Ariana Grande “Break Free” Music Video Makeup Tutorial

If you guys hadn’t noticed over the past year or so, I have become a tad bit obsessed with a certain former Nickelodeon star turned chanteuse, artist behind one of my favorite albums of last year and one of my favorite singles of this year so far, a true ingenue and heir to the Mariah Carey throne of Vocal Acrobatics – I am, of course, talking about none other than Ariana Grande! I have been completely obsessed with this girl over the past year and, in particular, her most recent single, “Break Free,” featuring Zedd, from her forthcoming sophomore album, “My Everything,” has absolutely blown my mind! I just love her voice, her retro style, her neutral, earth-toned makeup, etc.! Just when I thought it couldn’t get any better, she released a brilliant, campy, over-the-top, throwback music video for “Break Free” that I simply cannot get enough of. You’ve got to see this for yourself! Check it out below!

In the video, Ariana wears essentially three different versions of the same look. In one version, she has some white lace-like pieces applied around her face and a slightly more shimmery finish on the lid. In another, she wears a matte eye and a really glittery gloss on her lips. In the third, which is the one I chose to recreate, she has both a matte eye and a matte lip. I feel like, in general, matte finishes are such a signature part of Ariana’s makeup looks that it was the only way to go in terms of doing a tutorial for a look from her! Check out some inspiration images below!

Ariana 03
Ariana 05
Ariana 01…and now for the tutorial!

Ariana CF 03
Ariana CF 05
Ariana CF 04PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Rimmel Match Perfection Foundation in Soft Beige
L’Oreal Visible Lift Blur Concealer in Medium
Jordana Pressed Powder in Beige
Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer
Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Stellar
EYES:
LORAC Pro 2 Palette Eyeshadows in Buff, Nectar, Light Brown & Beige
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in Zero
Jordana Color Envy Liquid Liner in Black Envy
Jordana Best Lash Extreme Mascara
Kardashian Beauty Glimmer Lashes
NYX Eyebrow Cake Powder in Auburn
LIPS:
MAC Stripdown Lip Liner
L’Oreal Colour Riche Lipstick in Fairest Nude

As also mentioned in the video, this was my very first look using the new LORAC Pro 2 Palette, which I will be reviewing shortly, once I have had more time to really experiment with it! In the meantime, though, I hope you guys enjoyed this post as much as I enjoyed putting it together! I also hope you guys will keep an eye out on the blog the rest of this week! As I mentioned in my last post, this week is kind of broken up into a really wearable, daytime look, (my Lindsay Lohan post on Monday,) this more dramatic, evening appropriate look, and a really off-the-wall look that will be going up on Friday! You won’t want to miss that one! You also won’t want to miss this weekend, when I will be doing the very first #ProjectPalette video! Be sure to keep an eye out! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful rest of the week and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

