O Canada!

This week was the election here in the United States and, I must say, I am very excited with the results of it! I think it should be fairly obvious to anyone who follows this blog that I am very much a Liberal, although what I haven’t really discussed here is my support for President Obama. I will still refrain because that’s not what this blog is about but what I will say is that I am very excited and pleased that he will have four more years in power here in the U.S. To be quite frank, had Romney/Ryan won this election I was strongly considering packing up and moving to Canada.

O Canada! The Great White North! Throughout my entire life I have always dreamed of visiting Canada, although I never quite understood why in my younger years. As an adult, though, I am very clear on several reasons to want to head north – marriage for all, a successful, working healthcare system, an economy that seems to be recovering from recession much better than that of America, etc. Yes, Canada seems to be doing quite well in the face of adversity. Aside from all of that, Canada also has a booming entertainment industry, which has produced some of my favorite television series of all-time, including one of my favorite television franchises of all-time, the various “Degrassi” series. Canada has also produced some of the greatest musical acts of all-time, which brings us round to the point of this post!

I was thinking recently about the fact that many of my favorite artists of all-time are not American, as anyone who follows this blog regularly must have realized by now, and kind of realized how many of them were actually from Canada. So, it struck me – it would make all too much sense to actually do a post here on Beausic about Candian artists. Once I decided to do this post, though, the task became much more difficult because as I began listing Canadian artists who I loved the list was excessively long. So, I had to narrow it down to the artists who have kind of had the most impact on me personally over the years. Still, I wanted to make honorable mention of some others who I love but didn’t choose to include in this post, like Fefe Dobson, past Beausic Buzz Artist Alexz Johnson, K.D. Lang, Lights, the incomparable Joni Mitchell, who is one of my favorite artists of all-time, Peaches and Tegan and Sara, as well as some amazing male artists who wouldn’t have been included in this post but who I love, like Justin Bieber, Leonard Cohen, David Foster, K’naan, Kyle Riabko and the absolutely amazing Rufus Wainwright. As you can see, there are tons of really brilliant artists who have hailed from Canada and I think I have narrowed it down to a group of the artists who have meant the most to me over the years – some of which I would list among the greatest artists of all-time! So, let’s get right to it!

CELINE DION

Celine Dion is one of my very favorite artists of all-time and, in my opinion, one of the greatest vocalists of our time. She is pretty well in a league all her own in terms of vocalists and has also recorded some of the greatest songs of my lifetime. Hailing from the French-Canadian territory of Charlemagne, Quebec, Celine began her career as a teenager releasing several albums in French before making the move into English-language music with her 1990 album “Unison.” From there she skyrocketed into international success and has gone on to become one of the highest-selling artists in pop music history! In fact, in 2004 she was named the best-selling female artist of all-time with worldwide sales of over 200 million records. Perhaps Celine’s most recognizable song is the theme from what was the highest-grossing film in history for 12 years, “Titanic,” a track called “My Heart Will Go On.” My personal favorite track of Celine’s career, though, is definitely the lead single and title track from her most recent English-Language album, 2007’s “Taking Chances,” the video for which I have included below.

In selecting a look from Celine, I knew I wanted to go with something recent because I definitely feel that Celine has gotten so much more radiant with age, as well as having developed a much stronger style. I especially love the fact that her style of makeup in recent years has become so effervescent and fresh, often wearing a really healthy, glowing skin look with a gorgeous bronzed look, while still maintaining her classic and timeless natural beauty. The particular look I recreated was from the cover of an issue of Vegas Magazine from earlier this year, which I found online and just fell in love with! I just really felt like this look perfectly captured the style that I described above. I also knew as soon as I decided to include Celine in this post that I wanted to film a tutorial for her look, which you can check out below!

