Chart-Topping Hits, Showstopping Looks 3

I cannot tell you how long I have been waiting to do another post like this! If you guys have followed my blog for a while now, you surely remember two of my very favorite posts I have done here, Chart-Topping Hits, Showstopping Looks and Chart-Topping Hits, Showstopping Looks 2. The basic concept of these posts was creating looks based on the lyrics of current hit singles. I absolutely loved doing these posts because it gave me an opportunity to do something really fresh and creative and, as opposed to recreating looks from the artists who create the music I love, it actually allowed me to use the music itself as inspiration for the looks! Ever since doing the previous two posts like this, I have really been itching to do another one, I simply hadn’t gotten around to it as of yet and hadn’t found current music that really inspired me to do it. That all changed recently, though, when two current singles really began kind of haunting me! These are two of my very favorite songs of the moment, as well as two of my favorite singles of 2013 so far, and as I kept listening to them I came to realize how much they could both lend themselves to a look. Thus, this post was born! So, let’s get right to it!

Justin Timberlake’s newest single from “The 20/20 Experience” is also my very favorite track on that record. “Mirrors” is a beautiful love song with hints of sorrow and desperation that really spoke to me in a major way. Clearly, the largest reference in the song, of course, is the title – Mirrors, which I used a bright, reflective silver for, as well as references to light and, of course, the heart, which inspired me to work a good deal of red into the look! For this look, I mainly used the Tarte for True Blood palette, which just seemed to have all of the perfect colors in the perfect finishes for this look! I really loved the way it came out, although I will say that this one was a lot less literal than some of the looks I have done for the previous “Chart-Topping Hits…” posts. Check out the tutorial below!

Mirrors CF 08
Mirrors CF 04
Mirrors CF 06

PRODUCTS USED:
FACE:
Garnier Miracle Skin Perfector BB Cream in Light/Medium
Elf Under Eye Concealer & Highlighter in Light/Glow
Elf High Definition Powder
Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Matte Bronzing Powder in Original Chocolate
Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Stellar
EYES:
Tarte for True Blood Eye Shadows in The True Death, V, Stake, The Light &
Maybelline Master Drama Eye Liner in Midnight Master
Maybelline Volum’Express The Rocket Mascara
Elf Wet Gloss Lash & Brow Clear Mascara
LIPS:
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Lip Liner in Berry Red
Wet N’ Wild Center Stage Collection Lipstick in Old School Glam

As you all surely know by now, Lana Del Rey is kind of my favorite. I actually featured a tutorial for a look inspired by her single “Ride” in Chart-Topping Hits 2, which has gone on to become the most viewed tutorial on my YouTube Channel, which I am extremely proud of. It seemed obvious to me to do another look inspired by Lana’s lyrics, not simply based on the popularity of the previous one but based on the fact that, aside from Lady Gaga, there has been no other artist in recent years that has inspired me as much as Lana Del Rey. Her newest single, “Young & Beautiful” comes from the soundtrack to the film “The Great Gatsby,” and not only captures the essence of the story of Gatsby beautifully but also really captures the essence of Lana perfectly. I cannot get enough of this song – it is one of my very favorite songs Lana has done so far, which says a lot because I have loved everything I have heard from her up to this point! The lyrics to this song paint a beautiful picture of youthful, wild Summer nights, feeling on top of the world and falling in love. The lyrics lend themselves so perfectly to a look that it almost seemed like a ridiculous idea not to do one! Check out the tutorial below!

Y&B CF 01
Y&B CF 03
Y&B CF 02

PRODUCTS USED:
FACE:
L’oreal True Match Lumi Foundation in C3 Creamy Natural
Revlon Colorstay Blemish Concealer in Light Medium
Covergirl & Olay Simply Ageless Concealers in Corrector & Light Medium
Revlon Nearly Naked Pressed Powder in Light
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Ticket to Brazil
Benefit Sugarbomb Blush
EYES:
TheBalm Nude ‘Tude Palette Eye Shadows in Snobby, Sexy & Sassy
Victoria’s Secret Eye Shadow in Golded Fierce
Rimmel London Soft Kohl Kajal in Pure White
Jordana Fabuliner in Black
Covergirl Clump Crusher Mascara in Very Black
LIPS:
Milani Crystal Gloss for Lips in Hush

Like I said before, I was really excited to get to create another post like this and take inspiration from two of my very favorite songs in the world at the moment. I loved doing this post, so I also really hope you guys enjoyed it, as well! I’m sure I will be popping up with these posts every so often for as long as I continue beauty blogging, so keep an eye out for more in the future! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful weekend and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

