Beyoncé: The Visual Album

With the massive blockbuster send off she gave to 2013, it seemed absolutely clear to me that there was only one way to kick off 2014: BEYONCE! I did post a review of her amazing new self-titled album a couple of weeks ago but it almost entirely focused on the audio portion of the album. To kick off 2014, though, we are focusing on The Visual Album. Yes, aside from 14 brand new songs, Beyonce also released 17 brand new music videos, creating a brilliant visual representation of the album! As soon as I actually sat down to watch the collection of videos, I immediately saw visions of makeup tutorials dancing through my head! This collection of videos is chock full of absolutely stunning imagery and the makeup looks in so many of the videos really blew my mind, especially because some of these looks were so unique from anything you’ve seen on Beyonce before! I knew that I couldn’t do just one tutorial from this album so I figured, “Why not kick off the year with a little Beyonce mini-series?!” There were 3 looks, in particular, that just kept popping out at me and, thus, a mini-series was born!

Mine 01
Mine 03
The first look that really stood out to me was the look from the video for my very favorite song on the album, “Mine,” featuring Drake. In this video, Beyonce wears an incredible look combining teal, navy, emerald and purples. It’s unlike anything you’ve seen on Beyonce before and, even more, it was immediately eye-catching, captivating and felt like the absolute perfect opportunity to do something I feel like I haven’t done much of recently – a really bright, colorful look!

Unfortunately, most of the videos are not available on YouTube to share, otherwise I would love to be sharing the actual videos on here for you guys to see! Since I can’t, though, I will instead share with you my tutorials for the look!

Mine CF 01
Mine CF 03

Mine CF 04

PRODUCTS USED: 
FACE:
Lancôme Teint Idole Ultra 24H Foundation in Ivoire W
NYX HD Photogenic Concealers in Yellow & Glow
MAC Select Cover Up in NW20
Estée Lauder Double Matte Pressed Powder in Light Medium
Physicians Formula Cashmere Wear Bronzer
Dark Heart Designs Blush in The Licky Ones
EYES:
Urban Decay 24/7 Shadow Pencil in Clash
Rimmel Exaggerate Waterproof Eye Definer in Deep Ocean
Revlon Grow Luscious Lash Liner in Emerald
Dark Heart Designs Eye Shadows in Hale Storm, Marry The Night, Murder House & Catalyst
L’Oreal Infallible Eye Shadow in Endless Sea
Urban Decay Naked Basics Eye Shadows in Faint & Walk of Shame
Rimmel Exaggerate Soft Kohl Kajal in Pure White
L’Oreal Lash Out Butterfly Mascara
LIPS:
Revlon Matte Balm in Complex
Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss in Illume
By far, my favorite of the videos and one of my 3 favorite tracks on the entire album is “XO.” This song just lifts my spirits every time I hear it – it’s such a gorgeous, joyful, poppy love song! It holds a very special place in my heart and always brings a smile to my face! The thing that I love so much about this music video is how casual it is – it really captures the essence of any girl in any town USA, getting herself all dolled up for a night out at the carnival! It all just seems so fun and so normal! This look is also really wearable, which was one of the things that made me want to do a tutorial for it most! Check it out below!

XO CF 02
XO CF 03
XO CF 01
PRODUCTS USED: 

FACE:
Too Faced Tinted Beauty Balm
NYX HD Photogenic Concealers in Yellow & Glow
Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Concealer in Light
Milani Even Touch Powder Foundation in Natural
Buxom Divine Goddess Luminizer in Venus
Sonia Kashuk Bare Minimum Bronzer in Golden
Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Stellar
EYES:
Urban Decay Smoked Eyeshadows in Kinky, Freestyle, Barlust & Backdoor
NARS Eyeshadow in Kalahari
Rimmel Scandal’Eyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal in Brown
Stila Smudge Stick in Lionfish
Bare Minerals Flawless Definition Volumizing Mascara
Urban Decay Naked Basics Eyeshadow in Faint
LIPS:
Stila Color Balm Lipstick in Ali

Haunted 09
Haunted 08
Following a really bright, fun look and a really casual, wearable look, it’s time for something much darker, more dramatic and vampy. This look comes from the music video for one of my least favorite songs from the album, honestly, but featuring one of the most dramatic, stunning looks from the visual album, “Haunted.” Don’t get me wrong, “Haunted” is a great song but it just doesn’t grab me near as much as some of the other tracks on the record. The video, though, is absolutely stunning! The really dark, vampy look featuring black and silver on the eyes and a really deep red lip. I really loved this look and was very excited to do a tutorial for it! Check it out below.

Haunted CF 04
Haunted CF 06
Haunted CF 01
PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Covergirl Outlast Stay Fabulous Foundation in Nude Beige
Maybelline Fit Me Shine Free Foundation Stick in 120
NYX HD Photogenic Concealer in Yellow
Covergirl Clean Pressed Powder in Light
Milani Even Touch Powder Foundation in Natural
NARS Laguna Bronzer
NARS Devotee Highlighting Blush
EYES:
Urban Decay Eyeshadows in Faint, Naked 2 & Foxy
Too Faced Pretty Rebel Eyeshadows in Jailbird & Miss Sparkles
Smashbox Limitless Longwear Liner in Onyx
L’Oreal Lash Out Butterfly Mascara
LIPS:
MAC Stripdown Lip Liner
L’Oreal HiP Lipstick in Driven
NYX Brush On Gloss in Garnet
Like I said, Beyonce seemed like the perfect place to start 2014, although I’ve got a feeling that there will be a lot more Beyonce to come throughout the year to come! I have a lot of fun stuff planned this year and I can’t wait for all that 2014 has in store! It’s gonna be a big year, I think, and I hope you guys are as excited as I am about it all! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful 2014 and a beautiful life!
Jason
One thought on “Beyoncé: The Visual Album

Leave a Reply