PRODUCTS USED:

FACE: 
Calvin Klein Infinite Hydration Moisturizing Foundation in Toasted
Maybelline FitMe Concealer in 15
Covergirl Clean Pressed Powder in Buff Beige
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Ticket To Brazil
Urban Decay Urbanglow Cream Highlight in Wicked
Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Wonder
EYES: 
Maybelline Eye Studio Color Tattoo in Bad To The Bronze
Urban Decay Naked2 Eye Shadows in Chopper, Snakebite, Busted, Blackout and Bootycall
L’oreal Extra Intense Liquid Pencil Liner in Carbon Black
Covergirl Lashblast Fusion Mascara in Very Black
Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Hazel
LIPS:
Covergirl Lip Perfection Lip Liner in Seduce
Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss in Illume

SHANIA TWAIN

Shania Twain is another example of incredible success out of Canada! In fact, she is one of two women featured in this post to have had the highest-selling album of all-time by a female artist, as well as having the highest-selling Country album of all-time. She is also the first, and thus far only, female artist to have had 3 consecutive albums certified Diamond, as well, with sales of over 10 million each. Pretty impressive, right? Shania was born Eileen Edwards in Windsor, Ontario, to very humble beginnings. Still, with her trademark “can-do” spirit, which is evident throughout much of her music, she managed to record a demo and have a showcase held in order to present her music to record executives. It was at this showcase that she caught the attention of Mercury Nashville records, who signed her just a few months later. In 1993 she released her self-titled debut album to very little fanfare. Still, it was this record that caught the attention of the collaborator who would help Shania break through in a very big way, her future husband Mutt Lange. Mutt produced her second record, “The Woman In Me,” which became an immense success and made Shania a household name. This album also remains one of my favorites of all-time. They would produce two more albums together, including the aforementioned highest-selling album of all-time by a female artist and highest-selling Country album of all-time, “Come On Over.” After releasing a greatest hits record in 2004, Shania disappeared from the spotlight for several years… until she was catapulted back into the public eye by a very scandalous divorce from Mutt Lange, involving him having an affair with her best friend. She would later go on to marry the husband of that best friend. Shania has publicly stated many times that after the trauma of this whole episode, she had developed a form of stage fright and was unable to make a return to music. Her journey to overcome this stage fright was showcased in 2011 in an absolutely brilliant docu-series for Oprah Winfrey’s OWN Network called “Why Not? with Shania Twain.” To coincide with the series end, Shania also released her first new single in over 6 years, “Today Is Your Day,” which is one of my favorite songs of her entire career, a video for which I have included below. She also released a book, entitled “From This Moment On,” after one of her most successful singles.

In selecting a look from Shania, I felt like I really wanted to do something that reflected her very natural and effervescent beauty. I also wanted to go with a look that was more recent because I definitely feel that, much like Celine, Shania has gotten even more radiant and stunning with age. So, I decided to recreate the look from the cover of her book, “From This Moment On.” Shots from this same shoot were also used in promotional images for Shania’s concert engagement at the Colosseum at Caesar’s Palace in Las Vegas. Yes, the same Colosseum that was initially built for Celine Dion’s engagement in Las Vegas! I also kind of feel like this is one of the most accurate recreations of a look I have done to date, so I was really happy with it!

PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
MAC Pro Longwear Foundation in NW20
Maybelline FitMe Concealer in 15
Guerlain Meteorites Perles Illuminating Finishing Powder in Teint Dore 03
Revlon Beyond Natural Blush Bronzer in Peach (both blush and bronzer used)

EYES:
Urban Decay Naked2 Eye Shadows in  Foxy, Bootycall, YDK & Busted
Almay Bright Eyes Liner/Highlighter Duo in Black Brown/Ivory (Black Brown side only)
L’oreal Voluminous Extra Collagen Mascara in Black Brown

LIPS: 
Covergirl Lip Perfection Lip Liner in Seduce
Covergirl Lip Perfection Lipstick in Delish
Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss in Illume

