Jennifer Lawrence “American Hustle” Makeup Tutorial

You know what’s funny?! This is the first year in a very long time where I have actually seen most of the films nominated for all the major awards at the Golden Globes, Oscars, etc. I normally will see them eventually but during awards show season I don’t normally have much of a point of reference as far as what I feel is deserving of such accolades. One film that I didn’t get a chance to see until after the awards season had ended, though, was “American Hustle.” In fact, I just watched it a few days ago. I really enjoyed it and, perhaps being a bit biased, I was particularly impressed with Jennifer Lawrence’s performance in the film, (I have been particularly impressed with Jennifer Lawrence’s performance in everything I have seen her in.) I was also particularly impressed with the makeup done on Jennifer in the film because I felt like it really captured the essence of the film’s setting: New Jersey in the 1970s. So, as I watched the film, I couldn’t help thinking, “I should do a tutorial for this!” There was one look in particular that really stuck out to me, from one of my favorite scenes and the real turning point for Jennifer’s character in the film, that featured a gorgeous brown eye look with a pop of navy. Check out a couple of inspiration images below.

Jennifer Lawrence 03
Jennifer Lawrence 02

…and now for the tutorial.

Jennifer Lawrence CF 02
Jennifer Lawrence CF 03
Jennifer Lawrence CF 01

PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation in 1W2 Linen
Garnier Miracle Skin Perfecter BB Cream for Oily Skin in Light/Medium
Pixi Correction Concentrate in Brightening Peach
Rimmel Match Perfection Concealer in Light
L’Oreal True Match Super Blendable Crayon Concealer in Fair/Light
Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder in Creamy Natural
NARS Goulue Blush
NARS Laguna Bronzer

EYES:
Urban Decay Smoked Palette Eyeshadows in Freestyle, Barlust, Kinky & Evidence
NYC Eyeliner Duet in You’ve Got The Power
Rimmel Scandal’Eyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal in Nude
L’Oreal Voluminous Carbon Black Mascara
Rimmel Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Hazel

LIPS:
Revlon Matte Balm in Complex
Buxom Lip Polish in Amy

As I mentioned before, I did really enjoy “American Hustle,” although it certainly was not my favorite Oscar nominee this year. My personal favorite film of this awards season was definitely “Blue Jasmine,” and I was definitely excited to see Cate Blanchett win the Oscar for Best Actress. Her performance in that film was absolutely incredible! I also really enjoyed “Nebraska.” I also have to mention a film that I really feel should have received many more accolades than it did, “Saving Mr. Banks.” If you haven’t seen this film yet, I cannot recommend it highly enough – it is an incredible story about the creation of Walt Disney’s film adaptation of “Mary Poppins,” starring Emma Thompson and Tom Hanks, rocking some crazy looking eyebrows as Walt Disney. Before I spend all day talking about movies, I will end this here. I do hope, though, that you guys will be keeping an eye out here the rest of the week because I’ve got some really fun stuff planned, including a tutorial for another look inspired by an actress and one of my biggest inspirations in life nowadays, (she is even #mygodnow lol.) In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful week to come and a beautiful life!
Jason
2 thoughts on “Jennifer Lawrence “American Hustle” Makeup Tutorial

  1. LOVE! Thank you for taking the time to do this–I can’t wait to try it out. You have such beautiful eyes and I love the nude lip on you.

    1. Thank you so much for the comment! I really appreciate your comments/compliments! You know, I do enjoy a good deal of different lip colors but I personally always seem to go back to some variation of a nude lip – I just think it’s extra flattering on most people!

Leave a Reply

