Rihanna W Magazine September 2014 Makeup Tutorial

Undeniably one of the biggest pop culture, music, style and, almost most importantly, fashion icons of recent years is definitely Rihanna. So, it’s definitely a little unusual that I have only done two Rihanna tutorials in the past. It’s not at all unusual, though, that those tutorials have both been from her print work. I feel like modelling is honestly one of her strongest suits. This concept is definitely supported by her newest spread for W Magazine, which blew my mind. It is extreme. It is intense. It is unique. Most of all, though, it is absolutely stunning! I was immediately taken with it and immediately thought it would be perfect material for a tutorial… then my little voice of self-doubt came into play and I thought, “You can’t pull that off!” I was suddenly very hesitant to do it, to the point that I came extremely close to not doing it at all. However, I decided to proceed. So, let’s take a look at the inspiration images!

Rihanna 01
Rihanna 02
Rihanna 03…and now for the tutorial!

Rihanna CF 01
Rihanna CF 04
Rihanna CF 05PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Garnier Miracle Skin Perfector BB Cream in Light/Medium
Jordana Pressed Powder in Beige
Urban Decay Urbanglow Cream Highlight in Moonshine
Khroma Beauty Kim’s Kardazzle Complete Face Palette (Highlight Shade)
Milani Baked Blush in Red Vino
LORAC Pro 2 Palette Eyeshadows in Black & Cook Grey
EYES:
L’Oreal Voluminous Smoldering Liner in Black
LORAC Pro 2 Palette Eyeshadow in Black
Jordana Best Lash Extreme Mascara
LIPS:
NYX Jumbo Lip Pencil in Narcisse
Flirt! Cosmetics Squeeze Me Super Shiny Lip Gloss in Glass Slipper

So, did I pull it off?! To be honest, I don’t really feel like I pulled it off very well, however I do think that it comes across as a very cool, interesting look of it’s own. It just isn’t the look that Rihanna is wearing in the images. Not quite. Still, I’m definitely happy to have looked past my own trepidations and tried it out! I hope you guys enjoyed watching it, as well… As long as it was! I also hope you guys have a beautiful weekend and a beautiful life!

Jason

Leave a Reply

