Let ‘Em Know That We’re Still Rock N’ Roll

For the conclusion of Rock Week here at Beausic, I really wanted to do something a little different; a little harder, edgier and more, well, ROCK than the looks that I normally do on here. Personally, I have much more of a tendency towards the glamorous, the polished and the perfected type of look, which is not at all what Rock is about, so it would take a little step outside of my own comfort zone to make this work. It doesn’t help that the landscape of female rock music is pretty bare. I had to stretch the rock genre a little bit to find a look that was right for this post but, boy, was it ever right for this post! Let me not keep you in suspense, though, and get right to it!

Avril 11
Avril 10
Avril Lavigne does not, in any way, shape or form, make rock music. She has certainly taken a lot of inspiration from rock music over the years, though, and has served as a sort of rock gateway for many who weren’t necessarily exposed to rock music before. At it’s core, Avril Lavigne’s music is pop but with much more of a rock and roll edge than most pop music. Still, Avril definitely has a very rock look. Plus, she has a new single out that I absolutely love, which is called “Rock N’ Roll.” While Avril may not be a legitimate rock star, she definitely embodies the style and, I’d say, the spirit of “Rock N’ Roll,” and I cannot wait for her forthcoming fifth studio album, featuring both “Rock N’ Roll”  and “Here’s To Never Growing Up.”

[youtube http://youtu.be/XuLfnONTX9M]

The look that I have recreated from Avril is actually from the yet-to-be-released music video for “Rock N’ Roll.” Avril tweeted pictures from the set, as well as a bunch of paparazzi pics making their way onto the internet, and I immediately fell in love with it and knew that it would be a perfect look for a tutorial! When I was looking through different options for “rock” looks for this post, my mind kept going back to Avril and this look, even though Avril isn’t necessarily the legitimate rock star some of the other options I was considering. I just love how this look is so girly while still being really dark and I absolutely loved the whole combat element mixed in with that! It’s just an amazing look and I am really excited to get to share it with you all! So, check out the tutorial below!

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t35iezM0MLc]

Avril CF 08
Avril CF 05
Avril CF 02

PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Lancôme Teint Idole Ultra 24H Foundation in Ivoire W
Covergirl & Olay Simply Ageless Concealer in Corrector
Milani HD Advanced Concealer in Light
Wet N’ Wild Coverall Pressed Powder in Light Medium
Sonia Kashuk Bare Minimum Bronzer in Golden
Benefit Dandelion Blush
Sugarpill Cosmetics Eye Shadow in Dollipop
Dark Heart Designs Liquid Sparkle
 
EYES:
Sugarpill Cosmetics Eye Shadow in Dollipop
Urban Decay Smoked Palette Eye Shadows in Blackout & Kinky
L’oreal Voluminous Smoldering Eye Liner in Black
L’oreal Voluminous Carbon Black Mascara
 
LIPS:
Milani Lipstik in Beloved

Taylor 02
Taylor 03
While one may question the validity of Avril Lavigne in a post about rock, there is absolutely no question on this one: Taylor Momsen IS rock and roll! Taylor Momsen is the lead singer of one of my absolute favorite bands in this world, The Pretty Reckless, whose debut album, “Light Me Up,” is one of my very favorite records of the new millenium! I was particularly excited to do a look from Taylor right now because I’ve actually just bought tickets to see The Pretty Reckless live for the first time on September 26, 2013 and I cannot wait! The tour is in support of their forthcoming sophomore album, “Going To Hell,” a trailer for which can be seen below! It’s unclear when the album will actually be released, with Taylor having tweeted about some legal issues surrounding the album, but I cannot wait for it to finally happen!

[youtube http://youtu.be/j6t-AgLT-LM]

I have also included below the music video for my favorite single from the band, “Just Tonight,” because I just feel like you all need to hear it – it is such an amazing song and probably my favorite track the band has recorded thus far!

[youtube http://youtu.be/Y7VGOnV2QhU]

Taylor Momsen is definitely a woman with a signature look – black, black and more black! Very deep, dark black around the eyes – my Mom always calls her a racoon! You certainly see her in different looks sometimes but she always seems to go back to a really deep black surrounding the eyes and a nude lip! I love this look on Taylor, and on myself, although it’s not the type of look I usually go for. I actually did a tutorial for a look from Taylor before when I first started doing YouTube and it actually remains my lowest viewed video of all-time. So, does it really seem like a great plan to do a second tutorial for her? Probably not… but I just really wanted to do it, so I did! Check out my new and improved Taylor Momsen tutorial below!

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mEeJQYkyR04]

Taylor CF 02
Taylor CF 07
Taylor CF 06

PRODUCTS USED:
 
FACE:
Make Up For Ever HD Foundation in N115
Covergirl & Olay Simply Ageless Concealer in Light Medium
Revlon Colorstay Blemish Concealer in Light Medium
Milani HD Advanced Concealer in Light
Wet N’ Wild Coverall Pressed Powder in Light Medium
Sonia Kashuk Bare Minimum Bronzer in Golden
Cargo Blu Ray Blush/Highlighter in Peach Shimmer
 
EYES:
Wet N’ Wild Cream Liner in Black
LORAC Pro Palette Eye Shadows in Black & Cream
Maybelline Master Drama Eye Liner in Midnight Master
Urban Decay 24/7 Waterproof Liquid Liner in Perversion
Covergirl Clump Crusher Mascara
Elf Dramatic Lash Kit
 
LIPS:
Covergirl Lip Perfection Lip Liner in Seduce
Revlon Matte Lipstick in Nude Attitude

So, there you have it! This concludes Rock Week here at Beausic! I really hope you guys enjoyed this week – it’s been a lot of fun for me and I hope it’s been just as fun for you guys! Next week is not another theme week but I do have a lot of really great stuff planned for next week, including the first episode in my new Britney Spears Makeup Series! So, I definitely recommend keeping an eye out because it should be tons of fun! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful weekend and a beautiful life!

Jason

3 thoughts on “Let ‘Em Know That We’re Still Rock N’ Roll

  1. Love both of these looks! Taylor and Avril are my favorite raccoons. lol The Avril look in particular looks like a lot of fun to put together. I’m picking up a bit of a zombie vibe. Rad!

    I’ve decided that if I had a signature makeup look, it would be closest to Taylor’s. I really like the focus to be on my eyes and the goth in me just enjoys loading on the black eye shadow. That girl is a huge inspiration to me. Have fun at the concert! I’ll be seeing them for the first time in October…eek! 😀

    1. Ahhh I’m so excited you’re a fan of the Pretty Reckless, as well! I can’t wait to see them live – I’m a little scared because it’ll be my first REAL rock show! I mean, I’ve seen like Fall Out Boy & Paramore & bands like that but they’re kind of different, more mellow “rock” so I have no clue what a Pretty Reckless crowd will be like, lol

      1. haha just stay away from the mosh pit if that’s happening! I’ve heard horror stories from friends. I like to look the part of a rocker, but i’m not that hardcore. LOL

Leave a Reply

