Best New Artists of 2012

I have talked a lot here at Beausic about 2012 having been the Year of the Comeback and about a lot of releases from some of the biggest names in music throughout the year but one thing that I may not have covered as much is the fact that 2012 also kind of laid the groundwork for the future of music in a lot of ways! There were debuts throughout 2012 from artists who I think will quite possibly wind up among the biggest names in music throughout 2013 and beyond! Aside from artists who I have covered plenty here at Beausic, like Lana Del Rey, Carly Rae Jepsen, One Direction, fun. and Frank Ocean, there were a ton of artists who were lesser buzzed about (so far) who made massively impressive debuts in 2012, many of whom you guys may not have even heard yet, so I felt like this would be the perfect platform to share some of my favorites with you guys!

In selecting these artists, I wanted to showcase the very best new artists from a variety of genres, including rap/hip-hop, pop, country/blues and adult contemporary! Each of these artists are ones that made their debut releases in 2012 and whom I have absolutely loved but haven’t featured, at least not extensively, here on Beausic! I absolutely recommend checking them all out because each is amazing in their own ways and I think will be making a major impact in the music industry in the near future.

As a sidenote, I’ve recently come to the decision that I kind of talk too much in these Friday Features and that I should take it down a notch, if you know what I mean. So, basically, I am kind of planning to keep the little “blurbs” about each artist a little shorter than I have in the past because I feel like they have had a tendency in the past to get a little excessively long and much more detailed than they needed to be, so I am just kind of going to hit a number of key points and move on! Let me know if you like that better or if you preferred the lengthier pieces! That having been said, let’s get right to it!

AZEALIA BANKS

Azealia 05
Azealia 01
Azealia Banks has been kind of in the background of the music industry for a few years now but really managed to make her way to the forefront in 2012 with the release of her debut EP “1991” and an absolutely brilliant mixtape called “Fantasea.” She is set to become even bigger in 2013 as she prepares the release of her full-length debut album, “Broke With Expensive Taste,” which will be released on February 12, 2013. Azealia has also been working with some really major artists, as well, including some of my very favorites, like featuring on a brilliant remix of “Blue Jeans” by Lana Del Rey, working with Kanye West and even being featured on two planned tracks on the upcoming mega-release from Lady Gaga, “ARTPOP.” I absolutely cannot wait to see what Azealia is going to do in 2013!

The look I recreated from Azealia Banks is a look that I absolutely adored from the music video for one of the singles from “1991” called “Van Vogue.” The song, and it’s music video, are both absolutely brilliant and I thought Azealia looked absolutely stunning in the video! I also loved that the look featured a really bright gold look combined with black shadows, instead of brown as you usually see done with gold, so I knew I wanted to recreate it and film a tutorial for the look! You can check out the tutorial below! I also used both the Khroma Beauty Kim’s Kardazzle Complete Face Palette and the Khloe’s Kardazzle Complete Face Palette, both of which I am giving away in my very first giveaway, which is open through January 15, 2012! You can check out all the details of that by clicking here!

Azealia CF 02
Azealia CF 06
Azealia CF 04
PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Calvin Klein Infinite Hydration Moisturizing Foundation in Toasted
Boots No. 7 Quick Cover Concealer in Medium
Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 20 Sand
Revlon PhotoReady Pressed Powder in Light/Medium
Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Matte Bronzing Powder in Original Chocolate
Urban Decay Urbanglow Cream Highlight in Wicked
Stila Convertible Color Dual Lip & Cheek Cream in Orchid

EYES:
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Shadow Pencil in Sin
Khroma Beauty Khloe’s Kardazzle Complete Face Palette Eye Shadows (shimmery pale gold, shimmery bronze gold & matte cream color)
Khroma Beauty Khloe’s Kardazzle Complete Face Palette Highlight Powder
Khroma Beauty Kim’s Kardazzle Complete Face Palette Eye Shadows (shimmery gunmetal grey & shimmery black)
Jordana Fabuliner in Black
L’oreal Extra Intense Liquid Pencil Liner in Carbon Black
Physicians Formula Organic Wear Mascara
False Lashes from Ebay

LIPS:
Prestige Lip Liner in Eggplant
Stila Convertible Color Dual Lip & Cheek Cream in Orchid
Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss Duo in Peep/Show (Show side only)

