Come Back: A Beausic Original Playlist

It’s time again for my favorite Music Monday of the month – the Beausic Original Playlist! It’s really interesting, though, because while the Beausic Original Playlist is my favorite Music Monday post of the month, I kind of question how much anybody else actually enjoys it. Why do I question this? Well, Mediafire tells you how many times the files you upload are downloaded and, to be frank, it doesn’t seem like any of these playlists actually get downloaded but a few times. Like, most of them never reach double digits. This doesn’t particularly matter to me, except that it does then kind of make the whole thing feel like a bit of a waste of time. Of course, I love putting the playlists together and the whole process of selecting songs, however I love this in large part because I love the concept of sharing the music I love with others. If others aren’t downloading the playlists then they clearly aren’t hearing the music and thus it is all a practice in futility. So, I made a decision – this will be the last Beausic Original Playlist that I am actually making available for download. I figure it’s probably better from a legal standpoint, anyway. I am not, however, going to stop doing them. As the sort of transitional post, I have also included what I will be doing with the Beausic Original Playlist moving forward. I recently discovered this absolutely brilliant tool for discovering and sharing music – Spotify. I know what you must be thinking, “Spotify is old as hell!” This is true. Still, I never actually used it before this past weekend and I have fallen in love with it! I knew that I had to have an option to use it as a tool for the blog, as well, and I tinkered around until I figured it out – an embeddable player! It’s kind of perfect. So, moving forward, the Beausic Original Playlists will come in that form instead. I like this idea because it also makes it so that you guys don’t have to download anything and can just listen to the music immediately. You can just leave the window open and let it play as you go off and do whatever else you may want to do. Of course, if there are some of you who really enjoy the downloadable version and would like for that to remain, please let me know. I am not completely solid on this whole decision and really appreciate any feedback you guys may have to offer!

With all of that having been said, let’s get on to actually talking about this month’s playlist! When I initially decided to make the Beausic Original Playlist a monthly feature on the blog, back in January, I kind of started brainstorming what the themes could be for each month for the rest of the year but the one month I was always really back and forth on – September. When it came time to make an actual decision on the topic, though, it seemed so evident to me. The way that this year has been going in the music industry, as well as in many different facets of my personal life, as well is in the media and such, I have been kind of inundated with one particular concept at this point in time: Comebacks. I had come up with this idea back in January, since September is “back to school” time and such, but as the year has gone and I have seen some of my favorite artists of all-time making major comebacks, like No Doubt, Fiona Apple and Garbage, as well as some pretty massive comebacks taking place in my personal life right now, I just knew that this had to be the theme for this month’s playlist. So, that having been said, let’s get right down to it. I present for your listening pleasure – “Come Back: A Beausic Original Playlist.”


COME BACK: A BEAUSIC ORIGINAL PLAYLIST
DOWNLOAD

  1. Justin Timberlake – Sexyback
  2. Backstreet Boys – Everybody (Backstreet’s Back)
  3. Spice Girls – Right Back At Ya
  4. Kylie Minogue – Aphrodite
  5. Kelly Rowland – Comeback
  6. RuPaul – Back To My Roots
  7. Aqua – Back From Mars
  8. Ashlee Simpson – Coming Back For More
  9. Miley Cyrus – You’ll Always Find Your Way Back Home
  10. Madonna – Back In Business
  11. Christina Aguilera – Here To Stay
  12. Fall Out Boy – The Take Over, The Break’s Over
  13. No Doubt – Settle Down
  14. Fiona Apple – Anything We Want
  15. Jessica Simpson – Back To You
  16. Geri Halliwell – Loving Me Back To Life
  17. Celine Dion – It’s All Coming Back To Me Now
  18. Cher – You Haven’t Seen The Last Of Me
  19. Barbra Streisand – As If We Never Said Goodbye
  20. Whitney Houston – Salute

For the cover art of this playlist, I was kind of struggling to find a creative concept but the more I thought about the whole concept of something making a comeback the more I thought about what goes on before that. I have found so many times in my life that when something or somebody suddenly comes back into your life in a positive way you tend to have this feeling like a missing piece has suddenly been restored; a hole has been filled. This immediately led me to the thought of a puzzle with a missing piece, so I did a little searching for images of missing puzzle pieces and came across this image that I absolutely fell in love with. I felt like it was just the perfect image to express that concept of an empty space being filled with that perfect piece that had been missing.

I also wanted to mention that while I will also continue doing a track-by-track commentary, I figured it would probably make sense to kind of compress it a bit. Essentially, there has probably never been a need to be as wordy about each individual track as I have been in past playlist posts, so I kind of decided that it would be a better idea to be considerably more brief in this commentary. So, let’s get on with it!

1. Justin Timberlake – Sexyback – “Sexyback” has always been that kind of perfect, fun song about a whole attitude and way of life making a comeback. Plus, this was one of a few songs right up front on this playlist that I just had to include for the sheer fun of them!

2. Backstreet Boys – Everybody (Backstreet’s Back) – This is another of those tracks mainly just included for the fun of it, although it is also worth mentioning that Backstreet Boys have managed to make a fairly impressive comeback over the past few years. The other thing worth mentioning is the fact that this song was on their debut album, which makes it kind of silly because they weren’t actually making any type of comeback with this song. Silly pop songwriters!

3. Spice Girls – Right Back At Ya – “Right Back At Ya” was one of my favorite tracks from Spice Girls’ only album without Geri Halliwell, which was definitely their attempt at a comeback after the whole drama/controversy of Geri’s leaving. It didn’t work out for them, which is a bit of a shame because the album was actually brilliant and featured some of their strongest material.

