ELECTRIC YOUTH: An 80s-Inspired Makeup Tutorial Using the Electric Palette

So, my birthday is coming up! Yes, my birthday is this Saturday, July 19 and I will be turning 23 FINALLY! …okay, so maybe I actually turned 23 eight years ago, but I can pretend. People who don’t know me believe me when I say that I’m only 22, so why not? In all honesty, though, just between us girls, I am actually going to be 31 this year. It’s a weird thing for me, to be honest, and has had me reflecting on a lot of things in my life. As with most things in my life, I relate so much of my life experience to music and have found myself listening to a lot of music that brings back memories of different times throughout my life. Having been born in the 1980s, as well as having always had a strange sense of nostalgia about the music of the 80s, this period has been of particular interest to me. In particular, I have found myself very much gravitating towards one of my very favorite 80s pop stars, Debbie Gibson, (including some random actual interaction with her via Social Media, which I talk about in the video below.) In particular, the song “Electric Youth,” has been stuck in my head recently. If you are not familiar with this campy, corny, pop masterpiece, check it out below!

“Electric Youth” kind of automatically in my head brought to mind something  much more recent, the Electric Palette from Urban Decay. Ever since buying the Electric Palette I have thought, “These colors would work really well for an over-the-top 80s look!” So, with the combination of my looming birthday, Debbie Gibson and the colors in the Electric Palette, inspiration struck and I just had to throw together and 80s-inspired tutorial using the palette! Check out what I came up with below!

Electric Youth 05
Electric Youth 01
Electric Youth 04PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Estée Lauder Double Wear Foundation in Linen
Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Concealer in Neutralizer
L’Oreal True Match Super Blendable Crayon Concealer in N1-2-3
Elf HD Powder
Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigments in Urban, Jilted & Savage
EYES:
Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigments in Urban, Jilted, Savage, Revolt, Freak & Fringe
Charlotte Ronson Drea Eyeshadow Quad (matte black shade)
Rimmel Scandal’Eyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal in Black
Palladio Felt Tip Liner Pen
Jordana Best Lash Extreme Mascara
False Lashes from eBay
Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Powder Duo in Dark Brown
LIPS:
NYX Soft Matte Lip Creme in Addis Ababa
Covergirl Lip Perfection Lipstick in Enchantress

As mentioned in the video, I am kind of considering doing a new series of 80s icon makeup tutorials, featuring some of my favorite artists of the 80s. I’m talking about artists like Debbie Gibson, Cyndi Lauper, Boy George, Annie Lennox, Pete Burns, Grace Jones and a whole slew of others. Please let me know if that is something that you would be interested in seeing! In the meantime, though, I will probably not be back before my actual birthday (I said in my last post that this would be a content-light week!) So, I wish you all a beautiful rest of the week and a beautiful life!

Jason

One thought on “ELECTRIC YOUTH: An 80s-Inspired Makeup Tutorial Using the Electric Palette

Leave a Reply