BRIDGIT MENDLER

Bridgit 04
Bridgit 03
Bridgit Mendler rose to fame in 2009 as an actress, appearing in the Lindsay Lohan straight-to-television movie “Labor Pains,” and parlaying her standout performance in that film into a recurring role on the hit Disney Channel Original Series “Wizards of Waverly Place,” and, as often happens with the Disney Channel, moved from that recurring role to a starring role in her own Disney Channel Original Series, “Good Luck Charlie.” She’s also had lead roles in a couple of Disney Channel Original Films, including a “Good Luck Charlie” movie and a musical called “Lemonade Mouth.” It wasn’t until 2012, though, that I actually heard of her when she released her brilliant debut single, “Ready or Not,” from her debut album, “Hello My Name Is…” I am absolutely in love with this album! This album is kind of capitalizing on the success of Carly Rae Jepsen because it is wall-to-wall bubblegum pop, although this album also has a really brilliant mixture of reggae influences in the bubblegum pop sound that is so fresh and unique. I cannot recommend it enough!

The first image I ever saw of Bridgit Mendler was actually her album cover, which I thought was an absolutely beautiful image – it’s just a close up short of her face, with her wild blonde hair with colorful extensions run through it and a nice, neutral eye makeup with a little bit of darkness and edge to it. She had such a fresh-faced, natural, summery look that is one of my favorite kind of makeup looks to wear! The album cover is also the first image featured above and that is the look I have recreated below!

Bridgit CF 01
Bridgit CF 03
Bridgit CF 05
PRODUCTS USED:

FACE: 
Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Foundation in True Beige
Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 20 Sand
Revlon PhotoReady Pressed Powder in Light/Medium
Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Matte Bronzing Powder in Original Chocolate
Tarina Tarantino Dollskin Powder Blush in Carved Rose

EYES: 
Urban Decay Naked2 Eye Shadows in YDK, Tease, Busted, Blackout, Foxy & Verve
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in Zero
Physicians Formula Organic Wear Mascara
Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Hazel

LIPS: 
Revlon Colorburst Lipstick in Petal
Milani Crystal Gloss for Lips in Secret

EMELI SANDE

Emeli 01
Emeli 02
Emeli Sande is another artist who has been working in the music industry for a few years now, featuring on tracks from some of the UK’s biggest rap artists and writing for some of the biggest names in UK pop, including Cher Lloyd, Leona Lewis, Alesha Dixon, Rihanna and even the incomparable Miss Cheryl Cole, but she didn’t actually release her debut album, “Our Version Of Events,” in February 2012. If you saw my “Music Favorites of 2012,” you know that this was one of my very favorite albums of 2012. Apparently, a lot of people felt that way, as it was the Biggest Selling Album of 2012 in the UK. She also made a major splash and gained international attention when she performed both at the opening and closing ceremonies of the 2012 London Olympics!

Emeli has a pretty strong signature look, featuring a really neutral eye with pretty heavy, smudged black liner and very natural, neutral lips and cheeks. Her eye shape is very different from mine, though, so the look comes across a lot differently on my eyes than it does on hers but I still really liked the way it came out! I took my direct inspiration from the images above although, as I said before, it is really kind of the same look that you see Emeli in most frequently! I have been wanting to do an Emeli Sande look for ages now and I am really excited that I have gotten to now!

Emeli CF 04
Emeli CF 05
Emeli CF 02
PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Foundation in True Beige
Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 20 Sand
Revlon PhotoReady Pressed Powder in Light/Medium
Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Matte Bronzing Powder in Original Chocolate
Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Angelic
Tarina Tarantino Dollskin Powder Blush in Candy Cameo

EYES:
Urban Decay Smoked Eye Shadows in Kinky, Barlust & Blackout
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in Zero
Almay Bright Eyes Liner & Highlighter Pencil in Black Brown/Champagne (Champagne end only)
Physicians Formula Organic Wear Mascara

LIPS:
Beautique Lip Liner in Natural
L’oreal Endless Lipstick in In The Buff
Smashbox Limitless Long Wear Lip Gloss in Infinite

