Madonna Makeup Series #10: “Ray Of Light” Makeup Tutorial

It’s that magical time of month again, (for the second time this month,) when we add another installment to one of my favorite series that I do here on the blog – The Madonna Makeup series! For the tenth installment of the series, I am featuring a look from one of my favorite periods in Madonna’s career when she released one of my top 3 favorite albums of her career, “Ray of Light!” “Ray of Light” featured some of my very favorite singles of Madonna’s career, including it’s title track, “Frozen,” “Power of Goodbye” and “Nothing Really Matters.” During this period in Madonna’s career, she had a very strong focus on spirituality, being when she first began discussing her study of Kaballah publicly, and that spiritual focus was really reflected in her look at the time. Madonna had a very earthy, natural, sun-kissed glow to her in most of her images from this period and looked more radiant than she ever had before, in my opinion. The look that I decided to recreate from this period in her career is actually from the promotional images for the “Ray of Light” album – these were the images included in the album inlay, as well as serving as the single covers for the album. I loved these images, even having a calendar made up of mostly these images hanging on my wall for years after the calendar had expired! Check out a few inspiration images below!

Ray of Light 03
Ray of Light 02
Ray of Light 01
…and now for the tutorial!

Ray of Light CF 07
Ray of Light CF 03
Ray of Light CF 09
PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
L’oreal True Match Lumi Foundation in C3 Creamy Natural
Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 20 Sand
Guerlain Meteorites Perles Illuminating Finishing Powder in Teint Dore 03
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Ticket to Brazil
Covergirl Cheekers Blush in Sierra Sands
NYX Tango With Bronzing Stix in Tango With Highlighting

EYES:
Urban Decay Naked Eye Shadows in Naked, Buck & Virgin
Rimmel London Scandal’Eyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal in Nude & Brown
Physician’s Formula Organic Wear Mascara

LIPS:
Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Love That Pink
Clinique Superbalm Glosswear in Raspberry

So, there you have the latest installment in my Madonna Makeup series and, I’ve gotta say, I really loved this one! Actually, this weekend when I filmed this tutorial I actually had a family thing  going on where I was seeing a grandparent who I don’t really know and hadn’t seen since I was a kid. I changed the lip in favor of a more neutral color but it turned out to be a perfect look for the occasion – I still had makeup on, which I always feel better with, but it wasn’t done in a way that would be shocking or jarring to an older relative. So, there’s a little sidenote on the wearability of this look! In any sense, I’m really anxious and excited about this month’s Spotlight post, which is coming up on Friday! Definitely keep an eye out for that one because it’s gonna be pretty huge! If you’ve been paying attention to the entertainment media in the month of February, I’m sure it will be easy to guess who this month’s Spotlight artist will be, since she has been EVERYWHERE this month, but I’ll let you keep on guessing for now. While you’re guessing at that, I wish you all a beautiful rest of the week and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

