish grey tone on the eyes definitely could have amped up the look a lot! I’m glad that the show is still going and whether it’s for Halloween or actual performances I’m glad to know that this video could help people out in transforming into Frank Furter for themselves!

Leave a Reply

