Charlize Theron 1998 Martini Ad Makeup Tutorial

If I haven’t said it enough in the past, let me say once again – I LOVE REQUESTS! Seriously, the sense that I am able to deliver specifically what one of my subscribers wants to see is just amazing to me! Plus, it takes all the guess work out of this whole process – it’s basically like you guys are doing the job for me! I especially love when I get a request for a look that I was completely unaware of before and am really blown away by! This is the case today. A subscriber over at my YouTube Channel, called Greatpink Unicornplanet, commented on my personal favorite of my entire Madonna Makeup Series, the Erotica/Sex Book inspired tutorial, requesting a look that is somewhat similar to that, (a very glam, 1960s inspired mod look,) but with some really unique twists. The look they mentioned was worn by Charlize Theron in a commercial she did for Martini back in 1998. I was not at all familiar with this look so I had to Google it. When I did, boy, was my mind blown! Check out inspiration images, as well as the ad itself, below!

Charlize 01
Charlize 02

Now, right off the bat a couple of things struck me – first, this ad is in black & white, and second, this ad is 15 years old and not exactly available in great quality. So, there was quite a bit of guess work involved in this, after all! I had to kind of guess at the colors and finishes of things but I did the best that I could and I, personally, love the way that it came out!
Also, for the first time in nearly 2 years, I decided to try my hand at actually talking you through the tutorial instead of doing a VoiceOver. I’m not sure exactly how it went, so I’m kind of depending upon you guys to let me know what you think and if I should continue in that format or stick to the voice overs! Check it out below!

Charlize CF 06
Charlize CF 02
Charlize CF 05

PRODUCTS USED:
FACE:
L’Oreal Magic Nude Liquid Powder in Creamy Natural
NYX HD Photogenic Concealers in Yellow & Glow
MAC Select Cover Up in NW20
Estée Lauder Double Matte Powder in Light
Bare Minerals Eyeshadow in Velvet Vanilla
Sonia Kashuk Bare Minimum Bronzer in Golden
EYES:
LORAC Pro Palette Eyeshadows in Cream, Sable, Taupe & Espresso
Palladio Felt Tip Liner Pen in Jet Black
Smashbox Limitless Eye Liner in Onyx
Bare Minerals Flawless Definition Volumizing Mascara
LIPS:
MAC Lip Liner in Stripdown
Revlon Matte Lipstick in Nude Attitude
As I mentioned before, I absolutely loved the way this look came out, even though I have no real way of telling how accurate it was! I hope you guys enjoyed it, as well! Also, once again, please let me know what you thought of this video and if you prefer me actually talking through the tutorial or doing a voice over! I would really appreciate any feedback you may have! In the meantime, though, it’s a three day weekend for me, (Thanks, Martin Luther King, Jr.!) and I hope it is for some of you guys, as well! Nothing beats a three day weekend… Except for a 4 or 5 or more day weekend, but then you’re basically on vacation! However long your weekend is, I wish you a beautiful one and a beautiful life!
Jason
Leave a Reply

