“Jem & The Holograms” Stormer Doll Makeup Tutorial

I am incredibly excited to share this post with you all today because I was incredibly excited to actually do the look I will be featuring in this post! As I have discussed in the past, I spent a long time feeling like I was stuck in some kind of a “neutral rut,” where all of my looks were neutral, wearable and not particularly creative. I have come out of that period a bit here recently, however I haven’t done anything quite like this! So, let me tell you a little bit about this look.
I was a big fan of the animated series “Jem & The Holograms” growing up and have been really excited by all the buzz surrounding Jem recently, due to the announcement of a live action film version! I am, of course, not the only one whose gotten excited over this – the internet has been abuzz with talk of Jem! One of my very favorite Instagram accounts, S73v3n85, a brilliant young artist out of Australia whom I highly recommend checking out, posted up a bunch of drawings he’d done of Jem characters, which were really cool. He also recently posted some photography he did of some dolls of Jem, The Holograms and even The Misfits! When I saw these photos, inspiration struck! There was one doll, in particular, that really caught my eye – Mary “Stormer” Phillips, who was the main creative force behind Jem’s rival band, The Misfits. The photos that Steven took of this doll blew my mind and I was immediately struck with the makeup look featured on the doll. So, I figured I just had to do it! So, below are Stevens photos of the Stormer doll, as well as a couple of images of Stormer from the “Jem” series, as the makeup look is quite different between the two!

Stormer 02
Stormer 01

S73v3n85 03
S73v3n85 02
S73v3n85 01

…so, let’s see what I came up with based on this!

Stormer CF 05
Stormer CF 01
Stormer CF 06

PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Maybelline Fit Me Shine Free Stick Foundation in 120 Classic Ivory
L’Oreal True Match Super Blendable Crayon Concealer in N1-2-3
Elf HD Powder
Sugarpill Eyeshadow in Love+
Avon Glimmersticks Lip Liner in True Red
EYES:
Sugarpill Eyeshadows in Butter Cupcake, Flamepoint & Love+
Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment in Chaos
Rimmel Scandal’Eyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal in Black
Jordana Best Lash Extreme Mascara
False Lashes from eBay
LIPS:
Avon Glimmersticks Lip Liner in True Red
Maybelline The Vivids Lipstick in Neon Red
As I mentioned before, I think that S73v3n85 is a pretty brilliant artist and I highly recommend checking out his Instagram, as well as his DeviantArt page, because his work is truly incredible… You could even call it “Truly Outrageous!” …in case you thought I would do an entire “Jem” themed post without making that reference! In any sense, I hope you guys enjoyed and I hope you all have a beautiful weekend to come!
Jason
2 thoughts on ““Jem & The Holograms” Stormer Doll Makeup Tutorial

Leave a Reply

