Spotlight: Beyonce

It’s time again for one of my very favorite posts of each month, the “Spotlight” post! For anyone who may not be familiar the “Spotlight” post is a monthly feature I do here in which I feature several different looks  and music from one artist who has had a long and illustrious career full of  sounds and styles that have evolved over the years. There are few artists who that description fits more than  the artist I have selected for this month’s Spotlight post – Beyonce! I, personally, have had an odd relationship with Beyonce over the years. In the late 1990s when Beyonce first burst onto the scene as the lead vocalist for R&B/Pop mega-group Destiny’s Child I was in love! Destiny’s Child remain one of my favorite girl groups of all-time and actually became one of the biggest selling American girl groups in history, which was helped by a majorly raised profile after the controversy surrounding two members of the group being replaced without their prior knowledge. It also helped that the group had massive hits with singles like “No No No,” “Bills Bills Bills,” “Say My Name,” “Survivor,” “Bootylicious,” “Lose My Breath,” and the list goes on.

Since Beyonce began her solo career, she has risen to even greater heights. Somewhere along the way, I began to feel like there was a level of arrogance to Beyonce’s attitude that I felt weary of, although I have still loved her music every step of the way. I carried this sort of attitude about her and was initially kind of hesitant to even do a Spotlight post on her because I just didn’t feel like I liked her enough to want to showcase her. I knew, though, that she would be an artist others would want to see looks from. It wasn’t until last weekend when I watched her documentary film, “Life Is But A Dream,” that I really developed an understanding of Beyonce’s mind and views on her career and life and have completely changed my mind about her! I highly recommend seeing this film, even if you are not a fan, because it is really a fascinating and beautiful film. So, with all of that having been said, let’s get on with the post!

DANGEROUSLY IN LOVE

Dangerously In Love 02
Dangerously In Love 04
Beyonce released her debut solo album, “Dangerously In Love,” in Summer 2003 and it became a worldwide sensation. This success was helped in no small part by the lead single, “Crazy In Love,” which features her husband, hip-hop mogul Jay-Z. This song has topped many “Greatest Songs of the New Millennium” lists and remains one of her most iconic musical moments. This wasn’t Beyonce’s  first foray into solo work, though, having co-starred  in and contributed the brilliant single “Work It Out” to the soundtrack for “Goldmember,” the third and final film in the Austin Powers film series starring Mike Meyers. The video for “Work It Out” can be seen below. That was really the start of not only Beyonce’s career as an actress but also as a solo artist. I actually saw “Goldmember” on a blind date and let’s just say that the date was as bad as the movie, although the movie at least had a few laughs. “Dangerously In Love” also included hit singles “Baby Boy” featuring Sean Paul and “Me, Myself & I.” It was also around this time that Beyonce appeared on her husband’s brilliant track “’03 Bonnie & Clyde.”

The look I recreated from this period in Beyonce’s career actually comes from the album cover and promo shoot for “Dangerously In Love,” which featured a really beautiful, shimmery neutral eye and a really big focus on highlighting the skin. Clearly, as seen in the images above, there was some digital assistance as far as highlighting, (or perhaps a particularly metallic product was combined with very strong lighting,) which I did not quite achieve with my recreation of the look but I still absolutely loved the way my version came out, even if I didn’t quite get that full metallic sheen on the cheekbones like she had!

Dangerously In Love CF 08
Dangerously In Love CF 02
Dangerously In Love CF 06
PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Foundation in Medium Beige
Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 20 Sand
Guerlain Meteorites Perles Illuminating Finishing Powder in Teint Dore 03
Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Matte Bronzing Powder in Original Chocolate
Urban Decay Urbanglow Cream Highlight in Moonshine
Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Stellar

EYES:
Urban Decay Naked Eye Shadows in Toasted, Hustle, Sidecar & Virgin
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in Zero
Jordana Fabuliner in Black
L’oreal Voluminous Extra Collagen Mascara in Black Brown
Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Hazel

LIPS:
Tarte Vitamin-Infused Lip Gloss in Serenity
Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss in Illume

B’DAY

Bodied 01
Bodied 04
In 2006, after releasing one last studio album and a Greatest Hits with Destiny’s Child, as well as starring in the hugely successful and critically acclaimed film adaptation of the Broadway classic “Dreamgirls,” Beyonce released her sophomore solo album, “B’Day,” which took her already high profile to even greater heights. “B’Day” featured huge hit singles “Deja Vu,” “Ring The Alarm,” “Get Me Bodied,” “Listen” from “Dreamgirls,” and, my personal favorite, “Irreplacable.” This album was absolutely everywhere at the time and just kept on selling and selling. The album was also re-released along with a DVD featuring a music video for every single track on the album. I have featured two of my favorites below. I don’t know about any of you guys but for me and all of my friends at the time this was the soundtrack of life in 2006-2007 and could not be escaped! Once again, I can only speak for myself, but why would anyone want to?