IGGY AZALEA

Iggy 02
Iggy 01
Iggy Azalea is an Australian rapper who released her debut mixtape, “Ignorant Art,” in very late 2011 but really gained steam in 2012 with the release of a brilliant second mixtape, “Trapgold,” as well as her debut EP “Glory,” and featured on the hit “Beat Down” by superstar DJ Steve Aoki and Angger Dimas. She was also the first non-American and first female to be featured in XXL Magazine’s “Top 10 Freshmen” issue. She is an absolutely stunning woman, (she is actually signed to Wilhelmina Models,) and has a really fresh and unique sound! I really cannot wait to hear more from her! She is set to release her full-length debut album, “The New Classic,” in Summer 2013.

The look I recreated from Iggy Azalea is taken from the music video for her single “My World,” in which she wore a sort of “graphic” winged liner and really highlighted skin with a really stunning purple lip! I was really excited to do this look and rock a purple lip, which I feel like I don’t do often enough! I didn’t have a purple lipstick to suit this look, so I temporarily broke from my “No Buy” in order to pick up the Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Violet Frenzy, which I think was a really close match for her lip in the video! Check it out below!

Iggy CF 06
Iggy CF 09
Iggy CF 03
PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
L’oreal True Match Lumi Foundation in C3 Creamy Natural
Boots No. 7 Quick Cover Concealer in Medium
Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 20 Sand
Revlon PhotoReady Pressed Powder in Light/Medium
Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Matte Bronzing Powder in Original Chocolate
Urban Decay Urbanglow Cream Highlight in Moonshine

EYES:
NYX Jumbo Eye Shadow Pencil in Milk
Urban Decay Naked Basics Eye Shadows in Walk of Shame, Venus, Naked 2 & Faint
Jordana Fabuliner in Black
Rimmel London Soft Kohl Kajal Eyeliner in Pure White
Physicians Formula Organic Wear Mascara

LIPS:
Prestige Lip Liner in Eggplant
Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Violet Frenzy

ZZ WARD

ZZ 03
ZZ 02
ZZ Ward released her debut EP, “Criminal,” in May 2012 and made a major splash in the music industry with her gorgeous, soulful voice and unique blues-influenced sound. I initially heard her when my very favorite song of hers, “Til The Casket Drops,” was featured in promos for the third season of one of my very favorite television shows, “Pretty Little Liars.” The music video for the song even featured clips from the show, which can be seen below. ZZ released her full-length debut album, also titled, “Til The Casket Drops,” in October 2012 and it has quickly become one of my frequently listened to records of recent months, although it hasn’t been mentioned here at Beausic yet at all – an oversight I knew had to be corrected quickly.

As soon as I saw ZZ’s album cover, I absolutely fell in love with the makeup look she wore, featuring really bold, beautiful large eyes and also featured that combination of gold and black that I mentioned enjoying so much in the Azealia Banks look above. I absolutely loved how dramatic and bold this eye look was while still being made up of really neutral colors. I was also really happy with the way that this look came out and thought it was pretty close to the look from the album cover, which is the first of the images included above.

ZZ CF 06
ZZ CF 03
ZZ CF 05
PRODUCTS USED:

FACE: 
Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Foundation in True Beige
Boots No. 7 Quick Cover Concealer in Medium
Revlon PhotoReady Pressed Powder in Light/Medium
L’oreal Magic Lumi Concealer in Medium
Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Matte Bronzing Powder in Original Chocolate
Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Stellar

EYES: 
Urban Decay Eye Shadow in Honey
Khroma Beauty Khloe’s Kardazzle Complete Face Palette Eye Shadows (matte medium cool-toned brown, matte chocolate brown & matte cream color)
Khroma Beauty Kim’s Kardazzle Complete Face Palette Eye Shadow (shimmery black)
Jordana Fabuliner in Black
L’oreal Extra Intense Liquid Pencil Liner in Carbon Black
Physicians Formula Organic Wear Mascara
Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Hazel

LIPS: 
Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Lip Balm Stain in Charm
Milani Crystal Gloss for Lips in Secret

RITA ORA

Rita Ora 09
Rita Ora 10
Rita Ora had also been a minor presence in the music industry for a few years now, making appearances in music videos from Jay-Z and Drake, as well as featuring on songs by major UK artists Craig David and Tinchy Stryder, and in 2011 she began releasing viral videos of the process of recording her debut album. It wasn’t until 2012, though, that this album, “Ora” was released, and it was one of my most-listened to albums of 2012, as well! The album also managed to debut at number one on the UK Album Charts, as well as spawning 3 UK number one singles, “R.I.P.,” “Hot Right Now,” and “How We Do (Party.)” Rita was also the Buzz Artist here on Beausic for the month of September, (a monthly feature which actually no longer exists, but you’ll hear more about that on Monday!) and is just one of my favorite new artists of 2012.

