Last Week In Music 7/20/2014 (Plus, La Roux “Trouble In Paradise” Album Review!)

Let me tell you all a little story – the story of how “This Week In Music” suddenly became “Last Week In Music.” It all began with my birthday on Saturday. It kicked off a week of vacation for me, which I am very excited about. My best friend and I both took a week of vacation together without many real, solid plans, (aside from a little trip to Orlando to see Twin Forks in concert, which I am ridiculously excited about and should be getting ready for as I type this.) On Sunday afternoon, we decided that I should go stay over at her house and have some drinks, watch some TV, etc., so as I got myself ready to go, I put the “This Week In Music” video on to upload, however my wifi at home was being incredibly slow and it didn’t finish before I left the house. I figured it was no big deal because I could just leave it to finish and access a computer over there later to actually publish it. Turns out, there was some error and the upload failed. I didn’t get back home to my computer until Tuesday, making it the latest “This Week In Music” video ever! Check it out below!

As mentioned in that video, one of the most interesting new singles released this week was Travis Garland’s “remix” of Lana Del Rey’s “West Coast,” which I just had to share here for you guys to check out for yourself! Travis Garland, as I have said many times, is hands down the best male vocalist out there today and truly needs to be heard by more people than he is currently!

As mentioned in the above video, I also did an individual review for the new album from La Roux, “Trouble In Paradise.” Having been a big fan of La Roux’s debut album, I was very intrigued by their follow-up record, especially when I saw it’s 80s-inspired, tropical-themed artwork, which was pretty out of left field in comparison to their first record. So, what did I think about this sophomore release? Find out below!

So, there you have Last Week in Music! I’ve also got a couple of new tutorials to go up this week, although I’m not sure of how exactly I am going to put them up, in terms of what days I will do it or anything. Vacation is throwing a lot of things off… but it’s awesome, anyway! As I mentioned before, and was totally not joking, I really should be getting myself ready to head to Orlando right now! My best friend should be arriving in about 30 minutes and i haven’t packed anything or even gotten dressed…. so, let me go do that! I’m sure I’ll have a full report on the events of the trip for you guys sometime soon! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful rest of the week and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