As I mentioned before, Beyonce released music videos for every single track on “B’Day” so I knew I would be recreating a look from one of those videos. It seemed like the most natural choice for me to do the least natural look, from one of my favorite videos of the collection, “Get Me Bodied.” The video was meant to have a futuristic look and, as such, Beyonce wore a “futuristic” makeup look that I really loved, featuring a bold, metallic silver on the lid and an intense winged liner/cut crease combination and glossy pink lips and bright, highlighted skin. I really loved the way that this look came out, using the Tarte for True Blood palette and a few new products I picked up within the past few days, like the Revlon Nearly Naked foundation and the Wet N’ Wild Fergie Center Stage Collection To Reflect Shimmer Palette in Rose Champagne Glow!

Bodied CF 10
Bodied CF 02
Bodied CF 06
PRODUCTS USED:

FACE: 
Revlon Nearly Naked Foundation in Natural Beige
Boots No. 7 Quick Cover Concealer in Medium
L’oreal Magic Lumi Concealer in Medium
Guerlain Meteorites Perles Illuminating Finishing Powder in Teint Dore 03
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Ticket to Brazil
Wet N’ Wild Center Stage collection To Reflect Shimmer Palette in Rose Champagne Glow
Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Fantastic

EYES:
NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk
Tarte for True Blood Eye Shadows in Legend, Immortal, The Light & The True Death
L’oreal Extra Intense Liquid Pencil Liner in Carbon Black
Jordana Fabuliner in Black
L’oreal Voluminous Extra Collagen Mascara in Black

LIPS:
Urban Decay Lipstick in Hotpants
Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss in Grapefruit

I AM… SASHA FIERCE

Video Phone 02
Video Phone 04
For her third studio album Beyonce pulled out all the stops, releasing a double-disc (and split personality) album entitled “I Am… Sasha Fierce.” Beyonce stated that Sasha Fierce is the persona she takes on onstage, her more wild, confident, fierce side, so the “Sasha Fierce” disc features all of the much more sassy, upbeat, “club-banger” tracks, including probably Beyonce’s most iconic singles to date, “Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It,)” while the “I Am” portion of the album features a much softer, more personal, introspective collection of songs, including the album’s first single, “If I Were A Boy.” This album was another massive success for Beyonce and, particularly the “I Am” half of the album, remains some of the strongest material of Beyonce’s career, in my opinion.

While I definitely prefer the “I Am” portion of the album, the look I decided to recreate from this album is from the music video for my favorite track from the “Sasha Fierce” section, “Video Phone,” which was a duet with my very favorite artist of the new millennium, Lady Gaga. In the video, Beyonce wore a lot of really unique, really strong makeup looks in the video but I was immediately drawn to one that featured a really deep purple and black lined lips with a really pale color in the centers of the lips and really bold metallic black and white eyes. Unfortunately, the black I used on the eyes didn’t come off near as dark in photographs as it looked in real life! The lips are really the main focus of the look, anyway, so it still works out!

Video Phone CF 06
Video Phone CF 07
Video Phone CF 09
PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Foundation in True Beige
Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 20 Sand
L’oreal Magic Lumi Concealer in Medium
Guerlain Meteorites Perles Illuminating Finishing Powder in Teint Dore 03
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Ticket to Brazil
Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Stellar

EYES:
Khroma Beauty Kim’s Kardazzle Complete Face Palette Eye Shadows (shimmery white, matte light grey, shimmery gunmetal, shimmery black)
Stila Matte Eye Shadow in Chinois
L’oreal Extra Intense Liquid Pencil Liner in Carbon Black
Physicians Formula Organic Wear Mascara
Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Hazel

LIPS:
Prestige Lip Liner in Eggplant
LA Color Automatic Eyeliner Pencil in Black
NYC Lipstick in 312

