Kacey Musgraves “Follow Your Arrow” Music Video Makeup Tutorial

As mentioned in my “This Week In Music” post over the weekend, this is the last full week of 2013 that you will be seeing posts here on Beausic! I will be taking next week off and the week after only has 2 days of 2013 left! So, I figure I’d better make this week count, right?! Well, I’m starting it off with a tutorial that I am absolutely over the moon to be doing, not necessarily because I think the look is so groundbreaking or anything, but because the source of the look is absolutely groundbreaking! The final videos of 2013, (the ones that will go up on New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Eve Eve,) will be focused on celebrating my favorite beauty products and favorite music of 2013. When it comes to my favorite music of 2013, a name that you’re definitely going to be hearing is Kacey Musgraves. Kacey’s major label debut album, “Same Trailer, Different Park,” is absolutely breaking new ground in the world of country music. This album is absolutely incredible, featuring a classic, old school “Country & Western” sound paired with lyrics about incredibly progressive, liberal and modern concepts. No lyrics on this record hold more true to that than on her newest single, “Follow Your Arrow,” which is the first country song to make positive reference to the LGBTQ community. I am a massive fan of this song not only for that but for it’s brilliant message of following your own heart and your own direction in life. You just have to hear this song for yourself… check it out below!

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQ8xqyoZXCc]

Kacey 02
Kacey 01

Since it’s kind of what I do here, as soon as I saw the video I thought to myself, “Well, I should do a tutorial for that look!” So, here it is!

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ATVXBLrUDNg]

Kacey CF 06
Kacey CF 05
Kacey CF 04
PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
NARS Sheer Glow Foundation in Punjab
MAC Pro Longwear Concealer in NW20
Estee Lauder Double Matte Powder in Light
NARS Laguna Bronzer
NARS Devotee Highlight Blush
NARS Deep Throat Blush

EYES:
Tarte Eyeshadows in Shimmering Sable, Matte Coffee Bean & Shimmering Buff
Urban Decay Naked Basics Eyeshadows in Faint & Walk of Shame
Smashbox Limitless Long Wear Eyeliner in Onyx
L’Oreal Lash Out Butterfly Mascara

LIPS:
MAC Lip Liner in Stripdown
TheBalm Plump Your Pucker Lip Gloss in Cocoa My Coconut
NYX Mega Shine Lip Gloss in Natural

As I mentioned previously, I feel like Kacey has managed to really break new ground for the country music industry with this album and, in particular, this song and it’s acceptance of the LGBTQ community. Kacey has also shown a lot of support for the LGBTQ community outside of just this song and I truly feel that this should be particularly commended for a member of the country music community, which isn’t exactly known for being accepting of such “liberal” concepts. In 2013, the year in which we saw one of the world’s hottest new rappers, Macklemore, also embrace the LGBTQ community in the hip-hop community, which is even more known for it’s lack of acceptance of the LGBTQ community, it all feels like some pretty major steps forward have been taken in 2013. That’s a very inspiring thing to reflect on here at the end of the year! Hopefully, you’ll all also feel inspired by some of the other stuff coming up here at Beausic this week because I think it all is going to be a lot of fun! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful week ahead and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