4. Kylie Minogue – Aphrodite – “Aphrodite” is the title track from Kylie’s most recent record. This song is gorgeous and catchy and fun. This track also includes the line, “It’s the truth, it’s a fact, I was gone and now I’m back,” which is kind of funny because Kylie hadn’t really been gone at all at this point in time. Still, it is one of my favorite tracks of Kylie’s recent career.

5. Kelly Rowland – Comeback – I knew that I had to include this song on this playlist because it takes such an interesting and unique approach to the whole concept of a comeback. Basically, this is a song about “putting it down on” somebody so well that they just can’t leave you alone, they will always come back. What can I say? I can relate.

6. RuPaul – Back To My Roots – “Back To My Roots” is less of a song about making a comeback, so much as taking a look back in your own mind. It is just such a fun song about RuPaul looking back on where she came from brilliantly focused on her mother doing hair when she was a child, tying in the concept of a person’s roots as how their life began with the roots of a person’s hair. I just think RuPaul isn’t recognized enough for her clever turn-of-phrase and songwriting abilities.

7. Aqua – Back From Mars – “Back From Mars” is kind of one of Aqua’s more interesting songs, as it is actually making a statement about the state of the music industry, as opposed to just using their silly child-like references to create sexual innuendos, (which, don’t get me wrong, I love.) The whole concept is that the people in the music industry and the celebrities in the world may as well be from Mars, with their ridiculous lifestyles, and the band is basically saying they want to break free from the whole thing.

8. Ashlee Simpson – Coming Back For More – Ashlee Simpson is in desperate need of a comeback, in my opinion. I have always been a very big fan of her music and would love to hear more of it. This song is kind of along the same lines of Kelly Rowland’s “Comeback” in the sense that it is about always being drawn back to one person.

9. Miley Cyrus – You’ll Always Find Your Way Back Home – I wanted to include this song because it is essentially a song about, as the title says, always making your way back to where you started, which is a very sweet concept and kind of a “comeback” concept in a different form.

10. Madonna – Back In Business – “Back In Business” was featured on the soundtrack to Madonna’s film, “Dick Tracy,” in which she played the villain, Breathless Mahoney. This song is essentially about stepping out of retirement or back into the limelight in order to take down somebody who is against you.

11. Christina Aguilera – Here To Stay – This song is a little less about a comeback than it is about a refusal to go away, which I think is just as strong of a message and kind of fits right in with the whole concept. Also, Christina has herself poised to make a pretty major comeback to music this year, which I am really excited about!

12. Fall Out Boy – The Take Over, The Break’s Over – This is one of my favorite songs by one of my favorite disbanded bands. There is a line in this song that particularly sticks out that made it necessary for inclusion here – “Don’t pretend you ever forgot about me.” This song is kind of a quintessential comeback song, in my opinion.

13. No Doubt – Settle Down – The comeback of the year! It couldn’t have not been included. Also, this song is essentially about the band making their comeback and I love the fact that Gwen and the band have that tendency to write such autobiographical songs about things like their concerns over coming back together.

14. Fiona Apple – Anything We Want – The OTHER comeback of the year! I wanted to include this song from Fiona’s new album because it is about making a comeback in a very different way. It is essentially about spending a long time being held back from doing what you want with someone and finally getting to the point where you have some time alone and finally being able to do anything you want.

15. Jessica Simpson – Back To You – I included this song because I wanted something a little softer and sweeter. The chorus of this song is centered around the line, “When I let my mind wander it leads me right back to you,” which is a concept that I love. It actually reminds me of a song that I wrote myself several years ago that included the line, “Do you think about me when you’re not thinking about anything at all?”

16. Geri Halliwell – Loving Me Back To Life – Since I included a Spice Girls song without Geri, I had to include my favorite song of Geri’s solo career. The chorus of this song says it all, “It’s time to let you go, I gotta let  my feelings show, I don’t want to say goodbye I want to thank you for loving me back to life.” It’s much more of an internal, personal comeback.

17. Celine Dion – It’s All Coming Back To Me Now – This song seemed kind of obligatory to this playlist, really. It’s about coming back into a relationship you had in the past and all of those old feelings coming back to you.

18. Cher – You Haven’t Seen The Last Of Me – This song also seemed kind of obligatory. Cher has kind of been the queen of comebacks throughout the course of her career and when she stepped back into the limelight to star in “Burlesque,” this song was the perfect way to capture that moment in time.

19. Barbra Streisand – As If We Never Said Goodbye – This song is from the musical “Sunset Boulevard” and was featured on Barbra’s “Back To Broadway” album. It is one of my favorite songs of all-time about coming back into a place and a relationship and that feeling, as the title says, as if you had never actually left.

20. Whitney Houston – Salute – I felt like I kind of had to end this playlist with the comeback that will unfortunately never happen again. “Salute” is probably my favorite song of Whitney Houston’s career, which was included on her last comeback album, “I Look To You.”

So, I hope you guys all enjoyed this playlist and maybe discover some music you weren’t familiar with before. I also would really love if you guys would give me some feedback or share any thoughts you may have about the whole concept of switching from a downloadable playlist to the Spotify streaming version. Like I said, it’s not an entirely solid decision and if anybody actually downloads the playlists and enjoys taking them on the go or anything I would really hate to take that away – that’s kind of the point, it just doesn’t seem like it’s happening. In any sense, I wish you all a beautiful week ahead and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

