DC Comics Harley Quinn “Suicide Squad” Makeup Tutorial

This is actually the second to last of the requests I am doing this week and one that I think is definitely something different than you guys have seen from me before! Have you guys ever seen that show “Heroes of Cosplay?” Are you guys familiar with cosplay at all? I can tell you, right off the bat, I am not a person who is into comic books. I am not into superheroes, in general. I typically shy away from films based on comic books or about superheroes, in general, and it isn’t something that I have ever taken an interest in, (except for when Henry Cavill played Superman, but that’s for a very different reason!)  In spite of all of this, I used to have a lot of friends who were really into comic books and even at least one friend who actually does cosplay! Oh yeah, there’s that word again! For those not familiar, cosplay is a form of performance art in which people dress up as characters from comic books, anime or manga, film, television, etc., and perform! We’ve all seen images of people at Comic Con dressed up as characters and such, right? Cosplayers basically take that whole thing to a different level by actually putting on performances in those costumes! It’s a really cool idea, honestly. I only discuss this here because it definitely played a part in my approach to this request!

This request came from a user named ichrisq over on YouTube, who wanted to see a tutorial for a look from the classic Batman villianess Harley Quinn! However, he specifically wanted to see her new look – the “New 52” version. Apparently, I learned through Google, DC Comics have recently revamped some of their characters and one of the most drastic changes made was to Harley Quinn! They definitely sexed up this character in a major way! They also made a pretty major change to her makeup, which I honestly prefer to the original! Check out a few inspiration images below, all of which I kind of melded together to create my version of the new Harley Quinn look!

Harley Quinn 03
Harley Quinn 02
Harley Quinn 01
…and now for my version!

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TTUSlfEpFDs]

Harley CF 02
Harley CF 03
Harley CF 04
PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Mehron Fantasy FX Cream Makeup in White
Clinique Superbalanced Makeup in Cream
Tarte for True Blood Eyeshadows in Dusk & Stake
EYES:
Wet N’ Wild Cream Liner in Black
Tarte for True Blood Eyeshadow in Nocturnal
L’Oreal Extra Intense Liquid Pencil Liner in Carbon Black
L’Oreal Lash Out Butterfly Mascara
LIPS:
NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella
Revlon Colorburst Lip Gloss in Fire

So, that was certainly different, wasn’t it? I definitely don’t think that this was my best work but it was certainly something fun and different to try out! I always appreciate any opportunity to try out something fun and different! I’ve been teasing surprises here, in terms of the requests, but this is definitely not the end of that! I definitely recommend keeping an eye out tomorrow because the fourth and final of these requests is definitely the biggest surprise of them all and I am really kind of nervous as hell about sharing it! Don’t judge me too harshly, please?! What is it that’s got me so nervous here? You’ll have to find out tomorrow! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful rest of the week and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

