Divas Are Forever

You all know how much I love my young, fresh, up-and-coming pop stars, (since I post about them so frequently here,) many of whom I believe are laying the groundwork for the musical landscape of the future and are just at the beginning of careers that could span a lifetime. There are just some women who are meant to transcend time, whose beauty and talents can be as relevant 30, 40 or even 50 years after their initial rise to stardom. I know this to be true because it’s been done before. There have been women in the past, like Cher and Madonna, who are still working today and remain as relevant, current and, of course, beautiful as when their careers began. Some would call them divas. I recently saw two films starring women who fall into that category and was so inspired by how stunning and vital they still are that I just had to do a post about them!
Bette Midler in the 1993 version of the film "Gypsy:
Bette Midler in the 1993 version of the film “Gypsy:
Bette Midler in the 2012 film "Parental Guidance"
Bette Midler in the 2012 film “Parental Guidance”
Bette Midler has been an inspiration to me for pretty much as long as I can remember. My first recollection of her is, of course, the absolutely brilliant tearjerker, “Beaches,” which I can remember watching as a child and adoring all of the musical numbers. That soundtrack is still on my iPod today. Beginning her career in 1965, Bette¬†has been nominated for two¬†Oscars,¬†and won three¬†Grammies,¬†four¬†Golden Globes,¬†three¬†Emmys¬†and even a special Tony Award!¬†She has sold over 30 million albums worldwide. Most recently, she starred alongside Billy Crystal and Marisa Tomei in the film “Parental Guidance,” which was surprisingly great. As I watched this film recently, I couldn’t help but notice how amazing Bette looked! She looks every bit as beautiful as she did in one of the last major films she did, and my personal favorite of her career, “The First Wives Club,” which was 17 years ago!
As mentioned previously, when I saw “Parental Guidance,” my mind was blown at how amazing Bette looked in this film and it really got me thinking about beauty for more mature skin. I’d never really given it much thought before, as I have always thought, “We’ll, I’m still young, I don’t have to worry about that yet!” However, seeing Bette looking so amazing really got me thinking about it, as well as the fact that I know that I have a decent number of viewers on my YouTube channel who are older than I am, I decided to do a little bit of research on the topic and, using the information I found, decided to put together a tutorial sharing some of those tips, as well as recreating Bette’s look from the film! Check out the tutorial below!
PRODUCTS USED: 
FACE:
L’oreal True Match Lumi Foundation in C3 Creamy Natural
Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Concealer in Medium
Coty Airspun Loose Powder in Translucent
MAC Powder Blush in Mocha
EYES:
Too Faced Matte Eye Palette Eye Shadows in Tufted Suede, Fresh Linen, Vintage Violet & Chinchilla
Revlon Grow Luscious Lashliner in Espresso
Jordana Fabuliner in Black
Maybelline Volum’Express The Rocket Mascara
Elf Wet Gloss Lash & Brow Clear Mascara
LIPS:
MAC Lip Liner in Subculture
Rimmel London By Kate Lipstick in 17
Barbra Streisand in the 1968 film "Funny Girl"
Barbra Streisand in the 1968 film “Funny Girl”
Barbra Streisand in the 2012 film "Guilt Trip"
Barbra Streisand in the 2012 film “Guilt Trip”
Everybody knows that my favorite singer is Madonna. Everybody knows that my favorite newer singers are Lady Gaga and Lana Del Rey. What I haven’t talked about as much is a woman in a category all her own – the incredible, incomparable, all-around amazing Barbra Streisand! I wouldn’t even know where to begin to describe my love for Barbra Streisand. My mother loves her and her mother loved her, as well, so it’s kind of been passed down over generations. Barbra has a voice that simply cannot be matched and a career spanning 7 decades.¬†She has won two¬†two Oscars,¬†eight¬†Grammys,¬†five Emmys,¬†a¬†special Tony Award, an¬†American Film Institute award, a¬†Kennedy Center Honors award,¬†¬†a¬†Peabody¬†and is one of the few entertainers to have achieved an EGOT, (Emmy, Grammy, Oscar and Tony.) She released a brilliant new album last year, as well as starring in the brilliant film “Guilt Trip,” alongside Seth Rogen. Aside from all of this, though, Barbra serves as one of the most iconic and influential entertainers of all-time!
What is coming next is, undoubtedly, the tutorial of a lifetime for me – it is a look that I have loved for years and have always wanted to recreate but have been hesitant because I wanted to be sure I could do it justice. This is, of course, Barbra as Fanny Brice in my very favorite film of all-time, “Funny Girl.” If you have not seen “Funny Girl,” there is simply no other film I would recommend more – it is breathtaking! The music is some of the most incredible you will hear in your lifetime, in my personal opinion, and the story is epic and heartbreaking and shot straight through with that classic Streisand charm – it is everything a Barbra Streisand movie should be, and so much more! The look I’ve recreated comes from the film’s opening scene, with the infamous “Hello, gorgeous!” line, and featured Barbra’s signature of the time, a far cut crease and very straight winged liner! Check out the tutorial below!
PRODUCTS USED: 
FACE:
Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Foundation in Medium Beige
Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 20 Sand
Revlon Nearly Naked Pressed Powder in Light
Chanel Powder Blush in Mocha
Benefit High Beam
EYES:
Stila Matte Eye Shadows in Chinois, Champara and Nanda Devi
Maybelline Master Drama Eye Liner in Midnight Master
Jordana Fabuliner in Black
Maybelline Volum’Express The Rocket Mascara
LIPS:
MAC Lip Liner in Stripdown
Covergirl Lip Perfection Lipstick in Delish

Like I mentioned before, while I am a huge fan of the up-and-coming pop divas of today, I don’t know that I would be able to really appreciate them without a knowledge and respect for the classics who paved the way for artists today and for many years to come! I also am so excited and humbled to have finally been able to recreate the look from “Funny Girl,” as it just holds so much meaning and so many memories for me! I really hope you guys enjoyed this post as much as I enjoyed creating it! I also hope you guys will be keeping an eye out on the blog next week, as I have some really cool stuff planned! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful weeken and a beautiful life!
Jason
2 thoughts on “Divas Are Forever

    1. Thank you so much!!! Like I said, “Funny Girl” is my favorite film of all-time and, while I was really excited to do a tutorial for it, it made me really nervous because I REALLY didn’t want to screw it up! So, it really means a lot to hear that you think I got it right!

Leave a Reply

