This Week In Music 4/27/2014 (& Then Some!)

So, I haven’t posted here all week, have I? Sorry about that… This was my last week of overtime and I finally have some time to sit down and focus on the work that I love, like this, as opposed to the work that pays me! It’s actually been a really busy week over at my YouTube Channel, I just hadn’t managed to get the time to make posts here on the blog for the videos that went up… Fortunately, they all fit a theme that works really well for this post! You see, this week was kind of unofficially “Album Review Week” over at my YouTube Channel – I posted 3 brand new individual album reviews, as well as my very first film review! So, I figured I’d share those here, as well, in case you didn’t get the chance to see them throughout the week! Let’s get started!

First up is the brand new album, “Pop Psychology,” by the Neon Trees! As you could probably tell from that video, I felt really strongly about this album – I think it is absolutely brilliant and is pretty high up on my list of this year’s album releases so far! I wanted to share the album as a Spotify playlist, as well, because I really cannot recommend highly enough that you check it out!

Next up is the brilliant debut album from Australian female rapper Iggy Azalea, “The New Classic.” Once again, I really am loving this album and think it serves up something unique and interesting in terms of Hip-Hop/Rap music. I also wanted to include a Spotify playlist of this album, as well, because it is really worth checking out!

Next up, I got a request from a subscriber at my YouTube Channel named SamanthaLovesNDubz for a review of Justin Bieber’s “Believe.” Initially, I assumed that she had meant the album but then I remembered that there was also a film released a few months ago, which just happened to have come out on DVD a couple of weeks ago, also called “Believe.” I loved Justin’s first film, “Never Say Never,” and figured it’d be fun to do a review of the new one, as well as reflecting a bit on the “Believe” album, as well. I really enjoyed the film and appreciated this request extra for reminding me/giving me an extra excuse to see the film!

Last, but definitely not least, for Album Review week was my review of one album I have been anticipating more than most this year, the brand new Kelis record, “Food.” All of the songs leading up to this album’s release, including “Jerk Ribs,” “Rumble,” and, my very favorite, “Bless The Telephone,” were absolutely amazing and set a very high bar for the album – I was not at all disappointed when it finally came out! I feel like you definitely need this album in your life, so I have also included a Spotify playlist of the album!

So, with all of that out of the way now, let’s talk about the new music this week, which didn’t actually include any new albums but a TON of new singles from artists I have been obsessed with lately, like Austin Mahone, Lily Allen, Lucy Hale, Robyn, Beyonce, Kylie Minogue, Demi Lovato, and so much more! Check it all out below!

So, there you have a whole lot of music talk all wrapped up in one “This Week In Music” Megapost! I hope you guys enjoyed and perhaps picked up some new music you may not have known about or checked out before! Now that my overtime has ended, everything should be back to business as usual here and this week I’ve got some really fun posts planned! Since this week was all about music-related videos, next week will have a heavy focus on beauty posts! Keep an eye out, I think it’s going to be a big one! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful week ahead and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

