“Rocky Horror Picture Show” Magenta Halloween Makeup Tutorial

It’s officially October, folks, and surely you must have known that could only mean one thing here… It’s time for Halloween Makeup Tutorials! Halloween has always been one of my favorite holidays because, honestly, who doesn’t love the opportunity to dress up in costume and party?! With everything that’s been going on this past month or so, though, I haven’t really managed to focus on Halloween much this year, unfortunately, and this month really snuck up on me. So, needless to say, I was a little less than prepared for Halloween tutorials this year. I’ve honestly been a little lost for ideas. In fact, this first one was actually a request. Have I mentioned how much I love requests, by the way? I really do! This request came from Christina McArthur over on my YouTube Channel, who wanted to see the look from the character Magenta in one of my all-time favorite films, “The Rocky Horror Picture Show.” She actually initially requested that I do the look from Tim Curry as Dr. Frank Furter, however I actually did that look for Halloween a couple of years ago already, so instead she requested the Magenta look. I was a little hesitant to do this look because “Rocky Horror” has meant so much to me over the years and I didn’t want to screw it up but I eventually said, “Screw it,” and decided to give it a shot! So, check out some inspiration images below!

RHPS Magenta 04
RHPS Magenta 03…and now for my tutorial!

RHPS Magenta CF 01
RHPS Magenta CF 03
RHPS Magenta CF 02PRODUCTS USED:

FACE:
Maybelline Fit Me Shine Free Stick Foundation in 135
L’Oreal True Match Blendable Crayon Concealer in N1-2-3
Sugarpill The Eyeshadow in Tako
EYES:
Urban Decay Lipstick in Gash
TheBalm Nude ‘Tude Palette Eyeshadows in Sexy, Serious & Sassy
L’Oreal Voluminous Smoldering Liner in Black
Jordana Best Lash Extreme Mascara
Kardashian Beauty Glimmer Lashes
Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Powder Duo in Dark Brown
LIPS:
Urban Decay Lipstick in Gash
NYX Brush-On Lip Gloss in Sunset
As mentioned in the video, I am still a little lost on ideas for Halloween tutorials this year, so if anybody has any other requests for Halloween costume looks please do not hesitate to let me know! It’s so much easier for me when you guys just tell me what to do! I hope you’ll all be keeping an eye out this weekend for this week’s #ProjectPalette video, all about the Nude ‘Tude palette from theBalm, (which made an appearance in this tutorial,) as well as checking out the blog next week because I’ve got some pretty fun stuff planned! In the meantime, though, I wish you all a beautiful weekend ahead and a beautiful life!

Jason

7 thoughts on ““Rocky Horror Picture Show” Magenta Halloween Makeup Tutorial

  1. My natural hair is curly-ish red, and since it was long back then I decided Magenta would be the perfect costume that year. Also, I wanted to confuse my family (except for my mom and bro, because they are cool). It was great fun. I could also easily have gone as Columbia many other years, when my hair was short and its natural color. Ah, well. Maybe some day! This year, I am going as my fave painting. I bet that you have extra fun at Halloween. Are you able to dress up this year?

    1. Which painting are you dressing as? I’m intrigued! Halloween has always been my favorite holiday, yes! I’m not sure if I’m dressing up yet or not – with everything going on, I haven’t managed to put much thought into yet and I have to check with Sephora if we will be doing anything with that! If nothing else, I’ll do some sort of festive makeup look at least!

      1. I’ll tell you after Halloween! I want it to be a secret until then. 🙂

        Halloween is my hubby’s birthday, which gives me twice the reason to love the day!

        I’m sure that, even if you don’t/can’t dress up, you’ll do something amazing and inspiring with your makeup.

      2. Well, I’m definitely excited to find out what this secret is going to be!

        Awww Happy early birthday to the hubby! I’m sure that makes for an extra fun birthday every year – the whole world is celebrating along with you, although for very different reasons, lol!

        Now that Halloween is only like a week away, it is becoming pretty clear that it is going to be a “makeup only” year – no time to seek out a costume! So, I’m already brainstorming ideas for cool looks I can pull together!

  2. It’s not like I think it is soooo awesome that it must be kept a secret until after the big day…I just want to make sure it works out before I share! I am still buying what I need, but I am almost there. Oddly enough, this is one of the only costumes I have ever done that requires very specific makeup.

    You are correct. Halloween is extra fun because it is his bday. He never wears a costume. He wears one of his kilts to celebrate his heritage (he is half Scottish), but everyone always thinks he is dressed up for the holiday. I think he gets annoyed after awhile.

    If anyone can rock out a “makeup only” Halloween look, it is definitely you!

Leave a Reply

