LORAC Platinum Status Eyeshadow Palette Review & Tutorial

So, wanna hear a funny-ish story out of my personal life? This week I had specifically planned on not filming any tutorials. “Why did I plan that?” you may ask. Well, when I arrived home from work on Friday evening, I was informed by my housemates that one of our bathrooms is out of commission. Apparently, it has been creating a pretty crazy leak into the downstairs neighbors bathroom that maintenance finally checked out. They’re not sure where in our bathroom this leak is coming from but they did ask us not to use the sink, shower or toilet for the weekend and they would come and do some pretty major repair work on Monday. So, with only one bathroom among 5 people, certain thing have kind of had to fall to the wayside. One of those things, for me personally, was shaving because it is kind of a lengthy process and I didn’t want to tie the bathroom up that long when other people may need it for it’s “more basic functions.” I also didn’t shave on Thursday night or Friday morning, leaving me already sporting a good deal of growth beforehand! So, I figured, since bearded makeup tutorials are not the most sought after things in the world and it’s a Holiday week, I would just skip the tutorials this week and supplement with reviews and Tags and other things of that nature.
Well, on Saturday, I went out to lunch with my BFF, Jenn, and we decided to stop by Ulta, (as often winds up being the case when we get together!) I had been hearing about these new little limited edition eyeshadow palettes from LORAC, a brand whose shadows I have been loving for the past few months, that were priced at only $12! That seemed like a no-brainer, really! There are 2 of these palettes, Solid Gold & Platinum Status. Solid Gold looks like a really gorgeous set, however I have been on this kick for a while now about golds and neutrals, in general, because I just have so many in my collection! So, I was kind of glad when my local Ulta was out of stock on the Solid Gold one because I probably wouldn’t have passed it up. However, the one that I was really excited about was the Platinum Status palette – a collection of 5 more cool-toned shades, including a pink, a purple, a mauve, a white and a black! It’s perfect because it’s not exactly neutrals but the shades are perfect for creating a wearable, neutral look for the day time or a deeper, more dramatic look for the evening! So, as soon as I got a chance to play around with this palette, I just knew I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to film a review and a tutorial, Since this palette is limited edition, though, and has already been out for a little while, I didn’t want to wait too long to get it up! So, I decided to go ahead, beard and all, and get it done! Check it out below![youtube http://youtu.be/CIwg6Gj7XPw]

LORAC 02
LORAC 01
LORAC 03

PRODUCTS USED:
FACE:
L’Oreal True Match Lumi Foundation in C3 Creamy Natural
Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Concealer in Medium
Revlon Colorstay Blemish Concealer in Light Medium
Covergirl TruBlend Minerals Loose Powder in Translucent Light
Benefit Dandelion Blush
EYES:
Essence Stays On No Matter What Eyeshadow Pencil in Blazing Black
LORAC Platinum Status Eyeshadow Palette (All 5 Shades)
Stila Smudge Stick in Purple Tang
Urban Decay Eyeshadow in Faint (brows)
L’Oreal Lash Out Butterfly Mascara
LIPS:
Maybelline Color Sensational Lip Gloss in Flash of PinkAs mentioned in the video, I also took photos of my swatches of the pink shade over different bases, although it turns out you actually can’t really see it any better in the photos than you could in the video!

01c94980bde24929a898059140b891c9823b66d500
As mentioned in the video, I was very impressed with this palette, ESPECIALLY for the price, and highly recommend picking it up! There are a lot of different looks you can put together with these shades and it comes in really gorgeous packaging that is compact enough to make it simple to slip into a makeup bag or purse for travel! It, along with the Solid Gold palette, is a limited edition release exclusive to Ulta, so I highly recommend checking it out and picking it up! Also, for an update, my bathroom is now fixed and I am able to shave again, so keep an eye out for more videos next week featuring my face minus all of the hair! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful weekend and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

