Spotlight: P!nk

It is the last Friday of September and you all must know by now what that means. It’s time for the Spotlight artist for the month of September! Every month I try to really take a look at the artists who are really hot at the moment and who are doing really cool things or releasing new material and such in order to pick out different topics for the blog but the Spotlight artist for the month always has to be all of that and a little bit more. The Spotlight artist can’t just be hot right now, they have to have been hot for a while. Not only do they have to have been hot for a while but they have to have had a variety of styles throughout their career because, after all, it’s going to be really boring for everyone if I do a post where I recreate 5 or 6 or 7 different looks from an artist and they all look basically the same. So, it can be difficult some months to sort out an artist that will make for a really good Spotlight post.

September was not one of those months.

Why, you may ask? Well, it’s simple. P!nk released a new album this month and has been EVERYWHERE promoting the hell out of it! As soon as I heard that P!nk’s new album was being released in September I had pretty well penciled her in as the Spotlight artist for the month because, to be quite frank, there is nobody quite like her. P!nk came crashing onto the music scene back in 2000, amidst a world full of Britney’s and Christina’s and delivered something completely different. Beginning her career as a potential Hip-Hop and R&B diva, P!nk took a complete left turn only a year later and completely re-invented herself in a way that nobody could have seen coming. With this change in direction, P!nk has managed to seal herself a spot as one of the best-selling artists in history, with sales of over 40 million albums and 70 million singles worldwide, as well as having been named Billboard’s number one Pop artist of the 2000-2010 decade. She has won herself 3 Grammys, 2 Brit Awards and countless others and scored 17 Billboard Top 20 hits and yet just had her first Billboard Hot 100 number one debut album this week. Aside from any of that, though, P!nk has always had a really unique and brilliant style in both her music and appearance. It all began with a pop of bright hot pink hair.

CAN’T TAKE ME HOME

P!nk’s debut album, “Can’t Take Me Home” was released on April 4, 2000 and was preceded by the brilliant single, “There You Go,” a really hot, R&B tinged breakup track – it wasn’t anything groundbreaking but it definitely showed promise and was one of my personal favorite songs of that time. “Can’t Take Me Home” was a brilliant and truly unique R&B/Pop album, thanks to P!nk’s unique and brilliant songwriting style, although this was the only album of her career where she didn’t write the majority of the album’s tracks. The album spawned two Top 10 Hits, as well as the mega-huge hit collaboration with Christina Aguilera, Mya and Lil’ Kim, “Lady Marmalade” for the soundtrack to “Moulin Rouge,” sealing P!nk as a bona fide force in the world of Pop music! One of my favorite tracks from this album was it’s second single and biggest hit, “Most Girls,” the video for which can be seen below.

The look I decided to recreate for the “Can’t Take Me Home” album comes from the music video for “Most Girls.” In researching looks from this era in P!nk’s career, I stumbled upon this look from the video that featured P!nk wearing a really gorgeous mid-toned blue eye shadow look with this really bright, electric blue liner and pink lips and cheeks. I just fell in love with this look and knew that I had to recreate it!

PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Neutrogena Healthy Skin Compact Makeup in Natural Beige
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Covergirl Clean Pressed Powder in Natural Beige
Urban Decay Urbanglow Cream  Highlight in Moonshine
Urban Decay Afterglow Glide On Cheek Tint in Quickie

EYES:
Stila Eye Shadow in Mystic
Urban Decay Vice Palette Eye Shadows in Unhinged, Chaos, Anonymous and Echo Beach
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in Perversion
L’oreal Voluminous Extra Volume Collagen Mascara in Black Brown
Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Hazel

LIPS:
Urban Decay Lipstick in Hotpants
Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss in Lilac

