Lana Del Rey Makeup Tutorial Redux

So, let me begin by saying Happy Halloween! Now, for the bad news… I had initially planned on doing one final Halloween makeup tutorial today and it was kind of a really MAJOR one! I will tell you guys, since now it isn’t happening, that it was going to be my very first full-blown drag look, a look inspired by the cover of RuPaul’s recent EP “Sexy Drag Queen Remixes.” I set out all of the products I wanted to use for this look and set up the camera and began filming when I realized – I HAVE NO EFFING CLUE HOW TO DO THIS! So, I made a ridiculous mess on my face for a little while when my camera battery died about mid-way through the long and ridiculously awful process, as I was filmed becoming more and more confused by each step that I took, and I took that camera battery death as a sign of my hopes of completing the whole thing successfully dying, as well. So, I will not be posting a final Halloween tutorial. Instead, I bring to you something else that I am really excited about, originally intended as a bonus post for this week. I have had this idea in mind over the past couple of months that I really wanted to re-film a few of my earlier tutorials. If you have been following my blog for a while now, you know that my earlier days on YouTube were a little bit of a dark period… Literally. The lighting was awful! I also feel like my skills as a makeup artist have grown immensely over the course of 2012, as well as my skills as far as creating tutorials, so some of those earlier looks that I was really excited about putting up are now videos that I feel almost embarrassed by due to the low quality of the videos themselves. So, there are only a few that I intend to re-film but I always knew the jumping off point would have to be my Lana Del Rey tutorial! This is one of the tutorials that I have felt the most strongly about re-filming pretty much ever since it went up originally. It just didn’t go very well. To show you guys what I mean, you can check out the original Lana Del Rey tutorial below.

As you can see, it definitely seemed like something that could have been done a whole lot better. Given my love of Lana Del Rey, which you are surely more than familiar with by now if you follow me, well, anywhere, I felt very strongly about getting a proper Lana Del Rey tutorial up on my YouTube channel. So, I took my inspiration for this look from Lana’s recent campaign for popular clothing chain H&M. Check out a couple of inspiration images below!



…and now for my new and much improved Lana Del Rey makeup tutorial!




PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Calvin Klein Infinite Hydration Moisturizing Foundation in Toasted
Clinique Quick Correct Concealer in Moderately Fair
Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Protector Finishing Powder in Natural Beige
Tarte for True Blood Eye Shadows in Dusk and The Light
Maybelline Expert Wear Blush in Dusty Rose

EYES:
TheBalm Nude ‘Tude Eye Shadows in Stand-Offish, Sassy, Seductive, Sultry, Sleek, Snobby and Serious
Urban Decay Smoked Eye Shadow in Kinky
L’oreal Eye Highlighter Pencil in Peach Chrome
Revlon Liquid Eye Pen in Black
Clinique High Impact Mascara in Black
Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Hazel

LIPS:
L’oreal Eye Highlighter Pencil in Peach Chrome
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Lip Liner in Willow
Elf Matte Lip Color in Nearly Nude

Ahhhh, I feel much better about the world now! Honestly, looking back at my earliest tutorials, this is actually the only one that I felt really strongly about re-filming, although there are a couple of others that I may do eventually, (like my very first tutorial, a Graphic Inspired Golden Eye look,) but this was kind of the main one I just had to re-do, partly out of my reverence for Lana Del Rey and partly out of my own vain feelings that I have improved so much at the whole process since then. Either way, I am really happy that I was able to get it done again! I really hope you guys enjoyed it! I also apologize for not coming through with one last really amazing Halloween tutorial! I am already thinking about some of the amazing Halloween looks I could pull off next year, though! I am also really looking forward to sharing with you guys the Friday Feature this week – I am really excited about the way it has come along and think it is a really fun choice for Halloween time! So, get excited for that! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful rest of the week and a beautiful life!

Jason

One thought on “Lana Del Rey Makeup Tutorial Redux

Leave a Reply

