Flop Of The Month Club #1: Vanessa Hudgens “Identified”

With the start of a new year, I have decided to make a few changes to the blog to kind of shake things up a bit and keep them interesting, not only for you guys but for myself. One of the major changes I am making is the removal of another of my monthly features for Music Mondays – not only have the Beausic Original Playlists been removed but now, I have to announce, so have the monthly Buzz Artist posts. I decided to remove the monthly Buzz Artist feature for a few reasons. One, I felt that the format was getting a little stale and, two, I kind of realized that my music-related videos on YouTube have actually been gaining steam and I am developing a handful of subscribers on YouTube specifically for the music-related videos, so I have actually decided to incorporate a new music video for every Music Monday and I just couldn’t quite figure out a way to turn the Buzz Artist posts into a video. So, instead, I decided to create a brand new monthly feature that is on a topic very near and dear to my heart. You see, anybody who follows this blog knows what a passion I have for pop music from how much of it I feature here on the blog. I have featured tons of hugely successful pop music here on the blog over the course of the just-over-one-year that I have been blogging but something that I haven’t featured near as much is the very common phenomenon that is known as the “Flop.”

In music, particularly Pop music, a flop is essentially an album that fails to sell the way it is anticipated to based on past sales from the artist or based on expectations based on the amount of promotion put into, etc. Basically, they are albums considered to be failures for one reason or another. The flop is quite common and, in many cases, well deserved. There are many instances, however, in which this considered failure of an album is not deserved at all. In fact, there have been many absolutely brilliant albums that are among my very favorites that have been considered flops. One of these records is the surprisingly brilliant and just as surprisingly unsuccessful sophomore album from Vanessa Hudgens called “Identified.” This album was released in 2008 and is something that I still listen to quite frequently to this day. So, to hear more about this and kind of see the way that these videos and posts will work in the future, check out the very first installment of the Flop Of The Month Club below!

…and, in case this video managed to convince you to give the album another shot, I have included the full album as a Spotify playlist below.

So, there you have the first installment of our new monthly feature, the Flop Of The Month Club! I really hope you guys enjoyed it! I would say that this was one of my very favorite videos to film and I am really looking forward to filming more like it in the future! If you guys have any thoughts on the album itself, the whole concept of “Flop Of The Month,” or anything else, please feel free to leave them in the comments! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful week ahead and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