MISSUNDAZTOOD

In 2001 P!nk released her sophomore album, “Missundaztood,” which remains one of my absolute favorite albums of all-time. It also remains P!nk’s biggest-selling album to date. This album started a whole new direction in P!nk’s career. “Missundaztood” saw a massive change in her sound, almost completely removing any hints of the R&B sound from her previous record and replacing it with a really strong rock influence, thanks in large part to P!nk’s collaboration on the album with Linda Perry of 4 Non Blondes. This album also featured a number of really intense, introspective and personal lyrics. The album spawned 4 huge hit singles, “Get The Party Started,” “Don’t Let Me Get Me,” (the video for which can be seen below,) “Just Like A Pill” and “Family Portrait.” If there is any individual P!nk album I would recommend over any of the others, it would definitely be “Missundaztood.”

The look I decided to recreate from the “Missundaztood” record comes from the video for “Don’t Let Me Get Me,” and I chose this look particularly because it was one of the few looks I could find from P!nk where she actually wore pink eye shadow. I think it is really brilliant on the part of her styling team that they haven’t had her in really prominent pink makeup that much throughout her career. I also just got my Urban Decay Vice Palette in the mail the day that I did this look and really wanted to use this as an excuse to use the gorgeous bright pink shadow in the palette, called Noise.

PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Covergirl TruBlend Foundation in Natural Beige
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Covergirl TruBlend Minerals Loose Powder in Translucent Light
Sedona Lace Contour & Blush Palette (deep contour & soft pink blush shades)

EYES:
Urban Decay Vice Palette Eye Shadows in Freebird, Noise,  Vice, Black Market, Anonymous and Echo Beach
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in Perversion
L’oreal Voluminous Extra Volume Collagen Mascara in Black Brown
Elf Eyebrow Lifter & Filler Pencil in Ivory/Dark

LIPS:
NYC Lip Liner Pencil in 956A
Urban Decay Lipstick in Sellout

TRY THIS

P!nk’s third album, “Try This,” is her lowest-selling record to date. It still sold quite well but did not sell as well as any of her other records and it’s singles, “Trouble,” “God Is A DJ” and “Last To Know,” did not fare well on radio or in the charts. P!nk also left her label after the release of this record, as she has stated she was very unhappy with their input in the making of “Try This” after the success of “Missundaztood.” She has stated that the entire promotion process for this record felt terrible to her and it was all just a generally dark time in her career. This vibe is definitely reflected on the album as it has a much darker sound than the rest of the music throughout her career. This album’s first single is one of my favorite tracks of P!nk’s career and my old school karaoke staple, “Trouble,” the video for which can be seen below.

In choosing a look for the “Try This” album, I just knew I had to do the look that P!nk wears in the video for “Trouble,” because I just love it with it’s nods to pin-up girl style but with a much more modern rock edge and dark, smokey effect. As far as my recreation of the look goes, well… Okay, so I won’t make you guys say it first, I’ll go ahead: This look is a HOT mess! I woke up late this morning and this was the only look I had left to do for this post. Usually I try to have all my blog looks done early by Wednesday or Thursday so that on Fridays I can just wear whatever kind of makeup I feel like without sticking to the blog theme. This week, however, I wound up getting a couple of looks done on the weekend, so on Monday I felt like I could go ahead and go freestyle and would have plenty of time to catch up during the week. Then I added an extra look to the post and it threw everything out of whack. So, when I woke up at 7am this morning having to be to work by 8am, (I usually wake up somewhere between 5:30am and 6am,) I knew that I had kind of screwed myself. Still, I put my best foot forward and tried to get the look right with the little time I had. It didn’t quite work out. See for yourself…

PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Garnier Skin Renew Miracle Skin Perfector BB Cream in Light/Medium
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Neutrogena SkinClearing Mineral Powder in Soft Beige
Sedona Lace Contour & Blush Palette (deep contour)

EYES:
L’oreal HiP Color Truth Cream Eyeliner in Black
Urban Decay Eye Shadow in Blackout
Rimmel London Soft Kohl Kajal Liner in Pure White
L’oreal Voluminous Extra Volume Collagen Mascara in Black Brown
Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Hazel