Rita recently released the music video for the fourth single from “Ora,” one of my favorite tracks of hers, “Shine Ya Light.” I thought the music video was absolutely gorgeous and I loved her look in the video, which is also very similar to the look worn on her album cover and promotional images for the album! I took my direct inspiration, though, from stills from the music video. I also filmed a tutorial for this look but that won’t actually be going up until next Wednesday because it is not just a tutorial but a review for one of my favorite new makeup palettes, the Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette! So, keep an eye out for that on Wednesday next week!

Rita Ora CF 03
Rita Ora CF 02
Rita Ora CF 07
PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Foundation in True Beige
Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 20 Sand
Revlon PhotoReady Pressed Powder in Light/Medium
Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Matte Bronzing Powder in Original Chocolate
Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blushes in Stellar & Angelic

EYES:
Urban Decay Naked Basics Eye Shadows in Venus, Walk of Shame, Naked 2, Faint & Crave
L’oreal Extra Intense Liquid Pencil Liner in Carbon Black
Physicians Formula Organic Wear Mascara

LIPS:
Jordana Easyliner for Lips in Sedona Red

LITTLE MIX

Little Mix 07
Little Mix 03
Aside from Lana Del Rey, of course, my very favorite new artist of 2012 is definitely Little Mix! Little Mix were formed on the 2011 season of the UK series “The X Factor” and were the first group ever to have won the series! They made a major splash in the music industry immediately after their win and really took the UK by storm with the release of their debut album, “DNA,” in November 2012. The album was preceded by the absolutely stunning single, “Wings,” a number one single in the UK, Ireland and Scotland, as well as the album’s title track, “DNA,” which peaked at number three! Little Mix are also poised to take over America in 2013, having announced earlier this week that they had signed to Columbia Records for their US releases, with the intentions of “Wings” being released as their US debut single later in 2013.

My favorite member of Little Mix is Perrie Edwards, who has an absolutely stunning, husky voice and is just absolutely gorgeous! She is also dating Zayn Malik from One Direction and, God knows, I am a sucker for a pop music power couple! I was watching some of their music videos in preparation for this post and absolutely fell in love with the look that she wore in the music video for “Wings.” It is just the most beautiful, fun, girly look with really emphasized, rounded eyes and I knew that I just had to recreate this look! I also knew that I had to film a tutorial for the look, which you can check out below!

Little Mix CF 04
Little Mix CF 09
Little Mix CF 06
PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Foundation in True Beige
Boots No. 7 Quick Cover Concealer in Medium
Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 20 Sand
Revlon PhotoReady Pressed Powder in Light/Medium
Too Faced Sweet Indulgence Bronzer in Exclusive Shade
Too Faced Sweet Indulgence Highlight Powder in Candlelight Glow
Too Faced Sweet Indulgence Blush in La Vie En Rose

EYES:
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Shadow Pencil in Sin
Too Faced Sweet Indulgence Eye Shadows in Honeymoon, Malted Milk Ball, Teddy Bear, Black Sugar & In The Buff
L’oreal Extra Intense Liquid Pencil Liner in Carbon Black
Physicians Formula Organic Wear Mascara

LIPS:
Covergirl Lip Perfection Lip Liner in Seduce
Revlon Lip Butter in Cupcake
Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss Duo in Peep/Show (Peep side only)

So, there you have some of my very favorite new artists of 2012, all of whom I think will be making a pretty major impact in 2013! I really loved every one of the looks for this post and really hope you enjoyed them, as well! Once again, let me know what you guys thought of my sort of less long-winded blurbs about each artist – I think I kind of liked it this way but I would love to know what you guys think! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful weekend and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

