This Week In Music 5/25/2014 (Plus, Mariah Carey “Me. I Am Mariah… The Elusive Chanteuse” Track-by-Track Album Review)

Another week in music has come and gone and it’s time for another “This Week In Music!” This week wound up being a very special week in music, indeed, as it saw the return of one of the greatest divas of my generation – Mariah Carey! This week saw the leak of Mariah’s 14th Studio Album, the ridiculously/brilliantly/aptly titled “Me. I Am Mariah… The Elusive Chanteuse.” This record, based solely on being the comeback of Mariah, warranted it’s own individual review. The fact that it quite possibly could be Mariah’s best album to date made it that much easier to do an individual review on! Check out my many thoughts on the album below!

If “Me. I Am Mariah… The Elusive Chanteuse” was the most major new release of the week, it certainly wasn’t too far ahead of some of this week’s other releases! There was a mini-reunion of Destiny’s Child, the LONG overdue sophomore album from Cher Lloyd, the epic collaborative EP from Royksopp and Robyn, and a slew of major new singles, including an unexpected and absolutely stunning cover of one of my favorite songs of the past year! Hear about it all and so much more below!

As mentioned in the video above, I can’t even begin to tell you how mind-blown I was by John Mayer’s cover of Beyonce’s “XO.” I cannot stop playing this song and I have a feeling you guys will feel the same way. Check it out below!

So, there you have another week in music! There will be even more of this week in music coming up over the next couple of days – I’ve got individual reviews of Cher Lloyd’s “Sorry I’m Late” and Austin Mahone’s “The Secret EP,” coming up over the next couple of days, so you’ll definitely want to keep an eye out for that! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful memorial day and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