LIPS:
Revlon Colorburst Lip Gloss in Fire

I’M NOT DEAD

“I’m Not Dead” was P!nk’s fourth studio album, and first album under LaFace records, and became an international success. The album spawned 7 hit singles internationally, including her two first platinum selling singles in the US, “Who Knew” and “U + Ur Hand.” The album was praised by fans and critics alike and is one of my personal favorite records of her career, as well, and features one of my favorite singles and videos of her career, “Who Knew.” The video for “Who Knew” can be seen below. When this album was released I was actually going through kind of a difficult time in my life and it kind of helped in a lot of ways for me to bounce back, so it has always held a really special place in my heart.

The look I recreated from the “I’m Not Dead” record was one that I have always absolutely adored from the video for “Who Knew.” As soon as I saw this video when it was new I fell in love with it because it is such a gorgeous, deep, warm smokey eye that really reflects the sadness and depth of the song. It just always felt like the absolute perfect makeup look for the video for this song.

PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Calvin Klein Infinite Hydration Moisturizing Foundation in Toasted
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Neutrogena SkinClearing Mineral Powder in Soft Beige
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Ticket to Brazil
Stila Illuminating Finishing Powder in Rose Gold
Physician’s Formula Multi-Colored Blush in Blushing Berry

EYES:
Urban Decay Smoked Eye Shadows in Barlust, Backdoor and Kinky
Urban Decay Eye Shadow in Chopper
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in Perversion
L’oreal Voluminous Extra Volume Collagen Mascara in Black Brown
Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Hazel

LIPS:
MAC Lip Erase in Dim
Tarte Vitamin-Infused Gloss in Serenity

FUNHOUSE

P!nk’s fifth studio album, “Funhouse,” was released in October 2008 and was preceded by her very first Billboard Number 1 single, “So What.” “So What,” the video for which can be seen below, was focused on her separation from her husband, Carey Hart, and even featured him in the video. This song was a massive hit and helped the album become one, as well. The album spawned 7 hit singles, including “Please Don’t Leave Me,” “Glitter In The Air” and “Funhouse.” The album was actually brought back into the Billboard Top 20 after it had fallen off the charts after a breathtaking performance of “Glitter In The Air” on the 2009 Grammy Awards. The lyrics on this record are very personal and focus a lot on her separation from Carey, making it a frequently downbeat album but, in true P!nk fashion, she definitely manages to incorporate a lot of fun into it, like on tracks like “So What” and “Funhouse.”

The look I decided to recreate from the “Funhouse” album is from the video for her smash hit single, “So What.” I felt like this look was the perfect one to capture the “rock star” feel of the song and the album itself. I also really loved the fact that this look is so big and dramatic and really puts all of the emphasis on the tops of the eyes with nothing but liner  on the bottoms. It reminds me a bit of the way eyes are designed in a lot of anime and Japanese art, which I adore!

PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Covergirl TruBlend Foundation in Natural Beige
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Covergirl TruBlend Minerals Loose Powder in Translucent Light
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Ticket to Brazil
Urban Decay Urbanglow Cream Highlight in Moonshine
Stila Convertible Color Dual Lip & Cheek Cream in Gerbera

EYES:
Urban Decay Smoked Eye Shadows in Asphalt, Blackout and Barlust
Tarte for True Blood Eye Shadows in The True Death and The Light
Urban Decay 24/7 Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Liner in Perversion
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in Perversion
L’oreal Voluminous Extra Volume Collagen Mascara in Black Brown
Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Hazel

LIPS:
Stila Convertible Color Dual Lip & Cheek Cream in Gerbera
Revlon Colorburst Lip Gloss in Peony


GREATEST HITS… SO FAR!