SARAH MCLACHLAN

Sarah McLachlan is one of my favorite songwriters of all-time and one of the group of artists I have talked about here on Beausic in the past who I came upon in the mid-1990s and remain some of the biggest influences on my life, (another of that group will be featured a little further down in this post, as well!) In fact, in the mid-1990s, Sarah became quite the trailblazer and champion for female singer-songwriters when she founded the Lillith Fair, a music festival exclusively featuring female artists or female led bands, which was the very first festival of it’s kind. Lillith Fair toured from 1997-1999, as well as a brief reboot in the summer of 2010, and showcased some of the greatest female artists of all-time, ranging from Emmylou Harris to Sheryl Crow to Missy “Misdemeanor” Elliott to even Ke$ha on the 2010 tour! Sarah has also become very well-known for her extensive work with the ASPCA, including the most depressing commercials in the world with images of animals in various stages of death set to probably her most successful song to date, “Angel.” With over 40 million records sold worldwide, Sarah has had a majorly successful career and has given back just as much, both to her fellow artists with the Lillith Fair and her charitable works, which is something I have always respected and loved about her. One of my favorite tracks of Sarah’s career is “Fallen” from her 2003 album, “Afterglow,” the video for which I have included below.

Sarah has never really been known for her look, tending to favor really natural, “no makeup” looks, which was my initial plan for a look from her. Then I stumbled upon these images from the 2012 Juno Awards, which are Canada’s equivalent of the Grammy Awards, where she wore this really fresh-faced, luminous look with a really gorgeous golden/bronze eye look that I immediately knew that I wanted to recreate. Plus, it was a really good excuse to use my Urban Decay Naked Palette, which I would swear is what was used on Sarah for the event, because I have definitely been neglecting it here lately!

PRODUCTS USED:

FACE: 
L’oreal True Match Lumi in W5 Sand Beige
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in Moderately Fair
Covergirl TruBlend Minerals Loose Powder in Translucent Light
Revlon Beyond Natural Blush Bronzer in Peach (Bronzer only)
Physicians Formula Multi-Colored Blush in Blushing Berry
Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Wonder
Stila Illuminating Finishing Powder in Rose Gold

EYES: 
Urban Decay Naked Eye Shadows in Naked, Half Baked, Smog, Hustle,  Creep & Virgin
L’oreal Extra Intense Liquid Pencil Liner in Carbon Black
Covergirl Lashblast Fusion Mascara in Very Black

LIPS:  
L’oreal Endless Lipstick in In The Buff
Clinique Long Last Glosswear in Air Kiss

ALANIS MORISSETTE

Remember before when I mentioned that there was another artist, aside from Sarah McLachlan, who was one of the  group of artists I discovered in the mid-1990s who have remained among the biggest influences on my life? That other is probably the one of that group who has been the single biggest influence on my life and is one of my top 5 favorite artists of all-time – Alanis Morissette. Alanis began her career as a teenager in Ottawa, Ontario where she grew up. She recorded two dance/pop records in 1991 and 1992 and appeared on children’s television series “You Can’t Do That On Television.” She didn’t make her international breakthrough, though, until 1995 when she re-emerged with a much darker, edgier sound and style with her album “Jagged Little Pill,” which is the second highest-selling album of all-time by a female artist, (second to Shania Twain’s “Come On Over,” as well as being the 13th highest-selling album of all-time worldwide and the 16th highest-selling album of all-time in the US. Pretty insane accomplishments, if you ask me! Alanis has released 6 more albums since “Jagged Little Pill,” and while none of them have reached the level of success of “Jagged Little Pill,” they have all been quite successful in their own right and have seen Alanis grow massively as a songwriter, moving on from the angst of “Jagged Little Pill” to a downright joyful, while just as amazing, record like her most recent album, “Havoc & Bright Lights,” which features one of my favorite singles of Alanis’ career, “Guardian,” the video for which can be seen below.

