Jay Brannan “Christmas Really Sucks” Acapella Cover (BY REQUEST)

So, this is a post I never imagined myself making here, however the request actually dates REALLY far back. Remember all those videos I used to make where I would hold up my phone and play music? Yeah, those were really silly! Well, oftentimes in those videos, I would wind up singing along to the music and, it didn’t take long for a few random people to say, “Hey, you should make a video of yourself singing!” It was an idea I always thought, “Well, I COULD do that… but I probably never will!” Honestly, I love to sing – I have since I was just a child. I sing all day long. When I was younger, (and by younger I mean 27 or 28,) I was convinced that I was destined to be some kind of pop star and that singing was the only career path there was for me. Well, I got over that a while ago and kind of realized, “I was never actually very good at it!” So, I put singing in the box of “Things that are fun for me but probably shouldn’t be shared.” Well, one particular user on YouTube, AlexandraG89, (who has been a long-time subscriber and follower of my crazy Instagram world,) has pretty consistently said that I should post a video of myself singing! Most recently, after I posted a random Instagram video of myself singing my favorite song of the moment, “Young Blood” by Sophie Ellis-Bextor, (had you forgotten?!,) she expressed this sentiment again. So, finally, I figured, “What the hell?!” I didn’t want to sing “Young Blood,” though, because it is not really suited to my voice, (no matter how hard I may try!) Plus, being the holiday season, I thought it would be a good idea to sing my favorite Christmas song of all-time – “Christmas Really Sucks” by Jay Brannan. Long-time followers here may remember Jay Brannan being featured as a Buzz Artist here back when I used to do those posts! He is one of my very favorite artists who nobody seems to have heard of! His music is amazing and, like I said, “Christmas Really Sucks” is my very favorite Christmas song of all-time. So, I figured I would sing that! Check it out below!

WARNING: I fully acknowledge that I am NOT a great singer, I am simply doing this for fun, to kind of face a fear and to fulfill a request.

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wWGCyNvkKOU]

Now, because I feel like it deserves to be shared in it’s proper form, let me also share Jay Brannan’s much better rendition of this song!

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=moJoE19YGdw]

Now THAT is a surprise, is it not? I feel really relieved to have gotten that one out of the way and cap off request week with something different! That was so stressful for me, I am taking tomorrow off! I am joking but I don’t actually have a post planned for tomorrow. I do, however, have some big things planned for this weekend – including my very first YouTube Collab! It’s something I’m pretty excited to be taking part in and can’t wait to share with you all! Definitely keep an eye out this weekend! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful Friday and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

