Leslie Hall “Songs In The Key Of Gold” Album Review

I’ve got one more album review for 2013 and, in some ways, I feel like it may be the most MAJOR of them all. Yes, I did just say that in spite of having reviewed brilliant new albums from the likes of Katy Perry, Lady Gaga, Britney Spears and Beyonce over the past few months. This one is different, though. This one is VERY different. Let me start from the beginning. I’ve talked before about my dear friend (or as he would put it, one of my IRL BFFs,) Kip Icon.Well, Kip Icon is definitely a character. He’s talked a lot over on his fabulous Tumblr page about one of his personal idols, Leslie Hall. I didn’t necessarily think much of this, aside from “Who is this insane looking woman he keeps talking about?!” It wasn’t until earlier this week when she released a brand new “Greatest Hits Remixed” record called “Songs In The Key of Gold” that I actually decided to give it a shot… and, boy, was it ever worth it! I posted on Twitter and Instagram about the album and struck a conversation with Kip Icon about it and he suggested I do a review on the album! So, here we are.

Before getting into the review, though, let me give you a little more info on Leslie herself. Leslie Hall hails from a small town in Iowa and rose to internet fame in the early 2000s thanks to her over the top personality and penchant for Gem Sweaters, (she even has her own Gem Sweater museum and a website on which she models over 400 different gem sweaters!) She became a recurring guest on children’s shows like “Yo Gabba Gabba” and “The Aquabats! Super Show!” and, in the midst of all of this, she made the quite natural leap to recording her first Hip-Hop album in 2005. Here in 2013, after 5 albums of her unique style of Dance-infused Rap music, this past week Leslie released her first Greatest Hits/Remix album, “Songs In The Key Of Gold,” and, well, I’ve kind of got a LOT to say about it!

First, check out some of my favorite videos from Leslie!

So, now that you’ve got a little taste of Leslie’s music, check out my review of the new album!

I have also included the full album as a Spotify Playlist below, which I HIGHLY recommend giving a listen!

I feel like, in spite of Beyonce having originally been planned as the final album review of 2013, this is the perfect way to close out the year of album reviews. This album, and Leslie Hall herself, have served as a huge source of inspiration for me here lately and I am very grateful to Mr. Kip Icon for bringing her to my attention. I really hope that she can be the same for you guys, too – on the surface it may seem over the top or even like some type of novelty but, if you let go of your prejudices and take a closer look, I think you’ll find something truly special here. I definitely did!

So, there will be one more post today before I am off for the next week so, if you happen to miss that one, I wanted to take this opportunity to wish you all a Merry Christmas!!! I hope the area underneath your trees are overflowing with everything you could possibly ask for! After all, you’ve all already given me the best gift I could possibly ask for – a reason to keep on doing what I love! There is no greater gift in this world… just ask Leslie Hall! I wish you all a beautiful week ahead, a beautiful Christmas and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

