Singer-Songwriters From Across The Globe

While you all know that I have been putting kind of an emphasis on Country music this Summer, it’s not the only music I have been listening to. You all know that I have been listening to a lot of Pop because I always do and it’s pretty well my favorite genre of music, however probably my second favorite genre is the female singer-songwriter style – that music that was frequently labelled as Alternative in the 90s because there just wasn’t any other category to fit it into. There are still a lot of artists out there that I listen to who fall into that category and this week I wanted to showcase a couple of those artists here today! These artists both come from other countries and have created some of my favorite music of Summer 2013, and of recent years!
When I was younger I considered myself more than anything else to be a songwriter. I still do write lyrics every so often but not near as much as I used to. Still, a really strong songwriter is one of the most inspiring things in the world to me and something I appreciate more than most other qualities in an artist. The two artists I am featuring in this post have that quality in spades! So, let’s get right into it!
Lenka is an Australian singer-songwriter who I have been a really big fan of for a few years now, since the release of her self-titled debut solo album featuring the brilliant single, “The Show.” Lenka had been working in the entertainment industry for several years before this, though. She started her career as an actress in the 1990s, starring in an ABC Australia series, as well as doing guest spots on several Aussie TV shows. In 2001 she made the transition into music as lead singer for the electronic-rock band Decoder Ring until she left in 2007 to pursue a career as a solo artist. Since “The Show” and her self-titled debut, Lenka has released her absolutely brilliant sophomore album, “Two,” and just last month released her third record, “Shadows,” featuring the lead single, “Heart to the Party.”
[youtube http://youtu.be/Ftiq2Kg3UmQ]
I stumbled upon these pics of Lenka that I thought were just stunning and featured a really beautiful, unique makeup look with really lightweight, natural looking skin and a really bold blue eyeliner look! As soon as I saw these images, I just knew I wanted to do a tutorial for it because it just seemed like a perfect Summer look! Check out the tutorial below!
[youtube http://youtu.be/f5cALkqjtKY]

PRODUCTS USED:
FACE:
L’oreal Magic Skin Beautifier BB Cream in Light
Revlon Colorstay Blemish Concealer in Light/Medium
Covergirl & Olay Simply Ageless Concealer in Corrector & Light/Medium
Revlon Nearly Naked Pressed Powder in Light
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Ticket to Brazil
Stila Convertible Color in Lily
EYES:
Stila Make An Impression in Moscow Travel Palette Eye Shadows in Matryoshka & Chill
Stila Illuminating Finishing Powder in Rose Gold
Rimmel Waterproof Kohl Kajal in Pale Blue
Wet N’ Wild Color Icon Shimmer Eye Pencil in Silver
Jordana Fabuliner in Black
Covergirl Clump Crusher Mascara
Jordana Fabubrow Eyebrow Pencil in Taupe
LIPS:
NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Antwerp
Revlon Colorburst Lipstick in Petal
Once again, I know that you all have heard about this a lot recently but I actually went to see the next artist I am featuring here in concert last week! Yes, I am talking about Emeli Sande! I couldn’t talk about her so much without featuring her here, as well! The reason I was so excited to see her in concert is because she has been one of my very favorite new artists to emerge in recent years! Her debut album, “Our Version of Events,” was one of my Top 10 favorite albums of 2012 and has been one of the albums of recent years that has meant the most to me. Emeli has such a brilliant way of writing songs that is always captivating and beautiful, heart-wrenching and uplifting and always absolutely inspirational. I simply cannot say enough great things about this album and I am so excited to see it becoming so successful here in the US, as well! If you have not heard this record yet, I couldn’t possibly recommend it more!
[youtube http://youtu.be/-nwdjQmc_N8]
Another reason that I felt so strongly about featuring Emeli here in this post is because I have considered doing a tutorial for her look for a really long time and simply hadn’t as of yet. Emeli has such a beautiful, unique and sophisticated look that I just knew I had to recreate. I recently picked up in a blog sale the Charlotte Ronson All Eye Need eyeshadow quad in Drea, which featured the absolute perfect shades for Emeli’s look, so it worked out doubly perfectly! Check out the tutorial below!
[youtube http://youtu.be/sdUASEkXUaw]
PRODUCTS USED:
FACE:
Estée Lauder Double Wear Foundation in Linen
Covergirl & Olay Simply Ageless Concealer in Corrector
Milani HD Advanced Concealer in 01
Revlon Nearly Naked Pressed Powder in Light
Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer in Original Chocolate
Benefit Dandelion Blush
EYES:
Avon Big Color Eye Pencil in Vanilla
Charlotte Ronson All Eye Need Eye Shadow Palette in Drea
L’oreal Extra Intense Liquid Pencil Liner in Carbon Black
Covergirl Clump Crusher Mascara
Rimmel Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Hazel
LIPS:
Pop Beauty Lip Magnet Primer
NYX Mega Shine Lip Gloss in Beautiful
Like I said before, female singer-songwriters have always had a very special place in my heart and these two are some of my favorites of recent years, so it was really cool for me to showcase them here! I really hope you guys enjoyed them, as well. I also hope you guys will be keeping an eye out here on the blog next week because it’s my birthday week and I’ve got some pretty momentous things planned… No, not just my birthday but something else pretty monumental just so happens to fall next week, as well! Wanna know what that monumental thing is?! Well, you gotta wait til next week! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful weekend and a beautiful life!
Jason

Leave a comment