Much like Sarah McLachlan, Alanis is not exactly known for having a wide array of really flashy makeup looks, more often favoring a very natural, subtle makeup look. I knew that for Alanis I wanted to do a look like that. For my Alanis look, I took inspiration from the photo shoot for her album “Havoc & Bright Lights,” which feature Alanis as a kind of creature of nature in the middle of a big, open field. I tried to focus this look on products and the general makeup practices of somebody who doesn’t really focus on makeup – I used a BB cream instead of foundation, a dual lip and cheek cream products and very minimal makeup everywhere else. I really liked the way this look came out, too, aside from the fact that the horrible blemish on my chin, (which is only now seeming to fade away,) is so prominent in the pictures.

PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Garnier Skin Renew Miracle Skin Perfector BB Cream in Light/Medium
Maybelline FitMe Concealer in 15
Covergirl Clean Pressed Powder in Buff Beige
Stila Convertible Color Dual Lip & Cheek Cream in Peony

EYES: 
Urban Decay Smoked Eye Shadows in Kinky, Freestyle, Backdoor & Blackout
L’oreal Extra Intense Liquid Pencil Liner in Carbon Black
Covergirl Lashblast Fusion Mascara in Very Black
Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Hazel

LIPS:
Stila Convertible Color Dual Lip & Cheek Cream in Peony

NELLY FURTADO

Nelly Furtado shot to fame in 2000 with her massively successful debut single, “I’m  Like A Bird,” from her brilliant debut album, “Whoa Nelly!” The album caught the attention of the masses with it’s really eccentric and unique sound, with a range of sonic influences from Spanish to Middle Eastern music and everything in between. It was different from anything that had come before and was particularly fresh and unique to the popular music of the time. This album and it’s follow-up, “Folklore,” were very popular among music critics and awards academies but she didn’t have a bona fide international commercial success until the release of her third studio album, “Loose.” “Loose” was the pop record to end all pop records at the time that it came out and is one of my personal favorite albums of all-time. The album was a very drastic change in sound for Nelly, in which she traded in her quirky and unique influences for a much more polished, urban-influenced sound, while maintaining her quirky and unique songwriting style. The result was a masterpiece, in my personal opinion. She followed up “Loose” with her debut Spanish-language album, “Mi Plan,” and a greatest hits record before releasing her fourth English-language studio album, “The Spirit Indestructible,” earlier in 2012. The title track from this album, the video for which can be seen below, is one of my personal anthems in life at the moment.

I had initially planned on recreating a look from some of the promo images for “The Spirit Indestructible” album, featuring a very neutral eye with winged liner, but then I watched the “Spirit Indestructible” video again and kind of fell in love with the look she wore in the opening scenes of the video. I especially loved it because it was a great excuse to use one of my favorite eye shadows from Urban Decay’s Vice Palette, Blitz, which is a really bright, yellow-gold shade similar to what Nelly wears in the video!

PRODUCTS USED:

FACE: 
L’oreal True Match Lumi in W5 Sand Beige
Maybelline FitMe Concealer in 15
Covergirl Clean Pressed Powder in Buff Beige
Tarte for True Blood Eye Shadow in Dusk
Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Wonder
EYES: 
Urban Decay Vice Eye Shadows in Blitz, Laced, Anonymous and Black Market
L’oreal Extra Intense Liquid Pencil Liner in Carbon Black
Covergirl Lashblast Fusion Mascara in Very Black
Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Hazel
LIPS:
Covergirl Lip Perfection Lip Liner in Seduce
Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss in Grapefruit

 

AVRIL LAVIGNE

Avril Lavigne hails from Napanee, Ontario and broke onto the music scene in a very big way in 2002 with the release of her debut album, “Let Go,” which was a massive international success, spawning 3 number one singles in the US, being certified 4x Platinum and making Avril the youngest artist to chart number one on the UK charts, at just 17 years old. When Avril burst onto the scene, she was noted for delivering an image and sound so different from the pop stars that were so prominent at the time, with her tomboy-ish “skater” style and more rock-influenced sound. Her sophomore album, “Under My Skin,” only furthered Avril’s success and scored her 2 number one singles in the US. Her third record, “The Best Damn Thing,” is my personal favorite album of hers and saw Avril focusing on a much more pop sound and image, while maintaining a bit of her edge in the lyrics and songwriting. This album featured Avril’s sixth US number one single, “Girlfriend.” Most recently, Avril released her fourth studio album, “Goodbye Lullabye,” featuring the hit single and one of my very favorite songs of her career, “What The Hell,” the video for which can be seen below. Avril is now preparing to release her fifth studio album in Spring 2013.