TELEPHONE & OTHER COLLABORATIONS

Telephone 09
Telephone 03
Around the same time that Beyonce duetted with Lady Gaga on “Video Phone” for the “I Am… Sasha Fierce” album, she also did a second duet with Lady Gaga for her album, “The Fame Monster,” a massive hit with a massive mini-film as a music video called “Telephone.” “Telephone” was just one in a long list of huge collaborations Beyonce has done throughout her career. Aside from her husband, Jay-Z and Lady Gaga, Beyonce has recorded with some of the biggest names in the business, including Missy Elliott, Kanye West,  both Andre 3000 and Big Boi from Outkast and, perhaps my favorite, Alicia Keys on the brilliant “Put It In A Love Song.” Beyonce has also worked with some of the finest actors in Hollywood on films like “Obsessed,” “Fighting Temptations,” “Cadillac Records,” etc., and has been mostly well-received as an actress, although one would never have guessed that would happen based on her acting debut in the ridiculously bad but hilarious MTV Original Film, “Carmen: A Hip-Hopera.”

Really the only reason for doing a section on Beyonce’s collaborations throughout her career was because I just had to recreate this look from the music video for “Telephone.” In fact, I actually wore this as my Valentine’s Day makeup this year and it was absolutely perfect! The only thing I was less than thrilled with was the fact that the lips came across much more purple than black, in spite of the fact that I actually used a black lipstick, Oil Slick from Urban Decay. What’s worse, though, is that I found a really strong, pigmented, amazing black lipstick since then,  from the Wet N’ Wild Fergie Center Stage Collection.

Telephone CF 03
Telephone CF 04
Telephone CF 11


PRODUCTS USED:
FACE:
Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Foundation in True Beige
Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 20 Sand
Revlon PhotoReady Pressed Powder in Light/Medium
Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Angelic
Urban Decay Afterglow Powder Blush in Score
EYES:
Stila Matte Eye Shadows in Chinois, Champara, Illimani & Nanda Devi
Stila Smudge Stick  Waterproof Eye Liner in Koi
Jordana Fabuliner in Black
L’oreal Voluminous Extra Collagen Mascara in Black Brown
LIPS:
Prestige Lip Liner in Eggplant
Urban Decay Lipstick in Oil Slick4Run 07
Run 02
Beyonce’s fourth album marked a huge turning point for her both personally and creatively. As documented in the aforementioned documentary film, “Life Is But A Dream,” it was during this time that she fired her father as her manager and, as she put it, “sacrificed her relationship” with him in order to take control of her own career. It was also during the recording of this album that she became pregnant with her first child, Blue Ivy Carter. These elements surely contributed to what has to be, in my opinion, her strongest work yet. The album, “4,” is an absolute masterpiece, as far as I am concerned, featuring tracks heavily influenced by old school R&B, soul and Motown sounds in a really unique, fresh and modern way. The album was preceded by the brilliant single “Run The World (Girls,)” and also features my very favorite song of Beyonce’s entire career, “The Best Thing I Never Had,” as well as another of my very favorites, “Love On Top,” and “Countdown,” “1 + 1,” and a plethora of other amazing songs. Like I said, I think this is the strongest collection of music she has released yet and I highly recommend checking it out if you haven’t yet!
The music video for “Run The World (Girls)” is one of my very favorite visuals in Beyonce’s history of really strong visuals – it was  simultaneously glamorous and edgy, soft and sultry, elegant  and kind of messy, all of which perfectly suited the dystopian world created in the video. I loved the combination of very deep bronze and black shades with a really nude cheeks and lips, as well! I also loved the opportunity to create a really strong, dramatic look using the Naked 2 Palette!Run CF 01
Run CF 09
Run CF 07

PRODUCTS USED:
FACE: 
Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Foundation in True Beige
Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 20 Sand
Revlon PhotoReady Pressed Powder in Light/Medium
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Ticket to Brazil
Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Wonder
EYES: 
Urban Decay Naked 2 Eye Shadows in Foxy, Snakebite, Busted & Blackout
L’oreal Extra Intense Liquid Pencil Liner in Carbon Black
L’oreal Voluminous Extra Collagen Mascara in Black Brown
LIPS:
Wet N’ Wild Center Stage Collection Mega Last Lip Color in Fergie Daily
Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss in Illume

THE MRS. CARTER SHOW

Super Bowl 14
Grammys 06
After remaining relatively low-key throughout 2012, Beyonce started 2013 with a bigger bang than we’ve seen in a while! First there was the release of a new single from Destiny’s Child, as well as the announcement of Beyonce as the halftime show for Super Bowl XLVII, then she took home a Grammy Award, premiered her documentary film on HBO and announced a World Tour, The Mrs. Carter Show tour. This is all within not even 2 full months of the year! Clearly, she is pretty intent on making 2013 the year of Beyonce! I’m ready for it! …are you?

