Flop Of The Month Club #2: Jennifer Love Hewitt – “Barenaked”

It’s time for the second installment in my newest monthly feature here at Beausic – the “Flop of the Month Club!” With Valentine’s Day coming a little later this week, I wanted to feature a flopped album that kind of focused on love and would fit into the Valentine’s Day theme. As I thought more and more about it, I kept coming back to one of my long-time favorite albums and one of my favorite albums ever to sing along with. This is also an album that puts a pretty big focus on love, in a lot of different ways. Perhaps the biggest deciding factor for making this album the “Flop of the Month” for February is the fact that the artist behind the album is a bit of a Love icon herself – so much so, in fact, that it is actually her name: Jennifer Love Hewitt! Yes, Jennifer Love Hewitt, the actress  featured in last week’s Friday Feature as one of Hollywood’s most notorious lovers, also tried her hand at a career in music. While she found huge amounts of success in the Asian markets throughout the late 90s, it wasn’t until 2002, with the release of her album “Barenaked,” that she actually took a shot at releasing music in America… and, unfortunately, flopped like crazy! Still, I have always absolutely loved this album, so I wanted to feature it here as the “Flop of the Month” for February. Check out the video below!

As mentioned in the video, I have also included the full album as a Spotify playlist below if you have been convinced to listen to it again and again!

So, there you have the Flop Of The Month Club #2 and I have to say that I am really loving this new feature! Are you? Let me know in the comments, or if you have any suggestions for future flops of the month or any type of feedback on the series! I really appreciate you guys checking it out and I wish you all a beautiful week ahead and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