In selecting a look to recreate from Avril Lavigne, I knew I wanted to go with something with a more grungy vibe, as that is the type of look I associate with Avril most often in my mind, even though she has done some really gorgeous, polished looks in the past, as well. Then I remembered the shoot she did for the Australian Edition of FHM Magazine earlier this year and how gorgeous she looked in those images. I loved the fact that the look featured such a blank canvas for the skin with really dark, smudged liner and a red lip that appeared to just be a stain or perhaps a faded lipstick. I thought it would be a really fun look to throw together!

PRODUCTS USED:

FACE: 
Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation in Creamy Natural
Maybelline FitMe Concealer in 15
Covergirl Clean Pressed Powder in Buff Beige
Stila Illuminating Finishing Powder in Rose Gold
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Ticket To Brazil
EYES: 
Stila Illuminating Finishing Powder in Rose Gold
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Ticket To Brazil
L’oreal Extra Intense Liquid Pencil Liner in Carbon Black
Covergirl Lashblast Fusion Mascara in Very Black
LIPS:  
Stila Cherry Crush Lip & Cheek Stain

 

CARLY RAE JEPSEN

Carly Rae Jepsen is one of the newest Canadian sensations to make it big in America and she sure has made it in a very big way, with one of the biggest singles singles of 2012 and one of the highest-selling digital singles of all-time, “Call Me Maybe.” While “Call Me Maybe” was Carly’s first international hit, she is not new to the music industry. Carly hails from Mission, British Columbia, where she grew up and lived her regular life before competing and placing third on “Canadian Idol,” after which she was signed to Fontana/Maple Music, a Canadian-based record label, and released her brilliant debut album, “Tug Of War.” The album was a moderate success within Canada but didn’t garner much attention outside the country. It was a few short years before the release of “Call Me Maybe,” which was initially featured on an EP called “Curiosity,” then on her international debut album, “Kiss,” which is one of my favorite albums of 2012. The album also features her huge summer hit duet with Owl City, “Good Times,” and her equally catchy newest single, “This Kiss,” the video for which can be seen below.

As soon as I saw the video for “This Kiss” I knew that I wanted to recreate her look from the video because it is a much edgier and darker look than we have seen on Carly before and I thought it was a really fun way to wear a really dark look. I also filmed a tutorial for this look, which you can check out below!

PRODUCTS USED:

FACE: 
Covergirl Clean Foundation in Natural Beige
Clinique Quick Corrector Concealer in Moderately Fair
Covergirl Clean Pressed Powder in Buff Beige
Tarte for True Blood Eye Shadow in Dusk
Stila Illuminating Pressed Powder in Rose Gold
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Ticket To Brazil
EYES: 
L’oreal Extra Intense Liquid Pencil Liner in Carbon Black
Urban Decay Smoked Eye Shadows in Blackout, Asphalt, Barlust and Kinky
Tarte for True Blood Eye Shadow in The Light
Covergirl Lashblast Fusion Mascara in Very Black
LIPS:  
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Lip Liner in Berry Red
Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss Duo in Peep/Show (Show side only)

 

Like I said before, I definitely feel like there is a really rich and long history of amazing artists out of Canada and, had the election gone differently and I had needed to, it probably would not have been so bad to have to move there! There seems to be a lot of culture and talent in the country and I would still definitely love to visit! I also wanted to mention that I have some very cool stuff planned here at Beausic next week that I am very excited to share with you guys! So, definitely keep an eye out here at Beausic next week! You might find some really cool surprises if you do! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful weekend and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