In 2010, P!nk released her first greatest hits record, “Greatest Hits… So Far!” It went platinum in the US and peaked at number 5 on the Billboard Hot 100 albums chart. It also gave P!nk another number one single, “Raise Your Glass,” as well as a number two single, “F*ckin’ Perfect,” the video for which can be seen below. P!nk also confirmed at this time that she had reconciled with her husband and was expecting her first child. She gave birth to her daughter, Willow, in June of the following year.

Oftentime in doing a post like this where I am doing a look for each album an artist has released, I wouldn’t really do a look for a greatest hits album but I just had to with this one because I really wanted to recreate the look for the video from “Perfect.” It was one of the first that came to mind when I decided to do a “Spotlight: P!nk” post because I just loved the really warm-toned, gold and copper eye she wore in the video. Unfortunately, I miscalculated the products I used slightly and the orange-coppery tone of the look didn’t really come out as strong in my recreation. It happens sometimes.

PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Garnier Skin Renew Miracle Skin Perfector BB Cream in Light/Medium
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Covergirl Clean Pressed Powder in Natural Beige
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Ticket to Brazil
Ulta Cheek Color in Girlie

EYES:
Urban Decay Vice Palette Eye Shadows in Penny Lane, Echo Beach, Desperation, Black Market and Anonymous
Urban Decay Eye Shadow in Chopper
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in Perversion
L’oreal Voluminous Extra Volume Collagen Mascara in Black Brown
Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Hazel

LIPS:
MAC Lip Erase in Dim
Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss in Lilac

THE TRUTH ABOUT LOVE

Just last week, on September 18, 2012, P!nk released her seventh studio album, “The Truth About Love,” and as I mentioned above, it has debuted at number one on the Billboard Hot 100! This is a big first for P!nk and is long overdue! The album was preceded by the absolutely brilliant 80s-influenced single, “Blow Me (One Last Kiss,)” the video for which can be seen below. The 80s influence on this single definitely marks a theme that is carried throughout the majority of the album. This album also sees P!nk, for the first time in her career since “Lady Marmalade,” working with some really big name collaborators, including Nate Reuss of fun. and The Format, Lily Allen under her married name of Lily Rose Cooper and even Eminem. It is the mark of a whole new era of P!nk’s career and it is off to a really brilliant start!

The look I decided to recreate for this new era in P!nk’s career actually comes from a commercial P!nk did for the album’s exclusive deluxe edition at Target. This ad features one of my favorite tracks from the album, “Try,” and the clip in the commercial is rumored to be a snippet of the songs music video. In this clip, P!nk wears the most amazing (and, might I add, on-trend for Fall 2012,) overstated creative cat eye liner. As soon as I saw this commercial on TV I knew that I wanted to recreate the look. So, below I have included both the commercial and my tutorial for the look!

PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Covergirl Clean Foundation in Natural Beige
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Covergirl Clean Pressed Powder in Buff Beige
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Ticket to Brazil
Stila Illuminating Finishing Powder in Rose Gold
Maybelline Expert Wear Blush in Dusty Rose

EYES:
L’oreal HiP Color Truth Cream Eyeliner in Black
NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk
Smashbox Cream Eyeliner in
Urban Decay Eye Shadow in Blackout
Sugarpill Cosmetics Pressed Eye Shadow in Tako
Rimmel London Soft Kohl Kajal Liner in Pure White
Clinique High Lengths Mascara in Black
Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Hazel

LIPS:
MAC Lip Erase in Dim
Revlon Colorburst Lip Gloss in Peony

Like I said before, P!nk has had a long and brilliant career, full of a wide array of styles musically and visually and I can say pretty confidently that I think this is only the tip of the iceberg! I definitely believe there is much more to come from P!nk and I definitely can’t wait to see what else she has in store! If you haven’t yet, I absolutely recommend heading on over to Spotify and listening to her new album, “The Truth About Love” because it is absolutely brilliant! I can’t recommend it enough! Anyway, I really hope you guys enjoyed this post! I have a lot of really cool things planned for next week that I hope you’ll enjoy, as well! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful weekend and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