As mentioned before, in the past month Beyonce has been everywhere and, as usual, she has been looking amazing through it all! So, it seemed all too appropriate to pick out a look from her this past month to do a tutorial for. Thing is, though, that there were two almost completely opposite looks I couldn’t decide between – one really simple, classy, elegant look from The Grammy Awards and one more sultry, dark, Sasha Fierce look from the Super Bowl. Given the duality of Beyonce and her music and style, it just made sense to me to do both! So, check out my two Beyonce tutorials below! Which style do you prefer?

Super Bowl  CF 08
Super Bowl  CF 04
Super Bowl  CF 10
PRODUCTS USED: 

FACE:
Revlon Nearly Naked Foundation in Natural Beige
Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 20
Guerlain Meteorites Perles Illuminating Finishing Powder in Teint Dore 03
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzers in Ticket to Brazil & Reserve Your Cabana
Tarina Tarantino Dollskin Powder Blush in Carved Rose

EYES:
TheBalm Nude ‘Tude Eye Shadows in Sultry, Seductive & Sophisticated
Christian Siriano for VS Makeup Eye Shadow in Gilded Fierce
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Reserve Your Cabana
Urban Decay Heavy Metal Glitter Liner in Midnight Cowboy
L’oreal Extra Intense Liquid Pencil Liner in Carbon Black
L’oreal Voluminous Extra Collagen Mascara in Black Brown

LIPS:
NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Milan
Milani Crystal Gloss for Lips in Baby Love

Grammys CF 09
Grammys CF 08
Grammys CF 07

PRODUCTS USED:
FACE:
Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Foundation in Medium Beige
Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 20 Sand
Guerlain Meteorites Perles Illuminating Finishing Powder in Teint Dore 03
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Ticket To Brazil
Urban Decay Urbanglow Cream Highlight in Moonshine
Stila Convertible Color Dual Lip & Cheek Cream in Orchid
EYES:
Tarte Amazonian Clay Eye Shadows in Matte Coffee Bean & Shimmering Buff
Smashbox Eye Shadow Quad in Entice (Shimmering Beige & Shimmering Slate Grey shades)
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Ticket To Brazil
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Shimmer Eye Pencil in Black
Rimmel London Scandal’Eyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal in Brown
Clinique Bottom Lash Mascara
Physicians Formula Organic Wear Mascara
NYX Fabulous Lashes in EL131
LIPS:
Jordana Easyliner for Lips in Sedona Red
Urban Decay Lipstick in Gash

I have to admit to you guys that I feel like this may be my very favorite “Spotlight” post yet here on Beausic! I think the reason I feel so strongly about this post is that, as mentioned before, I was very hesitant to do this post at all due to my not caring all that much for Beyonce but after spending the week doing this post, I can honestly say that I have pretty much completely changed my mind about her and am really excited to see what she does next! I actually have a much greater respect for her than I ever had before and I just think that is such a powerful thing. I hope that reading this post can make some sort of impact on you guys as much as creating it has on me! Also, in listening to Beyonce’s music over the past week, one of her songs actually wound up as the inspiration for next week’s Friday Feature, which I am pretty excited about! It’s not necessarily inspired by Beyonce herself in any way but one of her songs really stood out to me and inspired a whole new post of it’s own! So, while you wounder which song it is, I wish you all a beautiful weekend and a beautiful life!

Jason

One thought on “Spotlight: Beyonce

  1. Ok, no more stiffness, no more stiffness, no more hiccups on the Body by Vi shake 200 calories Snack:
    3 oz. Cookie 7 Dieting Sins is a safe and sound or
    a powerful treatment for chubbiness. However, through careful testing, a DISCOVERY has been made about the
    human body also has the remarkable ability to heal itself.

    And it didn’t cause me to slide backwards at all.

Leave a Reply

