The Revolutionary Costume For Today: A Beausic Original Playlist

It’s time for the first in the new phase of Beausic Original Playlists – the non-downloadable, Spotify embedded playlist. I’m pretty excited about this change after going through the process of putting it all together. At first I was becoming a little frustrated because there were a couple of songs that I felt were essential  to include based on this month’s theme that are for some strange reason not on Spotify, so I was kind of feeling like this may have been a bad plan. As I went on, though, I stumbled upon some songs that I had never heard before that are now some of the strongest tracks on the playlist. I think probably my favorite thing about Spotify, honestly, is the capacity for discovery of new music. There are a few artists included on this playlist who I had never even heard of before whose songs I am absolutely in love with now! So, I really hope you guys can enjoy this new version of the Beausic Original Playlist and have already or will actually download Spotify, because it is just the best streaming music player on the market at the moment and is completely free, or you can sign up with an Unlimited account or a Premium account, (like I have,) in order to listen ad-free and take your playlists and such mobile for only small fees. I definitely recommend at least the free version which I was using for several weeks before upgrading. Anyway, let’s get on to talking about the actual playlist.

For the month of October I knew well ahead of time what my theme would be – my favorite holiday happens to fall in the month of October, Halloween! For as long as I can remember I have always loved Halloween! It’s not even necessarily Halloween itself that I love but anything involving wearing costumes. In fact, I used to think, in a a lot of ways, that every day was kind of like Halloween for me because I would wake up in the morning and paint my face up. As time has gone by, though, I have come to look at it as much more of an extension of myself, although in doing a lot of the looks for the blog, which are not necessarily my personal style or an expression of myself, I do still get to have that feeling of putting on a costume every so often. The whole concept of doing a Halloween-themed playlist seemed a little silly, though, as there is not a whole lot of decent actual Halloween-themed music out there, so I decided to focus in on the concept of wearing a costume because I feel like there are a lot of different facets to that idea. A lot of people in life wear masks without actually putting anything on. A lot of us have those feelings of not being ourselves every so often, which I would say is a form of wearing a different costume. Even when you do yourself all up in your best outfit and are feeling all sexy and ready to strut, it could be seen as a kind of wearing a costume. So, with all of that in mind I present to you – The Revolutionary Costume For Today: A Beausic Original Playlist.


THE REVOLUTIONARY COSTUME FOR TODAY: A BEAUSIC ORIGINAL PLAYLIST

While creating this playlist and gathering up different songs and mulling over the whole concept, my mind kept going back to one thing: Edith “Little Edie” Bouvier Beale. If you are not familiar with her, she was the first cousin of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis and subject of the documentary film “Grey Gardens,” which documented her life in squalor in a dilapidated, dying estate in East Hampton, New York, alongside her mother “Big Edie.” Little Edie was a fascinating woman who was, to be quite frank, kind of insane. There is a scene very early on in the film where she is wearing this absolutely insane get-up with stockings over pants and a skirt that she says can be removed and used as a cape if necessary and some random garment wrapped around her head and she tells the camera, in all seriousness, “This is really the best costume for the day.” That scene kept running through my head as I was putting this playlist together and really kind of became the inspiration for the playlist. So, it only seemed appropriate to use an image of Little Edie as the cover for the playlist. I also included, as the final track on the playlist, a song based on that scene in the film from “Grey Gardens: The Musical.”

As far as the rest of the music on the playlist, I feel like this playlist has a much more serious edge to it than I would have expected it to with the theme. Sure, it still includes really fun tracks by artists you would expect from one of my playlists, like Ashley Tisdale, Nelly Furtado, Rita Ora, Christina Aguilera, Adam Lambert, etc., but there also wound up being a lot more rock and alternative based tracks than I expected, including songs from artists like Sunny Day Real Estate and The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus and even Bruce Springsteen. The common theme throughout the entire playlist, though, is that every song centers on somebody not being their usual selves. On some songs, like “Uneasy” by Rita Ora and “Afraid” by Nelly Furtado, it is about putting on an armor to protect yourself. On some songs, like “Not Myself Tonight” by Christina Aguilera and “Acting Out” by Ashley Tisdale, it is about letting loose and acting in ways that you wouldn’t have expected from yourself. Some of the songs, like “Man of A Thousand Faces” by Regina Spektor and “Brilliant Disguise” by Bruce Springsteen, it is about questioning whether or not the person you are in a relationship with, and in turn yourself, are just playing out a role. Then there are tracks like “Glam” by Christina Aguilera, “Strut” by Adam Lambert and, in a different way, “Magic’s In The Makeup” by No Doubt, where it is about getting yourself all dolled up and feeling like something new and different. One of my favorite inclusions on this playlist is really old favorite from my younger years, “Complicated” by Avril Lavigne, a song about the frustration of dealing with somebody who isn’t being themselves. I also just had to mention two tracks from artists who I had never actually heard of whose tracks are kind of my favorites on the playlist, “Costume Ball” by Gaby V, which is an absolutely brilliant laid back acoustic-based semi-Reggae influenced track and “Costume Party” by Two Door Cinema Club, which took me completely by surprise and that I absolutely love. Definitely check those two out.

I really love the way that this playlist turned out and really hope that you guys check it out for yourself and love it just as much as I do. Like I said, I think it includes a lot of really fun tracks but also a lot of really strongly emotional tracks that give it a really great balance and kind of takes you on a journey when listening from start to finish. I also hope you guys enjoy the new format for the Beausic Original Playlist posts and check out Spotify for yourselves so that you can actually listen to the playlist! As I mentioned in the surprise weekend “Cher Lloyd Tutorial” post, I feel like I’ve got a really fun week planned here at Beausic and I am really excited to share it all with you guys! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful week ahead and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

